Au-Dessus
Mend


3.8
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
May 3rd, 2022 | 16 replies


Release Date: 04/22/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sounds of the broken

Five years after dropping their debut full-length, Lithuanian black metallers Au-Dessus are back with a 25-minute EP where each song portrays a broken mind on the road to mending and self-perception. A journey consistent with the band's dissonant post-metal(ish) past, but now chronicled in a somewhat more straightforward tone, closely linked to French black metal influences such as Blut Aus Nord and Deathspell Omega. While these references were already visible before, never have they been so prominent. 'Negation II' and 'Alienation' not only mirror this bond clearly but also reflect the punchier, more engaging side of the band. Frantic blast beats coexist with slow and mid-paced tempos forming a dissonant multi-layered blackened structure that is both mysterious and mesmerizing. Shadows intertwine with lighter hues in a play of forces that somehow embodies the (inner conflict) concept. The closing track, 'Alienation', with its brighter nuances, exposes this dualism magnificently, ending the narrative on an epic, winning note. And although this chapter in the band's novella could have been longer, Mend does not disappoint, as its strengths evince a creative prowess that rivals that of the best practitioners of the black arts. I just hope that now that their minds have been duly mended, the lads won't take another five years to write a new episode.




Recent reviews by this author
Reeking Aura Blood And BonemealWake Thought Form Descent
Hissing Hypervirulence ArchitectureKreator Hate Über Alles
Artificial Brain Artificial BrainBlut Aus Nord Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses
user ratings (19)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Basically an extended soundoff as I wanted to say a couple of things. I love it, especially its kick-off and ending.

Bandcamp streaming:

http://au-dessus.bandcamp.com/album/mend

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


16163 Comments


What a coincidence, I'm in the middle of adding these guys to ProgArchives!

Nice review as well. I'm noticing short writeups are the trend now ;]

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Cheers ;) I'll certainly be using this formula more often.

Pikazilla
May 4th 2022


23654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very pumped to check this.

KrillBoi
May 4th 2022


140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh hadn't noticed new Au-Dessus was out, need to get on this.

KrillBoi
May 4th 2022


140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, Negation II fucking rules.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah, it's an absolute banger

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


9705 Comments


Gotta check this, love everything this band has put out so far.

teamster
May 4th 2022


5959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

End Of Chapter is my 2017 AOTY. A bit disappointed the next release is an EP, was looking forward to massive follow up. Still gotta check this, probably this weekend. Thanks for the review NoTrap, you always manage to hit the right spot.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Cheers teamster. I think the entire fan base would be expecting a full-length but I don't think you'll be disappointed. Negation II and Alienation are great songs.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


4080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Good stuff Notrap (both the little review and the EP)!

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2022


17874 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks ;)

Azog
May 5th 2022


833 Comments


Is it available on cd already? Can't find it anywhere.

naughtcturnal
May 5th 2022


2294 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Azog: Check the Les Acteurs de L’Ombre webshop

Azog
May 6th 2022


833 Comments


Yeah, found it. Still on pre-order, though, but I'll take it. Thanx!

Azog
June 9th 2022


833 Comments


Finally it arrived today. The already mentioned DsO influence is a nice addition to their sound, now carried by a production which is effective as hell. Good stuff!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy