Beach House
Once Twice Melody


4.5
superb

Review

by Brandon Taylor USER (40 Reviews)
April 6th, 2022 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's a good year to be a Beach House fan

Let’s get this out of the way: Beach House are maybe my favourite working band today. I consider their run from Teen Dream to 7 to be all modern classics (excluding Thank Your Lucky Stars, sorry TYLS fans), and at this stage they’d have to try very hard to release something I consider lower than an 8/10.

With that said, Once Twice Melody definitely delivers in being a Beach House album. It hits all the same notes, with dreamy enveloping synths and melancholia abounding. Thankfully though, it has enough subtle-yet-significant progressions of their sound to keep fans engaged. Seriously, to anyone who says the band refuses to evolve, listen to “Used To Be” from Teen Dream and then “Masquerade” from this record – it’s hard to imagine either track belonging on the other’s album.

I have had a love-hate relationship with the release strategy for Once Twice Melody. The album’s four chapters being released individually allowed all 18 tracks to have their time in the limelight, and allowed fans to pick new highlights each month (my personal faves from each chapter: “Pink Funeral”, “New Romance”, “Sunset”, “Hurts To Love”). Then, the entire thing was released, and I couldn’t help but feel a lack of urgency to sit through the entire thing, which is odd for a band I consider among my all-time favourites. I knew all these songs… what was there to gain?

But now, as I write this review and reflect on my status as a long-time fan, I am discovering this album for a second time, now as a sprawling, grand entity rather than a mere collection of chapters. Once Twice Melody ultimately proves to be more than the sum of its parts, and in this case said parts extend to all of Beach House’s previous albums. It feels like a culmination of the band’s esteemed career, and while I can’t rank it as my favourite Beach House album, no other record of theirs deserves the title of magnum opus quite like this.

15+ years into their career, Beach House have released maybe their most confident, exciting and ambitious record. If the band calls it quits here it will be at an all-time high, but if they want another go around, I’ll be right here beside them.



Recent reviews by this author
Declan McKenna What Happened to the Beach?Anohni and the Johnsons My Back Was a Bridge for You to Cross
Charlotte Adigery and Bolis Pupul Topical DancerJon Hopkins Music for Psychedelic Therapy
Adele 30ABBA Voyage
user ratings (275)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
JohnnyoftheWell STAFF (3.3)
The Dark Souls of Disney soundtracks...



Comments:Add a Comment 
hamid95
April 6th 2022


1197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yess

brandontaylor
April 6th 2022


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

apologies for my very very subjective take but i felt like this album deserved more than the one 3.5/5 review it had on here

markjamie
April 8th 2022


717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I am still head over heels in love with OTM; keep waiting for the magic to fade but it just keeps delivering. And I agree completely, it does feel like a culmination. Where do they go from here?

Gyromania
April 8th 2022


37118 Comments


I just don't get it. It's so middling for beach house after incredible albums like bloom and cherry

markjamie
April 8th 2022


717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They were my favourite two Beach House before this, but this seems like everything they've ever done before magnified and expanded; there's stuff here I I've never heard from Beach House before, and what I have heard before just sounds bigger and better.

brandontaylor
April 10th 2022


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As to where they go from here, I would be totally into an entire full length that leans into the shoegaze / distortion they dabbled in on "Sparks", or even an album that verges on ambient

markjamie
April 10th 2022


717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Either would be fine with me, though I'm struggling to imagine what an ambient Beach House would actually sound like.

Slex
April 10th 2022


16611 Comments


Gonna go out on a limb and say it would sound like Beach House

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2022


3967 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@brandon check 7



@mark check self-titled

brandontaylor
April 11th 2022


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

7 is amazing but i wouldnt call it that shoegazey or distorted, i would love them to fully commit to that sound and go even further

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2022


3967 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It’s very shoegazey but it’s not very distorted so that’s fair

Colton
April 23rd 2024


15302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

best album of the decade?

Ryus
April 23rd 2024


36914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/87321/Skee-Mask-Pool/

Demon of the Fall
April 23rd 2024


33919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don’t see the relevance

Ryus
April 23rd 2024


36914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

or maybe https://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/86152/Rx-Papi-and-Gud-Foreign-Exchange/

Demon of the Fall
April 23rd 2024


33919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Seems inappropriate in a Beach House thread is all

Pool isn’t my #1, but it is a legit shout!

markjamie
April 23rd 2024


717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Were probs only 6 months away before those "first half of the decade" best of lists start appearing and both OTM and Pool would be near the top of mine.

OTM is majesterial.

budgie
April 23rd 2024


35714 Comments


is that a portmanteau of majestic and magisterial

markjamie
April 23rd 2024


717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nah... just an early morning (where I am) spelling mistake. How embarrassing...

budgie
April 23rd 2024


35714 Comments


its not embarrassing to accidentally create a beautiful new word that perfectly matches what you were trying to communicate anyway

that is effortless elegance



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy