AngelMaker
Sanctum


4.0
excellent

Review

by Zach USER (123 Reviews)
March 12th, 2022 | 24 replies


Release Date: 03/11/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The revelry of sonic destruction.

AngelMaker are as hellbent on gnarled deathcore edge as their name would suggest. It would not be incorrect to state that the entirety of the bands foundations are on the tropes extremes-a kick pedal pleading for mercy as it's beholder lays waste with another blast beat, vocal chords that disintegrate into an evanescent dust with every piercing shriek and pig squeal, arthritic fingers searing with the furious pain of a thousand tremolo picks- all of these various body parts are sacrificial to the craft.

Opening track "Slaughter" is, in many ways, a looming middle figure to anyone who would advise the sheer notion of progress. Consisting almost entirely of (immensely) downtuned chugging and gutturals reminiscent of my last visit to the pig pens of a local farm, it operates dually as both a welcome embrace and a defiant shove (that of which depends on your disposition towards the tropes of all things -core). From here on it is the band's ability to operate within these narrow confines that showcase the grand panorama of sheer talent they possess. Alternating between blazing arpeggios and holy-hannah where's my Hello Kitty pillow breakdowns, breakneck witchy rasps, bellowing shouts, and some of the lowest gutturals to bless this side of the hemisphere, it makes for an experience that is still engaging in spite of how one-track it can all be.

Even with this homogeneity in mind it is worth noting that distinguishable moments do rear their heads-the bouncy and almost playful riffwork of "The Great Gray Flame'' which juxtaposes rather nicely to the beginning chuggathon of "What I Would Give". Interestingly this particular track has the closest thing to any respite this record has to offer, as the conflagration temporarily gives way to a smolder near it's last minute, only to amass into a triumphant blaze shortly thereafter. Amongst a record full of beatdown brocore anthems like "Oppressive Control", it is quite satisfying to hear something truly coalesce. This could almost be construed as restraint, at least considering the particularly unyielding frenzied guitar shreds on "Lazarus" or the immediate gilded triumph of "Creators Conscious". All these immense and intense traits are what make this record such a blast. It is an ultimate exercise in excess, crafted with little regard for change or progressive ideas. This is AngelMaker plodding along, one hell-raising riff at a time.



Recent reviews by this author
Allegaeon DamnumReeking Aura Beneath the Canopy of Compost
Wedrujacy Wiatr Zorzysta Staje OcmaDark Matter (MEX) Dystopian
Fit for an Autopsy Oh What the Future HoldsShadow Of Intent Elegy
user ratings (74)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
March 12th 2022


8789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is great. Not Dissentient by any metric but hey what is!

Also I promise to slow down on the deathcore reviews but oml it has just been a wild year for deathcore. They're either progressing from their sound or refining it and I'm digging it.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2022


17245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I promise to slow down on the deathcore reviews



If that's the crowd you're into, by all means keep on chuggin' along.

Dedes
March 13th 2022


8789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough

I just wanna make sure I don't pigeon hole myself into just -core material

I'm running out of ways to say breakdown

Tundra
March 13th 2022


7356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This makes me want to drop kick a very drop kickable thing

Get Low
March 13th 2022


12586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album's kinda meh, not as fun as their previous stuff

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2022


17691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I gave it a spin Friday at work and enjoyed the slam segments, will revisit it in the coming days. Pos'd

Digging: Pestilent Hex - The Ashen Abhorrence

combustion07
March 13th 2022


10239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't jammed a new deathcore release in ages but I decided to click on this one just now and I gotta say Creators Conscience is a banger. Loving the more hardcore inspired vocal style on that track.

Digging: Rebel Wizard - Triumph of Gloom

Dedes
March 13th 2022


8789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Creators Conscious is a monstrous highlight

Unstoppable banger

Leeb890
March 13th 2022


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Really enjoyed this album. What I Would Give is probably my favorite off this album.

jpaulwegenast
March 14th 2022


140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gonna need a few spins.

Digging: Misery Index - The Killing Gods

XfingTheSullen
March 14th 2022


4640 Comments


I've heard a few songs off this, definitely more melodic than their previous stuff, also a bit lighter seemingly. Self-titled is probably better but this is also alright. Not a fan of the pig squeals but at least they're not as obnoxious with them as say, Despised Icon

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2022


17245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey lookie, a feature.

combustion07
March 14th 2022


10239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Despised Icon are in fact, the masters of the squealery

AaroN911
March 14th 2022


3791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh yeah this came out, time to snap some necks

JayEnder
March 14th 2022


14674 Comments


Album art is sweet. Might czech

Digging: Alexisonfire - Otherness

XfingTheSullen
March 15th 2022


4640 Comments


These guys are really laying those oldschool deathcore tropes on thick

which makes it even more impressive that they're actually listenable and can write songs at the same time

Sowing
Moderator
March 15th 2022


41291 Comments


Great review!

Digging: Shinedown - Planet Zero

AaroN911
March 15th 2022


3791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

giving it a couple listens while distracted yesterday still had pretty good results, need to have a sit down with it for sure

JayEnder
March 21st 2022


14674 Comments


Pretty cool stuff on here but deathcore just ain't my thing anymore. Never really was to begin with honestly lol

Nice review though buddy :]

Dedes
March 21st 2022


8789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really? I always thought you were on the bastions of deathcore here but tbh I might be thinking of someone else

Glad you dug it at least a little tho! Honestly I love the direction deathcore is taking broadening it's horizons but this is definitely not an example of that change lmao



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy