Stone Axe
Stay of Execution


3.7
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
March 21st, 2022 | 19 replies


Release Date: 03/18/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A celebration of hard rock

Whenever I come across bands like Stone Axe, I feel confident about the future of hard rock. Granted, Stay of Execution does not reinvent the wheel, but it sure does remind us what a beautiful invention it is. Right from the bat, you can feel that Tony Reed (also Mos Generator) and Dru Brinkerhoff are apt students of the genre. The spirit of the immortal Paul Kossoff in the guitar playing, as well as Free’s Tons of Sobs in songwriting, is apparent. However, they don’t limit themselves; they equally love Lynyrd Skynyrd, as the opening of “Lady Switchblade” reeks of “That Smell”, and Black Sabbath with the vocal melody on the spacey “Deep Blue” bringing, effortlessly, to mind that on “Planet Caravan”. Now, all the namedropping may make you wonder why you should check Stone Axe and not just jam the old classics. Well, if you’re not into classic rock done by modern bands, you’ll probably discard Stay of Execution as derivative. However, you will miss one hell of an album that is actually a celebration of rock. Take, for example, the groovy “Metal Damage” with its infectious Schenker-isms or the laidback “For All Who Fly” that brings to mind Black Crowes, another legendary rock act. To make a long story short, if bands like the aforementioned or Cream, Mountain, early-Whitesnake, and Pentagram, among others, move you, this LP is for you. The only drawback of Stay of Execution is that it’s Stone Axe’s swan song; an album that consists of unreleased material, tracks from splits, and singles, so there’s no hope for a new release in the future. But, as always, it’s better to burn out than it is to rust…




Recent reviews by this author
Sakis Tolis Among the Fires of HellSaxon Carpe Diem
1914 Where Fear and Weapons MeetHeavy Feather Mountain of Sugar
The Night Flight Orchestra Aeromantic IIBlack Label Society Doom Crew Inc.
user ratings (8)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2022


12506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Just an extended soundoff, in order to bring this little beauty to your attention.

Digging: The Snakes - Live in Europe

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2022


17424 Comments


That art looks like it was ripped straight out of the early nineties.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2022


12506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Nice. It actually brought to my mind some '70s cheesy horror films haha.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2022


9692 Comments


Review summary and the band’s label say I should check this out.

Thanks for the heads up Manos.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2022


12506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Always a pleasure, Voi! This is right up your alley.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2022


9692 Comments


This kicks serious ass.

If someone wants more of this, the most recent album from Leeds Point should be checked.

SharkTooth
March 22nd 2022


14741 Comments


sounds like a good time to me

SitarHero
March 22nd 2022


14381 Comments


I'm definitely getting some Free vibes from the linked track. I wasn't really feeling the song until the post solo climax though.

percyforward
March 22nd 2022


113 Comments


Reminds me of that Witchcraft album Legend, great melodies

Trifolium
March 22nd 2022


32785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Super cool cover, super cool review, will check this!

Trifolium
March 22nd 2022


32785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is lovely indeed. Certainly will be coming back to this one.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2022


12506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Appreciate it, Trif and glad to see you enjoying this one, guys.



Witchcraft is a good comparison, Percy. The two bands seem to have common influences.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2022


7293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The band name and genre combo, and the Black Sabbath and Pentagram mentions gave me more than enough reason to check this out.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2022


12506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Great to see you enjoying it, dude.

Trifolium
March 23rd 2022


32785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hard agree with that sound-off garas. Lovely no-nonsense fun album.

Ashtiel
March 24th 2022


1380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

didn't expect a write-up for this album on Sput of all places...but i'm not complaining, was unfamiliar with Stone Axe before this release but i'm definitely going to check their two albums sometime, top shelf rock'n'roll here.

Ripple puts out so much good shit, and that artwork is one of the most badass things i've seen in a minute.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2022


12506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Glad you were pleasantly (I assume) surprised, Ashtiel!

Pho3nix
March 27th 2022


1324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"That art looks like it was ripped straight out of the early nineties."



*I think you mean the 60s / 70s.



This is great rock and roll. 'Lady Switchblade' is killer!

Digging: Karl Sanders - Saurian Apocalypse

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2022


12506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Glad to see you digging this one, Pho3nix!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy