Dorian Electra
Flamboyant


4.0
excellent

Review

by Lila Everly USER (1 Reviews)
March 30th, 2022 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Slay

Trying to piece together coherency in the Hyperpop scene is as realistic as getting a six-beer-deep Republican to enjoy Hedwig and the Angry Inch with his work buddies on a Saturday night after a long day at the lumberyard. I could talk about clear visual influences like how Dorian's aesthetic is essentially LiquidSky2.0, the diet Joker edition, but that would be a disservice to how ***ing fun this album is. Do you like cocky, gender-bending lyrics and vocal inflections blended with hoppity bass inversions and reverb-happy drum machines? Well, you should. Intimidating as it may be, this is the kind of direction that Pop as a general movement should be gravitating towards due to its tonal flexibility and bubbly personality.

Take songs like 'Man to Man' that start with club-ready thumps and lead into a chorus that hooks you with the same melodic swagger that got millennial mean girls impersonators obsessed with saying "it's Britney Bitch" a decade and a nickel ago. Now imagine the song structure breaking down in a dissonantly cathartic mess of synth warbles blended with deep bass cuts and octave jumping silky robotic croons from Dorian's smoothly chaotic performance. Is the album consistently like this? Yes and no. There's a straightforward style here sonically, but the songwriting takes liberties that, while I wish took more risks, still wags its proverbial arpeggio at you from time to time, saying, "ah ah ah, you didn't sing the magic chorus." Oh yeah, choruses, this album has hooks for days thanks to how Dorian doesn't care about the particulars of vocal articulation in a traditional sense. Instead, Dorian uses every production tool at their disposal in songs like the title track to beep boop up a memorable octave-leaping digital line that worms its way into your cranial cavity; like fuzzy memories from a night with too many mimosas followed by a relieving bowl of quinoa before you sludge to your retail job like the wage-slave you wish you weren't.

So, do you like pop? Do you wish your Pop had a bit more bite? Then, listen to Flamboyant sometime and vary your day with some wickedly decadent self-empowerment and trauma exploring tunes that will make you feel a little less dead inside for five minutes before you remember how much your life sucks.


user ratings (119)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
EmoQueen19
March 29th 2022


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hi first review, had to rewrite it because it went to a login screen after I finished but I got it now!



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3K6_89Ee4U&list=PL-B3B24cmBA1seuXqikHxpLna29FEN0Cw&index=6&ab_channel=DORIANELECTRA



Here's Man To Man!

parksungjoon
March 29th 2022


44641 Comments


Slay

EmoQueen19
March 29th 2022


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Park, you like Wes Montgomery? Respect! Wes has beautifully soothing guitarwork! ^^

parksungjoon
March 29th 2022


44641 Comments


i like a lot of things ^^

EmoQueen19
March 29th 2022


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly, if you like Aphex Twin you might get a little enjoyment out of some of this! Some of the sounds are like AT's 'Green Calx' but not as much focused around the atmosphere but more focused on kinda deconstructing club-style tunes with those same kinda bleep notes. But if you don't dig this that's cool too, it's kinda hard to get into with how all over the place and abrasive it can be for someone dipping their toes into the hyperpop genre bubble pool with this stuff, or even for those who like some songs x.x

parksungjoon
March 29th 2022


44641 Comments


been on my radar for a couple years now, its always a matter of finding the time and juggling around which direction to go next

EmoQueen19
March 29th 2022


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God, relatable. Every time I look at my need to listen playlist on spotify it feels like I ratio'd myself

SharkTooth
March 30th 2022


14692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo wtf this didn't have a review until now?



That's pretty sad

Digging: Nucleus - Alleycat

Get Low
March 30th 2022


12619 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

need to check

Nikkolae
March 30th 2022


6114 Comments


man this album is so fucking fun

AmericanFlagAsh
March 30th 2022


11451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Title track is so good

Digging: Perfume Genius - Ugly Season

EmoQueen19
March 30th 2022


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Tool For You' is such a vibe, there's not a lot of hyperpop reviews on here, I want to change that ^^

Get Low
March 30th 2022


12619 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This made me nauseous.

SharkTooth
March 30th 2022


14692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's *very much* not for everyone, so there's no real shame in that rating

EmoQueen19
March 30th 2022


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Shark's right, hyperpop (especially in-your-face stuff like this) can be kind of abrasive and hard to listen to. Hopefully you'll revisit it down the road!

ChoccyPhilly
March 30th 2022


13485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn how did we not have a review for this? Actually seeing the man live on friday as well

SharkTooth
March 30th 2022


14692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa neat!



from what I've seen Dorian seems like a blast live

EmoQueen19
March 31st 2022


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lucky! You'll have to tell us how Dorian is, I haven't gotten the chance to see them live yet :[

Ryus
March 31st 2022


28024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dont love this whole thing but the singles rule. career boy in particular

Digging: Lil B - Evil Red Flame

pizzamachine
April 1st 2022


16526 Comments


Hooks for days? It better

Digging: Draconian - Under a Godless Veil



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy