The Weeknd
Dawn FM


4.0
excellent

Review

by anarchistfish USER (47 Reviews)
January 8th, 2022 | 244 replies


Release Date: 01/07/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: (More) 80s nostalgia meets Truman Show fever dream

After Hours was always going to be a tough follow-up. As well as being a chart monster, it managed the more impressive feat of largely uniting his diverse and bickering fanbase. The return of Illangelo resurrected the ghost of Trilogy on the one hand; on the other Abel's devout MJ worship stepped up still from Starboy, while he captured attention personally with his provocative videos and crimson red jackets, and finally robbed the charts blind. It had something for nearly everyone. On all fronts After Hours was a massive success, and his greatest major-label release.

Not two years later and The Weeknd's follow-up is thrust upon us with but a week's notice. While Abel has aged considerably, Dawn FM very much has the feel of a sequel to After Hours: bold red giving way to heavy blue, the same eye for the camera with tongue firmly in cheek, and everything held together with a fantastic effort in production that blends and expands the various sounds Abel is thus known for. It is, once again, a reinvention while not a revolution, but the involvement of Oneohtrix Point Never really stands out and elevates the record. The beats are lush, groovy, and hypnotic in that way techno is, and as a whole the record flows better than any other Weeknd record since Echoes of Silence. The Jim Carrey skits are the icing on the cake and really sell the vibe in this regard. Dawn FM is rich. It can feel like a dream sequence through an uncanny world, but it is also a great dance and pop album, and probably the best driving record you'll hear all year.

So is it better than After Hours? Let's not exaggerate. If we are comparing hit-potential, Dawn FM probably comes in a little lighter, and doesn't quite hit the same highs as frequently. I was never a particularly big fan of The Weeknd's disco/80s inclinations either, and this album certainly veers in that direction a touch more than After Hours. In many ways it works to the record's benefit though, as its glossy world dazzles and seduces, achieving an impressive balancing act between Grammy-bait and woozy pop experimentalism. More than any Weeknd album since Trilogy, Dawn FM deserves to be listened to in full. Truthfully, comparisons to previous successes may prove a bit of a disservice to what is a worthy and fresh addition to The Weeknd's evergrowing discography.



Recent reviews by this author
The Devil Wears Prada ZIISkepta Konnichiwa
Drake If You're Reading This It's Too LateAzealia Banks Broke With Expensive Taste
JMSN †Pllajë†Say Lou Lou Better In The Dark
user ratings (305)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
anarchistfish
January 8th 2022


29854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably not my GOAT review but was getting impatient

Slugboiiii
January 8th 2022


323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Less Than Zero is sooooo fucking good.

Sowing
Moderator
January 8th 2022


40988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I agree with much of what is stated here, especially how lush the atmosphere is and how fluidly the songs progress within Tesfaye's conceptual vision. This is a very enjoyable pop/R&B experience, which it truly is, and my sole complaint is that only a few melodies grabbed me. If this thing existed as-is but had more obvious hooks, I'd probably be going nuts over it. Small suggestion with the write-up would be to eliminate one of those two "nearly"s at the end of your introduction paragraph, but overall you conveyed what this album brings to the table pretty well. I pos'd.

Digging: Zach Bryan - American Heartbreak

anarchistfish
January 8th 2022


29854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers. I only proofread like twice

alamo
January 8th 2022


4797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

tracks 9-14 are particularly bland

Sowing
Moderator
January 8th 2022


40988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really like the vocal style at the beginning of Gasoline. Is that Tesfaye?



Less Than Zero is my favorite so far.

anarchistfish
January 8th 2022


29854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Tesfaye with a type of voice shifter and a dash of autotune to my ears.



I've seen Less Than Zero getting a lot of love

Colton
January 8th 2022


15174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

is this mind numbingly mid like every other Weeknd album

anarchistfish
January 8th 2022


29854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

behave

Faraudo
January 8th 2022


4066 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I love this very much.

Digging: Everything Everything - Raw Data Feel

Purpl3Spartan
January 8th 2022


3557 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

perhaps I should check this

Digging:

Epilogue
January 8th 2022


1748 Comments


Obviously nowhere near the instant classic of After Hours. Still a good listen with a couple standout tracks, but I'm still itching to listen to AH halfway thru this record.

LightChaotic
January 8th 2022


334 Comments


This is excellent. Probably won't end up liking it more than After Hours but I can already tell that this is going to grow on me with each listen. Just need an edit of I Heard You're Married without Lil Wayne.

TooLateToGoBack
January 8th 2022


2091 Comments


Less Than Zero is so fucking good.

Album itself is pretty underwhelming after a listen or two, tho. Maybe it'll be a grower.

nol
January 8th 2022


10008 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

“tracks 9-14 are particularly bland”

spot on, that section specifically really starts to drag



notkanyewest
January 8th 2022


227 Comments


I need another listen to confirm my suspicion that this is markedly below After Hours but lemme just say the Jim Carrey stuff is so damn corny lol

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2022


47725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pos



have avoided listening to a full Weeknd album forever because reasons, but both OPN and Jim Carrey on this is fucking too hard with my rofl bet radar to put off

Digging: Dream Dolphin - Dolphins Talk to You

jouroboros
January 8th 2022


204 Comments


Album is alright. I cant say it's horrible but I still prefer the OG trilogy

TheEnygma
January 8th 2022


127 Comments


Less Than Zero is some stellar stuff. Only negative I can find so far is Lil Wayne's verses are very unneeded

oltnabrick
January 8th 2022


40491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is so good





weeknd leveling up love2 see it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy