Pensees Nocturnes
Douce Fange


3.7
great

Review

by Robert Garland STAFF
January 22nd, 2022 | 49 replies


Release Date: 01/21/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Welcome back to the big top.

For experimental avant black metal act Pensées Nocturnes, left of field just comes easily you know? Combining all the tropes of a black metal world gone mad into a tendency to drip its French heritage into whatever enlightened visage that would need to be combined with rooster noises (probably that drunk cock on the album’s art), harmonica gimmicks and general vocal nonsense that Pensées Nocturnes musters. That’s why Douce Fange is so great. It’s weird, it’s wacky, it’s that one clown advertising for the small circus tent at the fair “just 200 metres thataway - boink boink”. But even as we consider the band’s natural tendency to throw everything but the sink into their compositions we must also acknowledge the avant blackened jazz and folk and the circus romp that bleeds an ever-evolving Pensées Nocturnes formula.

That’s because Pensées Nocturnes has a shtick and it doesn’t stink. No, it reeks. “Viens tâter d'mon Carrousel’s” introduction drips with cheese, pomp and celebration—before getting downright wacky and wonderful. Melodies dance over percussive chops and under vocal climes in a typical circus waltz. It’s familiar and completely unnerving at the same time; a concept that continues well into “Quel sale Bourreau”. Douce Fange continues on its path of chaos, it’s climes a combination of whimsical meandering, raw-nostalgic melancholy and a clear-cut dosing of black metal. As we delve deeper into the album’s fifty minute run-time tracks like “Le Tango du Vieuloniste” lean further into the band’s classical roots, but Pensées Nocturnes becomes more twisted, virulent, [more] upbeat…glorious.

“Fin Défunt” continues the album’s quirks. Whimsical spoken words are laid out over a jigging rhythm. The melody runs fancy free, but there’s always room for shouted screams, pummeling double bass and twisted chanting. Play by play aside, there is a lot going on here. A statement made true from the record’s introduction until its final chaotic climax; revelry gone wild.

As you imagine (and the usual cop-out applies), Douce Fange isn’t going to tick all the right boxes. However there’s something to be said for those weird and wacky fans (to which I apparently belong) who find quirk and cheese in genres known for more serious compositions. Still, Pensées Nocturnes’ Douce Fange pushes past the noise and the gimmick ensuring its value surpasses the fact that it’s “interesting”. This circus might be a buzz from curtain to curtain, you may even leave the tent asking yourself what the fuck just happened. Just know you had a good time…and don’t step in the elephant paddies on the way out.




Recent reviews by this author
Ibaraki RashomonAeviterne The Ailing Facade
Father Befouled Crowned in VeneficumAbbath Dread Reaver
Falls of Rauros Key to a Vanishing FuturePestilength Basom Gryphos
user ratings (34)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2022


17113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

https://penseesnocturnes.bandcamp.com/



2022 is going to be the year of profanity in reviews. Rejoice!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2022


4448 Comments


more profanity forever
sweet read, don't think i'll check this but pronouncing the album title as 'douche fang' in my head brought me a lot of joy

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

Pon
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2022


5634 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New Nocturnal Penis? Hells yea m/

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2022


17113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Noct’s Peenee



: /



-pronouncing the album title as 'douche fang' in my hea—



Your head and my phones autospell



Conspiracy I tells ya.

Pon
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2022


5634 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

May the enemies of France be bludgeoned with month-old baguettes

ThyCrossAwaits
January 22nd 2022


3639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It’s like Peste Noire but…not racist I hope? (like, down to the initials and selling their album in a ridiculous wooden box)

Digging: Everything Everything - Raw Data Feel

TheSpirit
January 22nd 2022


29522 Comments


I’m not sure I would compare this to Peste Noire at all

Digging: Gospel - The Loser

Pikazilla
January 22nd 2022


22992 Comments


douche fang

hansoloshotfirst
January 22nd 2022


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ackchyually the initials Peste Noire uses are KPN.

and no these two bands are quite different. (sound and also aesthetic wise imo)

brainmelter
January 22nd 2022


7848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whoa it’s out already? will check today, previous album ruled

Digging: Uiv - Frigus

butt.
January 22nd 2022


9826 Comments


oooo sweet, their last album was so weird and i totally forgot about them. will definitely have to czech this

ThyCrossAwaits
January 22nd 2022


3639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Extremely French black metal coated in oddball Parisian folk music?



I feel like I’m being gaslighted here

Demon of the Fall
January 22nd 2022


24645 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Already had a peek at this and it seems even bloody weirder than the last record… Idk maybe just different, that was weird too. Need to reflect. I really enjoyed the last one.



And yes I also refer to them as Nocturnal Penises because I am the absolute height of maturity and sophistication

Digging: Gospel - The Loser

butt.
January 22nd 2022


9826 Comments


Mike Pence's Nocturnal Penis

hansoloshotfirst
January 22nd 2022


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Extremely French black metal coated in oddball Parisian folk music?"



not wrong (I wouldn't say Parisian for KPN, their folk influences feel a bit more rural to me) but they still sound very different to me. And in regards to the album art I see no parallels there except that they look "french". In other words I think they are similar on a very superficial level: They share a genre and have the same nationality.



Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2022


17113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

-It’s like Peste Noire but-



So you guys came here to not discuss the band/album being reviewed?

hansoloshotfirst
January 22nd 2022


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is a lot of fun, but at times it a bit too much. It's chaotic nature gives it a delicious manic flavour. Strong vocal performance imo. However at times it feels like all the different instruments and sounds get in each others way. 3.5-4.0 overall

Still impressed they manage to pull off this "circus /carnival meets blackmetal style".



TheSpirit
January 23rd 2022


29522 Comments


I don’t want to say I gave up on this project after Grotesque, but after trying the last album and now this, I don’t think I will continue to listen to them in the future. I don’t even think this is bad per se, I’ve just always hated when bands go haunted and heavy carnival. My dislike has nothing to do with the quality really, just that aesthetic in general. I am actually quite glad to see the project thriving, as I do really like their first albums and I think Leon is super talented.

brainmelter
January 23rd 2022


7848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’m the opposite, as I only started to really care about them after their previous album. but if you’re not into this aesthetic I totally get that

Dmax28
January 23rd 2022


1079 Comments


Fin defunt is a real banger.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy