Candy (USA)
Heaven Is Here


4.0
excellent

Review

by tyman128 CONTRIBUTOR (80 Reviews)
June 28th, 2022 | 76 replies


Release Date: 06/24/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ... yet Hell surrounds

Heaven Is Here is terrifying. Hardcore is already a “terrifying” genre as it is, but CANDY takes it a step further with one thing: texture. All of Heaven Is Here relies on the texture of its soundscape. The multi-layered guitars and bass full of dissonance and distortion create a wall of sound that reverberates with intensity. Grainy effects coat the vocals, resulting in an overwhelming performance that executes its role perfectly. The drumming drives each track along with its chops, mixing hardcore and punk grooves to create an atmosphere of chaos. Most importantly, however, is Heaven Is Here’s usage of glitches and breaks. While hardcore is already intense as it is, adding breaks and glitches just makes it immense. Throughout the album, the stop-and-go electronic drum compositions of tracks like “Transcend to Wetness” craft an evil aura full of ferocity. Ear-piercing glitches dominate “World of ***” which amplifies the abrasive nature of Heaven Is Here. However, the defining moments of CANDY lie in the concluding tracks of the record. “Kinesthesia” feels like a hardcore dance/drum-n-bass type of song, with deeply resounding drums and clapping snare contrasted with a harsh atmosphere of grainy synths and intense vocals, which gives way into “Perverse.”

The closing track is what truly lets the band shine… yet without much musical composition. You see, Heaven Is Here feels like a slow decay into nothingness, with “Perverse” signifying that finality. With nothing more than oscillating screams, tremolo glitches, and a strange combination of unsettling electronic synths of distortion, the final track is purely chaotic noise. It doesn’t seem like much, but it perfectly encapsulates the essence of CANDY. It’s an uncomfortable ending to an already discomforting album. I won’t lie, this album put me in a strange place, and I even disliked it initially. But let it consume you. Embrace the strangely infectious hardcore style of CANDY and let it soak you in the hellish landscape that is Heaven Is Here.



Recent reviews by this author
Domestic Terminal All The Stories Left To TellBÉBE YANA SPACE MULAN
Not Nearly Future DamageRings of Saturn Rings of Saturn
Memphis May Fire Remade in MiserySVMMERCAMP Sequoia
user ratings (70)
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Good To Feel


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2022


3528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

short review for an insane album

digging this a ton lately, can't stop coming back to it

Digging: Domestic Terminal - All The Stories Left To Tell

Purpl3Spartan
June 28th 2022


4457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Album slaps nice rev

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2022


3528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

appreciate it brotha

YuriZakhaev
June 28th 2022


795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Goes UH

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2022


17429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Definitely doesn’t sound like Candy

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2022


3528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not exactly

Purpl3Spartan
June 28th 2022


4457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hot tamale of music

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2022


4587 Comments


gimme that candy floss sweet rev will checc

SteakByrnes
June 28th 2022


27401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album beats ass, nice little review homie

Digging: Chat Pile - God's Country

pizzamachine
June 28th 2022


17938 Comments


Solid toffee crunch wordage

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2022


3528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

appreciate it y’all!

and definitely check Jesp, it’s a good time

Wildcardbitchesss
June 28th 2022


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this kicks the shit out of their first record.

Slex
June 28th 2022


14548 Comments


Need to see what this is all about

Digging: Norma Jean - Deathrattle Sing for Me

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2022


49281 Comments


damn this sounds like a lot

review gives me Code Orange vibes, are these misplaced?

Ryus
June 28th 2022


28380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this doesnt rly remind me of code orange, it's industrial-influenced but in a different way

Digging: Ellen Allien - Fabric 34

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2022


27451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

was gonna take a stab at this if nobody else did but you nailed it!



love that the first 9 tracks are all basically 2-minutes long but then they close with the beast that is "Perverse". their last album is killer as well

Digging: Ben Quad - I'm Scared That's All There Is

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2022


49281 Comments


okay nice, will peep this

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2022


3528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they’re a lot less breakdown/heavy riff driven than Code Orange, and these guys use the glitches and stuff a lot more prominently

and thanks Atari! i still need to jam their last one in full

Wildcardbitchesss
June 28th 2022


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For whatever it’s worth I hate Code Orange but really fuck with this

2CHAINAL
June 28th 2022


245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was thinking I was crazy for thinking the production reminded me of Code Orange but done way better



Also, the thrashy parts remind me of Trash Talk a bit, but again, done way better and cleaner

Digging: Chat Pile - God's Country



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy