Foxtails
Fawn


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale CONTRIBUTOR (63 Reviews)
January 14th, 2022 | 26 replies


Release Date: 01/14/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Momentarily alive, is the grass greener on the other side?

Fawn stands as Connecticut band Foxtails’ fourth full-length, and also marks a significant expansion of the group’s style. While previous efforts provided a fairly creative sound straddling the line between mathy screamo and emo (trending slightly towards the former), Fawn sees a shift towards incorporating an even broader range of influences.

It takes the listener no further than the brief opener “ego death” to realize this. The track begins with a post-rock leaning intro, accompanied by swirling violin which adds a touch of the sensation of lilting Celtic folk to the whole affair. While, about a minute in, melodramatic screams join the equation, it’s already quite clear that this isn’t a by-the-book screamo album.

The aforementioned violin is nearly omnipresent on Fawn . While this reviewer never would’ve thought to propose this idea, it turns out to be a match made in heaven, adding an enigmatic and sometimes even ritualistic quality to the album’s frequent instrumental sections, while also contributing a sense of pathos to numerous vocal freakouts (check the end of “ataque de nervios” for a particularly good example).

All told, Fawn may be a bit more subdued and less frenetic than the typical screamo album, but it’s all the better for it. There’s still plenty of aggression and pent-up feeling to be expressed, but also piercing beauty and a satisfying interplay of diverse elements. While the whole release sees elements of post-rock and folk being commingled with a base of math-tinged screamo, “gallons of spiders flying thru the stratosphere” betrays melancholy indie traces somewhat reminiscent of Modest Mouse, while late in the tracklist, the early stages of “la belle indifference” features clean vocals which are genuinely beautiful. To be clear, I don’t mean they’re “beautiful” in the way that a Sputnik user might describe Mikael Akerfeldt’s death growls on Blackwater Park , but in the more conventional definition of the word.

Take it from a reviewer who is typically a bit wary of screamo-adjacent releases: Fawn is an album worth checking. While those with an unrelenting aversion to periodic off-key screaming and moments of passionate melodrama likely won’t be convinced, listeners with an open mind will confront an album chock-full of intriguing ideas and successful execution. It’s fitting that after a series of tunes engrossed with grim and pessimistic themes, the final defiant lines of closer “paper tiger” are “save your pity, I’m playing for keeps”. Foxtails do indeed seem to be “playing for keeps” here, and I’m glad for it. Fawn provides an excellent start to the very new musical year 2022.



Recent reviews by this author
40 Watt Sun Perfect LightNeil Young Barn
Kadavar and Elder Eldovar - A Story of Darkness & LightStormkeep Tales of Othertime
Casper Skulls Knows No KindnessMol Diorama
user ratings (28)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2022


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review of the new year!



Few things to note:



1) I'm far from knowledgeable about screamo as a whole, I'm curious how well-received this will be with those who know more about the genre.



2) The "recommended albums" don't really have much to do with this one (except the Foxtails record, of course) beyond being screamo-ish albums that I do quite like, so maybe there's something in common between them.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


10249 Comments


Heyo good rev Sunny! Am kinda intrigued - Celtic vibe and violin? Will have to peep 👀

Cormano
January 15th 2022


3092 Comments


oh sweet thank you for this review sunny, can't wait to dive deep into this, band has always been tight as shit

lowkeykindofaunit
January 15th 2022


53 Comments


Nice review, it read great! this band was supposed to be on tour with Touche Amore this spring and I was gonna go see them. I was hyped but then they got dropped from the tour over some weak ass drama. Still excited to give this a listen.

Digging: Terminal Bliss - Brute Err/ata

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers guys! Excited to see other perspectives on this one.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cover art has me expecting dream pop, band name has me expecting twinkly emo, review has me expecting.. a whole lot? stoked to jam this haha

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is like a really cool idea and when it works it's amazing but when it doesn't work it falls kinda painfully flat.. i think this would've been a lot better had it been cut down to about 25 minutes (of the highlights)

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Jesper! I sorta get where you're coming from, I just happen to think it works pretty consistently. Any favorite tracks?

Demon of the Fall
January 15th 2022


22522 Comments


‘2) The "recommended albums" don't really have much to do with this one’

That’s a shame because Vi Som Alskade are the best.

I checked the previous record for these guys in preparation for this release, it was okay but I wasn’t convinced. Will try again before this one.

Digging: MONODRAMA - mndrmooaa

NorthernSkylark
January 15th 2022


11947 Comments


Damn it I wish this was a dream pop cut…

Digging: Daniel Rossen - Silent Hour/Golden Mile

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gazelle and catalyst are probs my favs after two listens! will need some more time to figure out if there's any growers here. what are your standouts?

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice! My top three so far would probably be ataque de nervios, life is a death scene, princess, and catalyst.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Demon of the Fall, yeah, the previous record is decent but this is a pretty different vibe.

Colton
January 16th 2022


13665 Comments


love the cover

Colton
January 16th 2022


13665 Comments


was hoping it would be some folky thing

GmemberKills
January 16th 2022


3859 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool review, didn't expect it to get one so soon. gonna jam this asap. "the chicken from outer space" from their album III is probably one of my favorite screamo tracks.



JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2022


44266 Comments


nice

this rev/jesper's comment immediately make me think of that Lorem Ipsum alb from last year, which is scary because it wasn't very good hmm

Digging: Astrobrite - Pinkshinyultrablast

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2022


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys!



@Johnny, not familiar with Lorem Ipsum but just looked at the review for that album, definitely sounds somewhat comparable.

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2022


1647 Comments


Ok this seems like the kind of heavy I could be interested in. Will be checking

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2022


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers dmathias, could see you enjoying this one!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy