Anxious
Little Green House


3.5
great

Review

by Jesper L. STAFF
January 25th, 2022 | 33 replies


Release Date: 01/21/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: lost in nostalgia's nostalgia

Anxious, true to their name, tread the type of emo-tinged alternative rock that quietly exited the world of music as Turnover took a turn for the dreamy and Title Fight went to the store to get some milk. Consequently, the young band’s debut full length Little Green House manages to feel more outdated than your average 70’s or 80’s throwback outfit, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. If anything, the band seem fully aware of where they stand, opting for familiar comfort rather than risky risks.

As such, Little Green House feels like it’s tailor-made for me. Its pop punk-infused choruses, its crunchy and grungy guitars, its easily digestible angst: this is everything I wanted from music some ten years ago. And yet, I am in no way the same person I was some ten years ago… shocker. We grow, we change, we start incorporating annoying cliches into our reviews: and yet, somewhat paradoxically, Anxious reprising the already-nostalgic sound of most early 2010’s Run For Cover signees adds a unique new layer of nostalgia to the mix. The 90’s influences of tracks like ‘More Than a Letter’ and ‘Afternoon’ don’t just remind me of Hum and Failure; they remind me of Superheaven and Basement (who, yes, reminded me of Hum and Failure)… call it being late to being late to the party, call it Anxious wearing their influences on their longsleeves: truth is that it still sounds good. This is entirely due to the fact that the band are highly competent songwriters: while nothing they put forth on the record is new or fresh by any means, the concoction of different elements of alternative music adds all the more pleasantly familiar touches to the throwback² sound. The vicious ‘Speechless’ comprises gentle touches of gloomy post hardcore while ‘Wayne’ incorporates heavenly acoustic textures to enhance the record’s atmosphere: ultimately, everything works perfectly fine.

Yet, Little Green House is at its very best when it loses itself in near-cathartic moments of nostalgia. The second half of ‘Growing Up Song’ is nothing but pure singalong bliss, bringing to mind the many amazing concerts I attended way back when (concerts were a thing). Similarly, the aforementioned ‘Afternoon’ boasts a smooth hook that takes me back to the many joyous evenings I spent being sad to the soundtrack of whatever Brand New ripoff band Run For Cover spat out that month. It’s a bit backhanded, and ultimately the reason why I don’t fully love Anxious’ first album; but with Little Green House being as excellently derivative/derivatively excellent as it is, it’s hard not to consistently compare the music to other (and frequently better) acts. At the same time, as long as moments like ‘Growing Up Song’s final chants remind me of the rare sense of joy I felt going to see acts like Modern Baseball live at fifteen, I’ll welcome that with open arms. Anxious might be a bit lost in nostalgia’s nostalgia, but the sheer catchiness of their music will likely ensure them a bright future.



Recent reviews by this author
Ethel Cain Preacher's DaughterSimple Plan Harder Than It Looks
Silverstein Misery Made Medaine Quantum Jumping
Prince Daddy and The Hyena Prince Daddy And The HyenaHatchie Giving the World Away
user ratings (58)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


4433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first few drafts for this were way too personal for a 3.5 lol so have diz

https://anxious18.bandcamp.com/album/little-green-house

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

Calc
January 25th 2022


16858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been listening to this non-stop for the past 3 days

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


4433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol same.. although i also know i won't be coming back to this three months from now (except for maybe growing up song and afternoon)

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2022


16153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"god i wish a good 2022 album would drop"



*sees a Jesper review*

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


4433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

uwu, hope you enjoy this yoyo!

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


3798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Will check this, I dig Basement and early Turnover to some degree, so might be up my alley

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


3798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha, this is one of the worst album covers I've seen in a while, like second-tier power metal or radio rock bad...

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


4433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh yeah the cover is ass hahah

hope you enjoy sunny! you ever jammed superheaven's debut?

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


3798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My Last.fm tells me I've heard it once, but can't say it left much of an impression on me...



Gave this a first spin and can't say much stuck with me, but the closer did rule. I'll give this another try though.

Purpl3Spartan
January 26th 2022


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This goes pretty hard for a pop punk album

AxeToFall93
January 26th 2022


312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, this is just pure fun.

Nice rev also!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2022


4433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thx axy!

i can imagine this band being a ton of fun live as well

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2022


3935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really lovely write-up! From memory, never really liked their EPs, but I'm digging this a lot.

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2022


4433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ty blush!! glad you're enjoying this, don't think i've heard their eps

Snake.
January 26th 2022


24123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

mental pos



saw this band open for nothing and they were a blast

Digging: Hatchie - Giving the World Away

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2022


4433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sounds like an amazing show snake, i'm v jealous

TBH717
January 27th 2022


61 Comments


I love the cover, maybe less-so the font, but I won't stand for Green House Slander

hogan900
February 1st 2022


3239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very surprised by the ratings on this, the last three songs are some of the best Mae songs I’ve heard in a while. I mean that in the best way possible.

Slex
February 1st 2022


13712 Comments


I'm a simple man: Title Fight is mentioned, I listen immediately

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

hogan900
February 2nd 2022


3239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ye this has just been a ton of fun past few days. Ridiculously catchy and yeah that closer is a pretty great curveball to end the record.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy