daine
Quantum Jumping


3.7
great

Review

by Jesper L. STAFF
May 1st, 2022 | 41 replies


Release Date: 04/30/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ok zoomer

It’s easy to pigeonhole Quantum Jumping as an immature product for immature audiences: its all-lowercase approach to littering dreamy emo-trap songs with zoomer buzzwords is entirely unapologetic. Yet, mastermind daine manages to operationalise this aesthetic by allowing it to construct the anxieties that underscore their generation: the artist’s debut EP embraces apathy as a coping mechanism, and attempts to enhance minor issues in ironic(ally) self-aware hopes of overshadowing the looming major ones. Moreover, its best moments marry buttery smooth vocal melodies with minimalistically punchy beats, satisfyingly accentuated by the sparkly guitar lines American Football and nothing,nowhere. have in common. Highlight ‘IDC’ encompasses some of the most gratifying ‘f-you’s of the year, while ‘weekends’ boasts an irresistibly lethargic chorus. Even though not every track lives up to its full potential, Quantum Jumping embodies a convincing first project for the young artist. Post-cringe, mid-pandemic, pre-collapse, and entirely TikTok-ready: daine is here to stay.



Recent reviews by this author
Ethel Cain Preacher's DaughterSimple Plan Harder Than It Looks
Silverstein Misery Made MePrince Daddy and The Hyena Prince Daddy And The Hyena
Hatchie Giving the World AwayJenna and the Janes Earth Dog Year
user ratings (11)
2.7
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

no bandcamp so uh check 'weekends': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8pzeheypl84

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

Pheromone
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2022


17568 Comments


short reviews are the in-trend on sputnik music dot com

nice write up < 3

Digging: The Wrens - Overnight Success

Mort.
May 1st 2022


17768 Comments


im so fucking sick of all this awful zoomer music, just get a fucking identity you addled memelord cretins

Digging: As Cities Burn - Son, I Loved You At Your Darkest

parksungjoon
May 1st 2022


42920 Comments


is that a rym copypasta

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2022


23128 Comments


mort i hope your children hate u

Mort.
May 1st 2022


17768 Comments


just listened to this and its awful trendy teenager nostalgia bait


soulless wank

feel myself becoming zak everyday

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

thx phero, u should also write a (short or long) review :]

mort do you need a hug

Mort.
May 1st 2022


17768 Comments


no i need to get out of my house and off the internet

Calc
May 1st 2022


16858 Comments


"teenager nostalgia bait"

sooooo spongebob and fairly oddparents references?

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

yea none of that mostly just sadness

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2022


3935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am gonna need to revisit this; I've been waiting for a project since Ascension/Angel Numbers but this is not doing much for me. :c

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

aw that's a shame blush, hopefully this is a grower then haha

CottonSalad
May 2nd 2022


2450 Comments


absolutely euphoric omg

Digging: Pascal Battus, Anne F Jacques, Tim Olive - Trois Conseillers

Divaman
May 2nd 2022


15108 Comments


You're getting shorter and shorter, Jesper. By this time next year, you'll be writing your reviews entirely in haiku. Good write-up, though. : )

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

don't tempt me diva haha, and thanks :]

combustion07
May 3rd 2022


10165 Comments


Artwork reeled me into clicking. Will check. Good write up. Feel like this probably isn't going to be my kinda thing but I have been wrong before so we shall see!

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


3935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Okay I changed my mind; I'm w/ you, Jesper.

Still a bit of a disappointment, but I think that's common with first 'projects' in this style -- a lot of pressure, I imagine, and this urge to make something consumable as a whole (I'm speculating), resulting in fewer songs that stand too well on their own. Not the ideal medium for this kind of music.

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


4436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

yay!

agreed, i also feel like this style needs some rly rly fleshed out songs for a 5+ song project to be genuinely excellent. it helps that she's been branding this as a mixtape, makes a lil more sense/everything sound just a bit better

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


47469 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

"im so fucking sick of all this awful zoomer music, just get a fucking identity you addled memelord cretins"



u literally started this shite when you brought bladee to sput (it was all you)



hate that i don't hate this so far

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

Flugmorph
May 3rd 2022


26821 Comments


I appreciate you considering the zoomer audience with this review by making it as short as possible.

Digging: Enslaved - Below the Lights



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy