Let's Eat Grandma
Two Ribbons


4.0
excellent

Review

by Brinner USER (4 Reviews)
April 30th, 2022 | 38 replies


Release Date: 04/29/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An introspective and beautiful slice of indie-pop.

On their latest record, Two Ribbons, Let’s Eat Grandma largely shed their experimental side that elevated their songcraft on I’m All Ears in favour of a leaner, more straightforward sound. That isn’t to say that the longtime friends Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth have lost any of their identity on Two Ribbons. The lyrics are still striking and deeply personal, with Hollingworth’s fragile vocals on ‘Watching You Go’ belying her extraordinary strength in dealing with the premature death of her boyfriend at just 22 years old from bone cancer.
Despite the heavy topics of fraying friendships and personal loss, there is a lightness and optimism to Two Ribbons that stops the record weighing itself down. The delicate self-titled closer may well be the best track the two have penned, an introspective exposé of the spectre that has threatened to pull the once-inseparable friends apart.
It seems that no matter which direction Walton and Hollingworth choose to venture in, whether it be the breezy synth-pop of ‘Happy New Year and ‘Hall of Mirrors’ or the soaring indie rock of ‘Insect Loop’, their fanbase will only grow as, artistically and creatively, Let’s Eat Grandma continue to move forwards.

https://letseatgrandma.bandcamp.com/album/two-ribbons


user ratings (48)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Brinner
April 30th 2022


98 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They deserve a lot more attention these two, but I think their unconventional style and quirky personalities will keep them under the radar and quietly blossoming in the years to come. Great album and that closer is just beautiful.

luci
April 30th 2022


12763 Comments


The lengthy tracks were major highlights on the last one so I wanted them to explore that further. They did the opposite: this is their briefest and most straightforward release. Some choice tracks on the first half but nothing interests me about the folky second side.

I heard "Happy New Year" before release, and while it's good it doesn't measure up to their best pop material. Turns out it's my favorite here. 3/5

Sowing
Moderator
April 30th 2022


41307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this was disappointing. It's not bad, but it's pretty straightforward compared to I'm All Ears.

Digging: Shinedown - Planet Zero

Brinner
April 30th 2022


98 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm in between 3.5 and 4 but thought the review read more like a 4/5. I think the average will probably settle close to 3.5 which is fair, IMO.



Interestingly I consider HNY the weakest track (interludes aside). I do think this record will be a grower for some.

rabidfish
April 30th 2022


7640 Comments


This was pretty boring. Disappointed

Digging: The Pretty Things - Parachute

alamo
April 30th 2022


5002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

checking this..... if its more straightforward than their past works i hope its in a last war on drugs record kind of way as in still having its fair share of bops

JeetJeet
April 30th 2022


11324 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

So let down by this album smh.

Digging: Gaelle - Transient

brandontaylor
May 1st 2022


1193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Levitation is their best song so far, soooo good

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2022


5868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's good but but I was a bit let down to be honest, there are some duff tracks on this. Levitation is pretty ace though. I think my expectations were so high.

Digging: The Waterboys - This Is the Sea

PistolPete
May 1st 2022


5278 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Certainly not as good as the last album but there are some quality tracks and consistency across it. It would be hard to follow up I’m All Ears.

WatchItExplode
May 2nd 2022


9714 Comments


Didn't bother to finish this one. Made it halfway and not a single thing. Had grabbed me. Like others said didn't even like the single but it was the best thing I had heard here

NorwichScene
May 2nd 2022


3211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think we all expected better, given their previous album. Good, but expected at least excellent. I’ll still support them being one of the best local bands for me

GreyShadow
May 3rd 2022


5917 Comments


just got some friends into them, sad to hear this is disappointing :/
really liked Hall of Mirrors but didnt care for the one with the mv of them playing tennis and that's all i've heard. i'll def check though.

Cormano
May 3rd 2022


3493 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Insect Loop is such a banger

AmericanFlagAsh
May 4th 2022


11449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I forgot this came out

Digging: Perfume Genius - Ugly Season

Sowing
Moderator
May 4th 2022


41307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

me too, and I just heard it last weekend :-(



I'm willing to give this more chances though

AmericanFlagAsh
May 4th 2022


11449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I only remembered because of your top 100 list

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2022


23280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

levitation is a bop

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2022


23280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't expect to like this after that opener but this really holds up

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2022


23280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i mean this has a shaky start but almost every track after the first three is incredible, this is probably on par with their last to me tho I know it doesn't have the wonky structures



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy