Billy Woods
Aethiopes


4.3
superb

Review

by Ben STAFF
April 21st, 2022 | 128 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aethiopes by Billy Woods

I don’t know how to talk about Aethiopes. Dense. That is the thing that it is. Billy does too much. I want him to do more. Spitting sepia, verses vast, twisted, tangled, taut: his terrific tales tear through the swill. An anachronistic swill, intangible, wet dirty bass, a beat, vague (un)pleasant sounds that are sharp-slurred, unreal-organic, rarely catchy, captivating always. It has some features from people who are not billy woods. They are good features. The vibe, though: that is the thing that it is. Dense. Aethiopes is dense, and drenched and dripping and dark and dusty and deep and drunk and fucked. Dreary? Nah. Authentic? Yes! Like drinking a polaroid, cobweb-coated, faded, still (frame) fucked. It’s for real, though, for real. It happened. It is. Rhymes with rhythm and soul and blues. Stories with rhythm and soul and blues. Music with rhythm and soul and blues. Lyrics that deserve to be quoted and dissected and praised endlessly, but also never (find meaning yourself, idiot). Tight as heck, gorgeously thematic, lovingly orchestrated, produced within an inch of its life (i.e. well), seamless, vital, other compliments, all of them. An album with a pulse. My piano is out of tune and so is billy’s. I don’t know how to talk about Aethiopes.



Recent reviews by this author
Iglooghost Tidal Memory ExoWhores. War
Tony Conrad With Faust Outside The Dream SyndicateKing Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard Live at Red Rocks '22
Captain Jazz Captain JazzDanny Brown Quaranta
user ratings (273)
4
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2022


10309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oi sunny and jesper stop stealing my style and doing it better than me



ive forgotten how to write im sorry imagery is hard but the music is very good

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2022


6031 Comments


LOL, just read this review and thought, "man, I wish I could write a short review like THAT"...

And then I see this comment.

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2022


3069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

DESPOT FUCKIN KILLS IT AGAIN, GEE WHIZZ



Album is amazing, like most things billy touches. Great wee review!

combustion07
April 22nd 2022


12822 Comments


Been hearing good stuff about this one. Excited to check it out. Nice short n sweet review too

Squiggly
April 22nd 2022


1278 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks this needed a review! AOTY.

Pon
Emeritus
April 22nd 2022


6064 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is gud

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2022


10309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes it is gud. Headphones on lights off listening only levels of gud. Deserves to be reviewed more times than the new Monuments levels of gud.

Lasssie
April 22nd 2022


1621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty cool album. Billy Woods is dope as usual

Pajolero
April 22nd 2022


1444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Armand Hammer are in Berlin next Sunday who's going??

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2022


5545 Comments


aw no aslep you are the ultimate shortboirev legend!! convinced me to check this asap, hell yea

rabidfish
April 22nd 2022


8739 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another great album, who could've guessed huh

WatchItExplode
April 22nd 2022


10476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album and I like these words

jmh886
April 22nd 2022


2935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

cool review. i also don't know how to describe this album.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 22nd 2022


70254 Comments


Deez is gonna hate me for this but…

I just haven’t been feeling Billy that much since his debut. He’s good, but something about his whole aesthetic makes his albums really homogenous and emotionally draining. I respect him as an artist a lot more than I actually actively enjoy listening to him.

Will check this out regardless

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 22nd 2022


70254 Comments


Woah EL-P and Breeze Brewin’ spots on the same track? That’s pretty iconic. It’ll also be nice to hear EL-P do something serious again after years of that clown ads RTJ shit

WalrusTusk
April 22nd 2022


1823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is great but what the hell is that review?

rabidfish
April 22nd 2022


8739 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's more like a factoid

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2022


10309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don’t know how to talk about Aethiopes.

parksungjoon
April 23rd 2022


47235 Comments


...and yet...

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2022


10309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't blame a guy for trying, ey. Word salad is the best kind of salad.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy