Melody's Echo Chamber
Emotional Eternal


4.0
excellent

Review

by Brendan Schroer CONTRIBUTOR (210 Reviews)
May 4th, 2022 | 90 replies


Release Date: 04/29/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blissfully hypnotic, hypnotically blissful

Much like Melody Prochet’s previous work under the Melody’s Echo Chamber alias, Emotional Eternal finds her tirelessly pursuing new variations on her trademark blend of dream pop and neo-psychedelia. However, Prochet made it a point to dub the record a more peaceful and direct affair than previous outings, something that quickly becomes apparent from the opening title track. Much of the sonic experimentation and busy instrumentation of Bon Voyage has been peeled back to reveal sparse acoustic chords and airy vocals, as subtle walking bass lines fill in the cracks. That’s not to say that Prochet has pulled a full-on stylistic 180 on us; rather, she is simply demonstrating another interesting facet of her existing sound. Listen intently enough and you’ll still find plenty of little nooks and crannies, such as the subtle acoustic strums that accompany the orchestration on “Alma_The Voyage” or the jazzy and somewhat mysterious chord changes on “The Hypnotist”. What’s more is that Emotional Eternal isn’t as musically nor sonically overwhelming as its predecessor, instead operating at a slow burn. The aforementioned “Alma_The Voyage” eventually reveals the true extent of its experimental nature, but there’s a hell of a lot of buildup before hearing it in full bloom. Some shades of piano here, some orchestral backdrops there… a lot of little hints are dropped before we find ourselves in the presence of soft flute melodies and trippy sustained keyboards.

More than anything, Emotional Eternal sounds reassuring and blissful. There’s still a hypnotic nature to the music, but it’s more of a “zone out at the beach while staring at the waves” type of hypnotic. Songs like “Looking Backward” and “Personal Message” effortlessly exude a sense of calm while remaining melodically complex enough to maintain one’s interest. The latter is especially effective at doing just that, as it slides nimbly between upbeat and melancholic acoustic guitar chords to create a piece of music that sounds both sentimental and bittersweet. Emotional Eternal is a bit of a strange record, in that it’s deceptive in its simplicity; casual and intent listening are both highly rewarded, despite the record’s simplistic veneer. But whether you’re intending to give it a focused listen or simply zone out, the album is a beautiful little slice of dream pop bliss that occupies its own unique space in Prochet’s discography.



Recent reviews by this author
Florence and the Machine Dance FeverSigrid How to Let Go
Honeyglaze HoneyglazeHaru Nemuri Shunka Ryougen
Flock of Dimes Head of RosesDavid Bowie Hunky Dory
user ratings (51)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
LemonBen (4)
a mesmerizing opportunity to melt under sunny psychedelic skies...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Koris
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2022


14864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey, I want to do a short review too!



Anyway, I'll probably return to my more longform writeups after this... just wanted to give some thoughts on this, as I've been enjoying it a lot lately :}

ArsMoriendi
May 4th 2022


36917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fantastic review

Digging: Os Mutantes - Jardim Eltrico

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2022


14864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you! I’m so glad I hopped on this one, it’s such a beautiful record 😊

ArsMoriendi
May 4th 2022


36917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Alma and Pyramids are both such great additions to her discography



What’s your favorite Koris?

SteakByrnes
May 4th 2022


26878 Comments


good review homie, may check this out

Digging: Purity Filter - Immortal Spirit

Meridiu5
May 4th 2022


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm a sucker for when artists ditch lyrics and just carry the melody with la-la-la

theBoneyKing
May 4th 2022


22162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“The Hypnotist” is so Radiohead.

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

ArsMoriendi
May 4th 2022


36917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Kinda? I think it’s more 23 era Blonde Redhead



Wait is 23 by Blonde Redhead very Radiohead?

Colton
May 4th 2022


15090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel like Melody is good at arranging her ideas together in a way that feels cohesive and is overall enjoyable but I wish she would honour her name more and write some more memorable melodies

theBoneyKing
May 4th 2022


22162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Misery/23 era Blonde Redhead is very Radiohead yeah

pizzamachine
May 4th 2022


15040 Comments


I was gonna pos but I can’t. Curse you sputnik!

parksungjoon
May 4th 2022


42920 Comments


sure you can

pizzamachine
May 4th 2022


15040 Comments


Don’t lie to me! 😰

Meridiu5
May 4th 2022


3966 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

take my spirit bomb energy, reviewer

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2022


14864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks everyone!



@Ars: Pyramids is definitely one of my favorites, even though I didn't mention it in the review. [Redacted]

Purpl3Spartan
May 4th 2022


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album

Digging:

Conmaniac
May 4th 2022


26978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

heccc ya two reviews double the fun (:

such a stunning listen v happy with this project

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2022


14864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I knew I had to throw my hat into the ring ;]



And yeah, it's a beautiful listen

ArsMoriendi
May 5th 2022


36917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Isn’t the 2nd Alma just the single edit? It’s not listed with the bandcamp songs but is with it on Spotify

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2022


14864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, my bad, I was thinking of the Spotify tracklisting and forgot that Alma was just a shortened version of the original.



I will say though, I really love the atmosphere of Looking Backward. It's so calming and upbeat at the same time, especially when paired with the animated music video



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy