Nick Mulvey
New Mythology


3.5
great

Review

by Throbbing Orbussy CONTRIBUTOR (49 Reviews)
June 12th, 2022 | 12 replies


Release Date: 06/10/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: give what you seek, you will find.

When Nick Mulvey's rather flawless debut album First Mind enjoyed its cursory run through my speakers one fateful morning commute, I was completely awe-struck by the depth of everything that was hitting my ears. The layers of acoustic guitar weaving in and out of eachother, the swelling bass lines, the ecelectic yet earthbound lyricism... it was a perfect storm of finding new love in my own life and discovering some truly incredible music through that romantic connection. That morning will always be with me, and a lot of that has to do with Nick Mulvey's debut LP. Since then, every microsecond of First Mind has become ingrained on my synapses, filling my mind and heart while I've waited for him to match the brilliance of his work from over 8 years ago. 2017's Wake Up Now missed that mark, arriving as an adequate yet underwhelming offering that missed the dartboard where First Mind's bullseye throw still sticks, so the hope that New Mythology would be a return to form came as a combination of anticipation and worry.

Luckily, Nick's third full-length album is definitely an improvement when compared against its predecessor, just don't expect it to be a carbon copy of his finest hour. This time around, his indie-folk musings have been stewed with an eclectic mix of nostalgic keyboards, interesting production effects and wildly catchy songcraft that places the affair squarely between humble homebrew energy and contemporary industry standard aesthetics. These fits of approachable creativity, like the walloping bass on "The Gift" that sharply contrasts the by-the-numbers folk song that glides atop it, or the poppy hooks and hums of "Star Nation" and "Mecca" are largely successful endeavors that highlight Mulvey's ear for detail, and keep New Mythology from being "just another folk album".

You can hear the growth in Nick Mulvey's lyrics too. On First Mind, the feverish approach to the songwriting lent itself brilliantly to lines like "Venus comes to share and she's standing there, she plaits her hair with threads of gold, two threads of gold" and "strings as a pencil, a breath I drew in you, indigoferra the one in the two, a rose on a trellis I grew for you, sing a spell to a Pharoah, the one in the two" from the opening verse of "The Trellis", but in the time between then and now, Mulvey's words have matured with the years, for better or worse. See, while the mystical feeling of his yesteryear's voice has largely given way to a more upfront and worldly way of explaining his heart, things are, by and large, just as poetic. "And I do it for my own, my little boy my little girl, and we do it for our home, if we do it for the world" highlights "A Prayer For My Own" and offers a glimpse of the humility and positivity of his messages in 2022. Every track has something important to say, and each one holds a unique identity that differentiates it from the others both musically and lyrically, whether it be "Sea Inside"s "brother, don't seek the lie don't put on the tie don't buy the book, there's plenty in the lower layer if you dare so much, if you're willing to look, but if you wanna keep on cooking a dream then stay where the dreaming's done" or the illumination of "every time I walk away there's a voice, I hear it say, have you suffered enough? Or can we play with the tragedy as just another way to get free?" on "Causes". All this combines to paint a portrait of a family man with a heart full of love and a wish to make the world a better, wiser place free from the trappings of narrow-minded thinking, and for the most part New Mythology achieves that goal.

Ultimately, Mulvey's third album is a celebration of simply being a thinking, feeling human being. His words and music have always spoken an emotionally intelligent, universal language in a very special way, and with New Mythology we get treated to it all with a flair for creativity and clarity. Surely it's not a perfect album, but it's steady nonetheless, and the unbridled honesty of expression on display makes it a tough one criticize in any meaningful way. Those expecting a First Mind Part II won't find what they're looking for with New Mythology's shift in stylistic direction, but if your heart and mind are as open as Nick Mulvey's in the current age, this is an album that's sure to bring you some existential joy and heartfelt contemplation.



Recent reviews by this author
Ike Quebec Easy LivingFerrara Ensemble and Crawford Young Figures Of Harmony: Songs Of Codex Chantilly c1390
The Temple (NZ) The TempleGremlinz and Jesta Left To Rot/PFD
AES Dana (a) period.St Germain Tourist
user ratings (9)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Orb
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2022


9039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First review in a good long while. Be gentle.

Digging: Ithaca - The Language of Injury

Purpl3Spartan
June 12th 2022


4455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dis good nice review

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
June 12th 2022


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Nice review, I'm going to check this but haven't got around to it yet. Quick note, think you misspelled "interesting" in the second paragraph.

Orb
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2022


9039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good eye Sunny thanks

NorthernSkylark
June 12th 2022


12134 Comments


Nick Mulvey is an English singer and songwriter.

Orb
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2022


9039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very true

pizzamachine
June 13th 2022


17929 Comments


“weaving in and out of eachother”

This part is bugging me. Excellent review though.

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2022


6078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, I listened to the ep that came out before this album with some of the album songs and preferred it to the debut, so I'll probably give this a spin today.

Orb
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2022


9039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kinda surprised you favour it over the debut Fogz! If you ask me, First Mind is one of the best folk albums ever!

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2022


6078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I listened to Nick's debut as it was a recommended listen after I'd checked Ben Howard's I Forget Where We Were, and it just didn't really match up to that for me, like it felt like it was still a guy working out his unique point of view. This sounds like the ability and identity have finally dovetailed.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2022


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Found this solid but a little bland after a few spins, may need to check the debut based on this review though

Orb
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2022


9039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

His debut has been a highhhhh 4.5 for me for a long time. I think you'll love it too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy