Kim Petras
Clarity



Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All I do is cry about you. I ain't worried 'bout nada 'less it Gucci 'less it Prada.

The dualism of Kim Petras' debut has always been striking to me. There's a lot of materialist flexing on the album, backed by simple, effective rhyming, but there's also a lot of depth lurking just under the surface. Singing about heartbreak is nothing new in pop, sure, but there's something undeniably interesting about the way Kim juxtaposes shallow, consumerist impulse with baring her soul. Almost a case study in the ups and downs one experiences during romantic breakups, Clarity sees Kim oscillate between filling the hole in her heart with handbags, lamenting her lost love, and decrying the one who made her heart so Icy. Add in her engaging vocal range, clever references to the experience of being a transgender woman, and you get a seriously fun pop album that surpasses its contemporaries without reinventing the wheel.

The attitude and emotive quality of this album can be found on some of her newer singles, but Kim has largely moved on from the self-described “sad girl” aesthetic, finding confidence in her ability to craft moving pop songs that don't revolve around a singular relationship experience. Hopefully she'll soon find the confidence and clarity to move on her from her producer as well—leaving her comfort zone in this way would undoubtedly catapult her to the next level of her artistry. Until then, Clarity remains the most consistent and inspired studio work she's released to date, injecting the modern pop formula with unique catharsis.



Recent reviews by this author
Burial ANTIDAWN EPBurial Chemz/Dolphinz
Meshell Ndegeocello Peace Beyond PassionAlexander O'Neal Hearsay
Andres (USA-MI) Out In The OpenNick Holder Fruit Loops
user ratings (62)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Get Low (3.5)
Secure the bag, sis....

related reviews

TURN OFF THE LIGHT


Comments:Add a Comment 
normaloctagon
January 10th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All I do is listen to Kim

Digging: MF DOOM - Special Herbs 7,8

Drifter
January 10th 2022


18498 Comments


much better than get low's review. should be the flagged one instead of his

edit: oh shit it is m/

Get Low
January 10th 2022


11743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ye generally a new review will become the flagged if none of the older reviews were written by contribs or staff.



alb rules

normaloctagon
January 10th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@drifter thx buddy, had fun writing it up while jamming the tasty tunes!

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2022


44131 Comments


Luvly stuff, dunno why I haven't heard this one

"Hopefully she'll soon find the confidence and clarity to move on her from her producer as well—leaving her comfort zone in this way would undoubtedly catapult her to the next level of her artistry."

Is this a specific Dr Luke ref? Wasn't sure whether to read it as an evasive point if so or a general creative growth point if not

Digging: Astrobrite - Pinkshinyultrablast

normaloctagon
January 10th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Johnny cheers, and yeah it’s both a general creative growth point and a dr luke ref

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2022


44131 Comments


Omg look at you laying down multiple subtexts. Peng!

normaloctagon
January 10th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Weeee thx man 😄

parksungjoon
January 10th 2022


39228 Comments


what about dom texts

normaloctagon
January 10th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@park your comment is tops!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2022


3798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet review sweet album hell yeah

normaloctagon
January 10th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yeah thank u jesp

Colton
January 10th 2022


13613 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nice review. brief reviews are nice but I would like to see this fleshed out a lil more. but good stuff



album is cringe though

normaloctagon
January 10th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

please review some young thug colton



PLEASE : (

Get Low
January 10th 2022


11743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

She just released an official dance video for Coconuts, I've never clicked on a Youtube video so fast in my life.

CaptainDooRight
January 11th 2022


5069 Comments


nice solid write up, short and to the point, I like it

pos!

Digging: Obsecration - Onwards the Mystic Paths of the Dead

Colton
January 11th 2022


13613 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Coconuts is one of the worst pop songs of all time so I will make sure I avoid that video



but pos [2]

Colton
January 11th 2022


13613 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh and I will

normaloctagon
January 11th 2022


7900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey thanks for the updoots boys



"oh and I will" yassss

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
January 11th 2022


10208 Comments


oh waw! cool lil rev bro!

i still have to jam this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy