Chastity
Suffer Summer


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (101 Reviews)
January 14th, 2022 | 14 replies


Release Date: 01/22/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: yay, despair!

This new Chastity album fucks. Hard.

Suffer Summer follows the forgettable sophomore slump Homemade Satan and picks up where the band’s excellent 2018 debut Death Lust left off by continuing its delicious blend of grunge, punk, and floaty indie pop. While it adopts a more streamlined approach, mastermind Brandon Williams has not lost his DIY-edge whatsoever: if anything, Suffer Summer manages to operationalise its quirks and relative clunkiness to accomplish highly loveable sonic landscapes. Opener ‘Real World’ wastes no time making Chastity’s intentions clear as it bursts with dense, distorted riffs and joyful acknowledgments of despair. Throughout its ten tracks, the record blasts through hooks upon hooks of such misery: the summery ‘Pummeling’ crafts a sparkling chorus out of “Throw me around again / My spirit’s caving in / Pummeling”, while the borderline saccharine ‘Somersault’ contrasts its pristine tones with brutally honest reflections on present-day apocalypses.

Yet, Suffer Summer is at its very best when contrasting Williams’ incredibly competent indie rock songwriting with odd production choices and, occasionally, unorthodox genre switches. The reverb-soaked banger ‘Overstimulate’ is closely followed by a country-infused collaboration with City and Colour (you know, Alexisonfire’s guitarist?) via some pristine piano playing. Random? Sure. It absolutely works, though - ‘Vicious Circle’ is a high-definition foray into bar anthem-inspired singalong yeehaw-isms, while retaining all of Chastity’s unfiltered depression in the lyrical department. Closing out Suffer Summer, ‘Smiling’ presents the record’s very best cut: a dreamy conclusion to a satisfying record that feels like an amalgamation of this first chapter Chastity’s discography. The album is equal parts catchy, amateurish, and expertly written, while stubbornly taking necessary and unnecessary risks, thrusting itself into the limelight and gleefully affording the band a bright future.



Recent reviews by this author
Underoath VoyeuristTwin Atlantic Transparency
Ruby Haunt TiebreakerCold Collective Weathervane
Of Mice and Men EchoModern Stars Psychindustrial
user ratings (7)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2022


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

woo, 100! was going to do a sap personal 5 rev for the ~occasion~ but uh yeah this album messed that up cuz it's rly damn good



jam it: https://chastitysongs.bandcamp.com/album/suffer-summer

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2022


3220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This looks neat, will check.



Congrats on 100 reviews, Jesper!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2022


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks sunny!! i reckon you'll vibe with this, def also recommend their debut!

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2022


16137 Comments


Contrib gang starting the year strong

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


10208 Comments


Happy 100 my dude! This is the kinda rev I like to read - and wish to write: to-the-point, snarky, descriptive and wholesome. Big yay!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ty gnodex! i'm hoping to get better at/write more of these semi-short ones, they're def my favs as well (..and catering to attention spans etc lol)

Slex
January 15th 2022


12705 Comments


Excited to hear this

Digging: The Weeknd - Dawn FM

normaloctagon
January 16th 2022


7900 Comments


I had a good time reading this

Digging: MF DOOM - Special Herbs 7,8

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2022


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you normaloctagon i aspire to provide good times

Nikkolae
January 16th 2022


6017 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was wonderful, both the review and the album, i do feel the album lacks a bit of replay-ability, still great nonetheless

Digging: Trenches - Reckoner

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2022


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers nikko, glad you enjoyed it! i've been having the back half of this on repeat the past few days

WatchItExplode
January 17th 2022


9469 Comments


Barb wire fence around happiness was pleasantly heavy.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2022


3220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is decent after a few spins, but unfortunately I don't find a lot to grab onto here, slapping a 3 on it.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2022


3801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'll take a sunny 3! speaking of sunny tho, imma force you to jam 'smiling' again once its warm outside in hopes of a 3.5 hehe



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy