Tomb of Annihilation
End of Time


3.8
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
January 23rd, 2022 | 36 replies


Release Date: 01/21/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A brief, uncompromising slab of death metal. “End of Time” plants a firm, enticing seed of what’s to come

The force behind Tomb of Annihilation has a bright future. Ok, maybe a murky and deafening one, but you get the gist. This death metal EP gets just about everything right – a display of riffs galore and a retro vibe making for a familiar and exhilarating ten minutes. From the most potent guitar swarm of “Mind Rot” to the beefier closing act, this is pure death metal. No messing around; no bullshit.

When I commented on his first single, the project’s sole creator, David Abbruscato, modestly indicated his intention was “to just make some solid, groovy metal." Though deceptively thick with grit, I’d have to concur his mission has been accomplished. His statement reigns true not only for the headbanging opener, but the other two tracks as well. There’s a free-flowing energy here and every bellowing echo bouncing from the walls of this dungeon is answered with a meaty but melodic guitar hook. Simply put, I had a blast listening to it.

The seed planted with End of Time will undoubtedly get your blood flowing. “Mindrot” completely rips, flirting with a more brutal pummeling sound without a single breath taken. By contrast, “The Artificer’s Box” is in less of a hurry, injecting hints of doom into some chunky guitar noodling. Whether finishing a tedious shift at work or squeezing in some exercise jams, this is just the extra dose of adrenaline you need to lift your spirits. It fits in comfortably with the seemingly unstoppable OSDM revival, which is quite the compliment given the uptick of quality the genre has seen lately.

End of Time doesn’t really have an introduction. It just kind of starts in an accelerated fury, leaving the listener no time to get strapped in for the ride. And, what more can you really ask for with such a brief assault on the ears? It’s a killer start to Abbruscato’s solo project that leaves a strong first impression of what’s to come. With a few tweaks – a bit more emphasis on the drumming and cavernous snarling – he could level up an already impressive sound. Until then, I’m proud to hit the repeat button on this dense beast.




Recent reviews by this author
Tomberlin i don’t know who needs to hear this...Voivod Synchro Anarchy
Raphael Weinroth-Browne Worlds Within LiveMonument of Misanthropy Unterweger
Emily Scott Robinson American SirenMusk Ox Inheritance
user ratings (26)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2022


27364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

definitely a fun EP that encapsulates most of what I love about death metal! for those that don't know, our very own DungeonBoy is the man behind the riffz

https://tombofannihilation.bandcamp.com/album/end-of-time-2

Digging: Be Well - Hello Sun

zaruyache
January 23rd 2022


25177 Comments


metal death m//

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2022


17113 Comments


Atari: I don’t always review death metal - but when I do you can be sure they’re a banger.

trilo
January 23rd 2022


4857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

must czech

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses

DavidYowi
January 23rd 2022


2515 Comments


this DungeonBoy's band?

Digging: Cosmic Putrefaction - Crepuscular Dirge for the Blessed Ones

Slex
January 24th 2022


13776 Comments


this sounds tasty

Digging: Coheed and Cambria - Vaxis II: A Window of the Waking Mind

zaruyache
January 24th 2022


25177 Comments


another good sput band eh? ep was good. m/

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2022


27364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

cheers everyone!!



He’s also a part of Rota Fortunae which is some breathtaking dark folk

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2022


17113 Comments


-Rota Fortunae which is some breathtaking dark folk-

And a really good time.

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2022


14964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! I'm always down for some straightforward no-frills DM, so I'll check the album out sometime this week

Elynna
January 24th 2022


1142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, will check soon. I dug the first released track

Digging: Catrin Finch and Seckou Keita - Echo

DungeonBoy
January 24th 2022


8887 Comments


Just woke up and saw this Atari, thanks so much for reviewing this dude! Thanks to everyone who's taken the time to give it a quick spin, I enjoyed making this EP, and really appreciate the feedback

Panzerchrist
January 24th 2022


619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really enjoyed the vox on this but in general I just appreciated the vibe; it has that quintessential death metal grittiness that a lot of modern death metal seems to intentionally eschew in favor of clarity

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2022


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice stuff, DungeonBoy! Rota Fortunae is more to my particular taste, but this is real good as well.

DungeonBoy
January 24th 2022


8887 Comments


Thanks for checking it out Sunny! ha yeah there's a bit of a dichotomy there, but it's nice to have something to cleanse my mental palette.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


28008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is fucking great Dungeon.



And nicely done Atari!

Digging: Nina Hagen - NunSexMonkRock

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2022


14964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just checked it out, and this is the kind of DM I've been itching for recently! Good job Dungeon, great stuff



@Dewi: wasn't expecting both of us to comment basically the same thing at the same time, lol

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2022


28008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha great minds think alike (must be the time zone too ;))

garas
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2022


7176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Big fan of this. DungeonBoy is such a super talented guy!

DungeonBoy
January 25th 2022


8887 Comments


Thank you guys so much, the positive reception for this has been a pleasant surprise



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy