Silverstein
Misery Made Me


2.7
average

Review

by Jesper L. STAFF
May 6th, 2022 | 106 replies


Release Date: 05/06/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: canadian weekend, pt 1: diminishing returns

Two years ago, I speculated that the average A Beautiful Place to Drown was merely an unnecessary documentation of Silverstein draining all their pop sensibilities into a project before returning to bigger and better things. Even though I am an incredibly brilliant and humble visionary, I was only somewhat correct. While the brand new Misery Made Me is notably better than its slightly older brother, the improvement is not due to the new record being heavier and less pop-centric; rather, it’s because the songwriting is marginally better. Key word: marginally.

As the second helping of the roaring 20s progress, it’s becoming painfully clear that Silverstein just… aren’t that great anymore. Sure, the Canadians are still capable of delivering an absolute banger in the form of ‘Die Alone’, but the majority of Misery Made Me sees the band masking bland songs with larger-than-life production choices and other unconvincing trickery. Following the deeply inspiring lyrics “I don’t care, I don’t care, I don’t care” with a screm’d “YEAH!” doesn’t exactly mask ‘Our Song’s glaring shortcomings; similarly, ‘The Altar/Mary’ shoots itself in the foot with a squirt gun by contrasting excellently intense verses with a highly questionable effect-laden chorus. The atmosphere the band are clearly shooting for simply isn’t there, as no element is given ample time and space to develop into something endearing. Elsewhere, ‘It’s Over’ relies too heavily on an uninspired riff while ‘Don’t Wait Up’ underuses its excellent riff, perfectly exemplifying the album’s incompetence: the right ingredients might be there, but Silverstein seem to have lost the recipe.

In spite of this, Misery Made Me is a perfectly listenable album. Save for the aforementioned ‘Die Alone’, its best moments are mostly that: scattered moments. ‘Ultraviolet’s chorus is a highly enjoyable slice of pop rock; ‘Cold Blood’ provides a good canvas for Shane Told’s vocals if little else; ‘Misery’ builds up to a somewhat unexpected climax in spite of its dreadfully uninspired lyrics. While Misery Made Me might be a better album than A Beautiful Place to Drown, it also presents a more explicitly depressing listen: it functions as confirmation that the once admirably reliable Silverstein aren’t capable of writing a consistently good record anymore. Heaviness can’t obscure blandness: moreover, heaviness can’t excuse yet another forced chorus melody when it is unaccompanied by the band’s trademark riffage. Shocker: misery isn’t a whole lot of fun.



Recent reviews by this author
Ethel Cain Preacher's DaughterSimple Plan Harder Than It Looks
daine Quantum JumpingPrince Daddy and The Hyena Prince Daddy And The Hyena
Hatchie Giving the World AwayJenna and the Janes Earth Dog Year
user ratings (66)
3
good
other reviews of this album
pizzamachine (3.5)
Long live the old Silverstein, but the new is pretty good too....



Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

f

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

onionbubs
May 6th 2022


15652 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yea this aint good the songwriting has barely improved. shanes melody game is really wack now. 2nd worst stein but at least it has die alone (which even as far as heavy stein goes aint shit on past harder jams like the artist)

NorwichScene
May 6th 2022


3205 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

2.7 is about right for this, agreed. Most depressing Silverstein album, maybe it’s over for them

Pikazilla
May 6th 2022


22989 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

gonna listen now

hobblepot
May 6th 2022


2670 Comments


If it's marginally better than that last pile of shit they dropped, I'll take it

Pikazilla
May 6th 2022


22989 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn shane has gotten so fucking fat

Lasssie
May 6th 2022


1471 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

god i dont want to listen to this but i am a masochist when it comes to music so i probably will give it a go

Get Low
May 6th 2022


12334 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

so shit

Lasssie
May 6th 2022


1471 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

im getting too old for this shit

Get Low
May 6th 2022


12334 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Speaking of too old:



"I didn't ask for your opinion

But you won't stop talking at me

I'm bored to death already

What makes you think I wanna listen now?

Shut up, shut up, shut up"



why is a 41-year-old man writing lyrics like this? I wish Shane would just grow up and embrace his age.

Lasssie
May 6th 2022


1471 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah youre saying something there. And when was their last good record released? like 2015?

Forgot to say but nice review too, Jesper!

Pajolero
May 6th 2022


1244 Comments


The experiment has clearly failed, why are they still doing this?

Digging: Armand Hammer and The Alchemist - Haram

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

thx lass :]

patiently awaiting the pika 1

parksungjoon
May 6th 2022


42920 Comments


>why is a 41-year-old man writing lyrics like this? I wish Shane would just grow up and embrace his age.


idk, why are you still on this website and listening to music made for teens

Lasssie
May 6th 2022


1471 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If pika gives this a 1 it is a case of bodyshaming pointed towards poor shane

notagenius
May 6th 2022


740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

opening track really sucks.

but i like The Altar, Slow Motion, Don't Wait Up, Ultraviolet, Cold Blood, Die Alone

Digging: Rumspringer - Empty Towers

SteakByrnes
May 6th 2022


26878 Comments


Good review jesp! This album probably suck!

Digging: Purity Filter - Immortal Spirit

Lasssie
May 6th 2022


1471 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Die Alone i actually liked too lol

rafalafa
May 6th 2022


242 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this a lot more than I should. It’s basically Blindside’s “Swallow” made into an entire album, but I don’t mind for some reason????

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2022


17568 Comments


my heroine < 3

Digging: The Wrens - Overnight Success



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy