Eastshade
When Colors Fade


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (72 Reviews)
January 28th, 2022 | 31 replies


Release Date: 01/28/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The beginning of something great

Nowadays, metalcore is an unbelievably saturated genre in the music industry. The list of bands is endless, and it seems nearly impossible to establish yourself as a newcomer in the scene. How does one even attempt to make even just a tiny ripple in the massive lake of this music? Well, I guess a good strategy is to kickstart your career’s discography with an outstanding debut.

Eastshade is a metalcore band hailing from Cologne, Germany formed in 2019. With their debut EP, When Colors Fade shows the group building their resume, crafting their own style and establishing a foundation for Eastshade to progress. Mixing aggressive, technical riffing with ambient, atmospheric composition, the group doesn’t necessarily reinvent the wheel of metalcore, but they sure do nail the sound.

Taking influence from groups like Silent Planet and Polaris, Eastshade blurs the lines between melody and intensity with their songwriting. With When Colors Fade, the group heavily relies on techy guitar riffs, powerful bass grooves, and catchy drum chops. “Waking Hours” and “Bleeding Waters” emphasize dissonant chugs and choruses full of melodic, yet heavy chord progressions that combine beauty with distortion. “Like Shattering Diamonds” and “Aquamarine” venture in the realm of technical and complex composition, crafting riffs and breakdowns that display Eastshade’s immense potential. Throughout the effort, atmospheric, almost dreamy harmonies seep through the aggression, providing a refined, crisp sound to When Colors Fade. In “Sayonara” and “Anchors,” clean guitarwork and delayed, reverb-laden leads add a new and fresh element of melody to their metalcore sound. Whether accentuating the aggression or stripping it down to the melodic composition, Eastshade straddles the line between the two contrasts almost perfectly.

Perhaps the most prominent element of their music lies in the vocals. With a dual vocal performance, the balance of cleans and screams furthers the blurred line between aggression and melody. Although neither style is intensely diverse, When Colors Fade is full to the brim with well composed vocal phrasing and rather unique melodic choices. The screams set up some intense moments of the EP, leading into heavy breakdowns and exploding into choruses. Despite the cleans still requiring some tune up, the vocals still provide a fantastic melodic sense to the project and amplifies the choruses with beautiful harmonies. However, when both the screams and cleans work together in tracks like “Waking Hours,” they play off each other perfectly, displaying the potential they have for their future discography.

Although this is only just a debut EP, Eastshade has already started off their career with a bang. With their style of metalcore riffing and atmospheric ambience, the group builds upon what’s been established and showcases their immense potential to be known forces in the genre. When Colors Fade isn’t just a debut, it’s a powerful statement for the beginning of a band’s career.



Recent reviews by this author
When Forever Ends LeviathanNorthlane Obsidian
Grayscale Season Slow EmotionsWithout Waves Comedian
Rex Orange County Who Cares?Gungor Praise
user ratings (12)
2.9
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


3138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was a fun one to write. I'm excited to see where these guys end up! I've been keeping up with the guitarist, and they've already been working hard on their next EP, and I'm hyped!

Hope y'all enjoy!

Digging: Zach Bryan - American Heartbreak

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


13397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Saw metalcore and got excited, then saw Polaris as a point of comparison. Probably not my cuppa.

Get Low
January 28th 2022


12342 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

will check but my hopes are low, as I'm also wary of the Polaris comparison

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


3138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

more so included the polaris comp because the guitarist said he was heavily influenced by them, but i prefer their style more than polaris so

WalrusTusk
January 28th 2022


1366 Comments


"Saw metalcore and got excited, then saw Polaris as a point of comparison."

I literally thought the same thing haha.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


3138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I might as well just get rid of that Polaris comparison good lord lol

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


13397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No, the Polaris comparison is unfortunately applicable. It's just that mentioning them immediately signifies that the album will likely be industry standard, nothing new. And that's the general impression I got from this; it's something that we have heard before, minus the benefit of the doubt some give to Polaris for their emotional intensity (I don't hear it tbh).



Music as a whole is so utterly saturated, not just metalcore, and I'm not sure if this is the kind of release that can take off. Hope the best for them, but it really doesn't feel like much of a departure from normalcy.

MyColdShoulder
January 28th 2022


280 Comments


Just checked this for you ty, and I really like this. Not anything new or groundbreaking, but a lot of fun. Lately I've been enjoying EPs more than LPs for this genre, much less filler and shit

Sick review as usual

AaroN911
January 28th 2022


3743 Comments


gonna have to give this a shot, nice review!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2022


4437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great read, imma jam this tomorrow n shall report back!

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2022


3138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

appreciate it boys! hope y'all enjoy

Get Low
January 28th 2022


12342 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is so boring and derivative that it's almost laughable.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2022


3138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sorry to hear that

Rowhaus
January 29th 2022


4497 Comments


Carcass called. They want their cover back.

Get Low
January 29th 2022


12342 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"sorry to hear that"



It's okay. I appreciate that you review lesser-known metalcore bands anyway.

Storm In A Teacup
January 29th 2022


39436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This was alright but it’s obviously a simplified version of Oceans Ate Alaska. Good review despite disagreeing with…everything? Lol 😝

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2022


4437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

core bands vs releasing lp length eps amirite lol ex dee

this was okay, nothing i'll come back to prob

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2022


13397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The heart beating on the Spotify version tripped me out when I noticed it lol

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2022


3138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

" I appreciate that you review lesser-known metalcore bands anyway." that's what I strive to do always

"this was okay, nothing i'll come back to prob" fair enoughhh

rafalafa
January 30th 2022


242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The musicianship is there for me, but the vocals ruin it. They’re truly awful.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy