Blut Aus Nord
Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses


4.2
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
May 22nd, 2022 | 141 replies


Release Date: 05/20/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And then there was only darkness

There's something irresistibly seductive about darkness, isn't there? Simultaneously frightening and beautiful. Something in the vacuum draws us like flies to false light. It is a call so ancient that its language and true purpose have long ceased to be understood by men, becoming an abstraction, a terrifying lost echo; trapped in a past memory that we choose to forget, out of fear or oblivion. Yet we keep walking towards it, like mice led by the sound of a flute from a folk tale. Powerless. Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses is the melody that pushes us towards the abyss, into darkness. The heretical lullaby we hide from our children.

The fourteenth full-length by the French Blut Aus Nord is thus haunting and beautiful, powerfully echoing Lovecraftian horrors in an engaging style reminiscent of Hallucinogen, but now with a darker tone, unveiling less light and oxygen. The previous ingredients, namely the distinctive harmonic leads and constant flow, are still present but almost as opposite reflections as if we were experiencing Hallucinogen through a black mirror. Everything is interconnected. All songs flow relentlessly in the same direction, sucking the listener into a multi-layered sonic vortex made of malevolent laments and growls that overwhelm us every step of the way. Blast beats and slow-paced syncopated tempos interact in one voice, building a common narrative that rarely shows contrasts, too stuck in its own gravitational core. The atmospheric component, as one would expect, is crucial in building the soundscape, either through ambient interludes or synth layers that complement the songs. Yet, much like Hallucinogen, Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses eschews the industrial aesthetics present in previous works, assuming a more ‘metal’ and melodic personality. The opener, 'Chants of the Deep Ones', and 'That Cannot Be Dreamed' stand as pinnacles of this sonic journey, combining beauty and eeriness in a surrealistic palette and distinctive stroke. We know perfectly well who's playing the flute but like mice we keep moving on, mesmerized, vanishing into 'The Apotheosis of the Unnamable', the final vortex.

Now all that remains is a false calm, a link to the very beginning, exposing a spiraling, endless narrative that never really ends. For the void is forever.

Once again, Blut Aus Nord have given voice and sound to darkness. Not necessarily in an avant-garde or experimental way, but through surrealistic one-way strokes that push the listener into a sensory abyss. There's an uncanny beauty in Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses that makes us bite the apple despite being aware of its poisonous content, powerless to its enchantment. It is the irresistible pull of the unknown, source of inspiration and doom. That ancient call that men and artists so desperately try to comprehend, knowing beforehand that the final answer, whatever it may be, holds no hope or light.

Only darkness.




Recent reviews by this author
Reeking Aura Blood And BonemealWake Thought Form Descent
Hissing Hypervirulence ArchitectureKreator Hate Über Alles
Artificial Brain Artificial BrainHaunter (USA-TX) Discarnate Ails
user ratings (158)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

What a ride.



Full stream:

http://blutausnord.bandcamp.com/album/disharmonium-undreamable-abysses

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WHSZ7FE5M0

Pikazilla
May 22nd 2022


23675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, one of your best in recent memory, in my opinion.



BAN do not disappoint, it's amazing really how versatile their black metal chops are.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2022


4081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah, this is a top tier review, Notrap!



Have some in real life obligations recently but excited to check this in a few days.

trilo
May 22nd 2022


5034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

absolute ripper of a record m/

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Thanks guys, I appreciate it.

Cheers Pika, I revisited the entire discography recently and I have to say I love everything these guys have done, including underrated stuff like The Mystical Beast, MoRT and What Once Was.

DDDeftoneDDD
May 22nd 2022


20657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This one feels evil af, on its own way. Gave a 1 listen 4.5. Let us see if it sticks.

DDDeftoneDDD
May 22nd 2022


20657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Wooff that intro paragraph alone is bliss. Congrats Mr. Notrap!

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Thank you sir.

It's that kind of evil that comes in disguise.

Pikazilla
May 22nd 2022


23675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Me too, NT. The only release that never stuck with me was DSM. Rest is excellent.

Sowing
Moderator
May 22nd 2022


41816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. Album is absolutely incredible.

twlight
May 22nd 2022


6655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is DENSE. feels like your sinking deeper and deeper into the dark abyss of the ocean

JayEnder
May 22nd 2022


15278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lovecraftian horror in audio form. Rules ahrd.



Notrap you write the best metal reviews hands down. Can't wait for your Artificial Brain one brother.

Aluktodolo
May 22nd 2022


345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is probably the most I’ve enjoyed a Blut Aus Nord album since MoRT (which I also think is their best and massively underrated). He has a real knack for writing really engaging and unusual leads that just spring up from nowhere.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2022


28597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will be jamming this later, so hyped.

InfernalDeity
May 22nd 2022


210 Comments


I have a tendency to associate the vibes from an album with vibes of certain films. I am getting some serious Event Horizon vibes here. Album rips. Great write up.

DDDeftoneDDD
May 23rd 2022


20657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Can't wait for your Artificial Brain one brother." 2

Veldin
May 23rd 2022


4810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Absolutely stunning album. Enjoying every listen. Found out he released an album last year called Forhist that’s pretty good too. This and Hallucinogen are my favorite albums by BAN since Memoria II

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2022


17440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

“ Notrap you write the best metal reviews”



Fern is top tier agreed.

Elynna
May 23rd 2022


1170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

honestly this is your best review yet

DaveTrane
May 23rd 2022


559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. Record is great but i was a lil overhyped because of the first released single That Cannot Be Dreamed wich i reeeealy liked.



Drumming is superb.









You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy