Deaf Club (USA-CA)
Productive Disruption


4.2
excellent

Review

by Simon K. STAFF
January 7th, 2022 | 21 replies


Release Date: 01/06/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A good, hard-hitting album to kick off 2022.

From listening to a lot of music from all walks of styles and genres, I can tell you that listening to an album like this one can be a breath of fresh air. A nice, pithy powerhouse that enters the room like a tornado, grabs your complete attention and then dissipates before you’ve even had a chance to ascertain what’s happening. Productive Disruption is just that; it’s a fervent mix of grind and hardcore punk – a cacophony of distorted barks and intense blast beats, shelled inside an armoury of serrated guitar frequencies and effects. Its raw production sets to embolden its apoplectic disposition, resonating sounds from early Dillinger Escape Plan and Glassjaw. I’ll be honest in saying I’m not the biggest fan of grind, I enjoy some of the venerable names from the genre but generally, the style sounds quite homogenous to me, as songs feel like they’re bleeding into one another after a while. However, the songwriting on Productive Disruption makes a concerted effort to mix things up quite a lot, whilst staying true to its roots and by maintaining the high-octane character it walked in with. From the swirling guitar riffs on “Catching Flies” and “Public Acid”, to the ferocious speed and impressive screams from Justin Pearson present on “Don’t Forget to Live”; the stomping grooves on “New Voodoo” and “Power of Negative Thinking”, to the weird pockets of respite where “Planet Bombing”, for instance, opens up with a spacey trill guitar effect. I think the record has a good balance of ideas, and it doesn’t sit on one thing for long enough for it to become mundane.

Overall, this debut album from Deaf Club is a thoroughly enjoyable one. If you’re a fan of blistering one-and-a-half-minute grind tunes with a little flair and flavour, this one isn’t to be overlooked. Imagine Dillinger Escape Plan, Glassjaw, and Every Time I Die rolling around in a potato sack and you’ll have some idea of what to expect here. Nevertheless, this myopic band name dropping doesn’t do service to what Productive Disruption does so well, and by that, I mean the band does a great job of constantly catching you off guard from changing things up. If there were any negatives to be voiced here it’s that Productive Disruption could have done with a slightly more polished production to make the songs pop and have a more devastating impact. The production here works with the vibe of the album, but with a little more weight behind the drums and guitars, the results could have been cataclysmic. Still, the quality here speaks for itself, and at twenty-three minutes in length this thing isn’t fu*king around. There wasn’t a moment where I felt ennui setting in, and the influences it stands behind are handled with the band’s own distinction in mind. All in all, a great start for heavy music in 2022.




Recent reviews by this author
Don Broco Amazing ThingsEmigrate The Persistence of Memory
Propagandhi Today's Empires, Tomorrow's Ashes (reissue)Limp Bizkit Still Sucks
Ed Sheeran =Creux Lies Goodbye Divine
user ratings (20)
3.1
good
trending all genres albums

Epigone

Elegy

To Pimp a Butterfly

Radical


Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2022


17329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

off to a nice start for 2022. hopefully this year is a little more prolific than last year

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2022


26776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heard the single and it was hot, might peep.

Digging: Anna von Hausswolff - Live at Montreux Jazz Festival

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2022


17329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Yeah man, think you’d dig this actually dewi

WalrusTusk
January 7th 2022


1135 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't really hear the ETID comparison. It's pretty much just a band trying to be the Locust which is fine.

Uzumaki
January 7th 2022


3520 Comments


And the journey through 2022 begins…

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2022


5598 Comments


The music is pumping, but the vocals are a bit of a turn off for me.

Digging: Papir - 7

guielstyle
January 7th 2022


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Walrus, it's Justin from the Locust on vocals so that would explain it for ya. I would say it's just a repeat of Retox with some dillinger/grind tendencies

MyColdShoulder
January 7th 2022


154 Comments


Finally some recognition for this band, they deserve it

Nice review!

Mort.
January 8th 2022


16900 Comments


how many threeoneg bands has justin been in by this point??

Digging: Yowie - Cryptooology

Demon of the Fall
January 8th 2022


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is on my listening radar for next week, sounds good 👍

Digging: Dark Millennium - Acid River

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 8th 2022


22058 Comments


Deafclub for Cutie

Demon of the Fall
January 8th 2022


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Deaf Cub Dubbing Hub

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2022


26776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was good, a bit repetitive but it's cool.

Demon of the Fall
January 11th 2022


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

'Imagine Dillinger Escape Plan, Glassjaw, and Every Time I Die rolling around in a potato sack and you’ll have some idea of what to expect here.'

Disagreed pretty hard with this notion tbh, in fact it mislead me almost entirely, lol.

Mort.
January 11th 2022


16900 Comments


ive lost track of the amount of times a core band has been likened to the dillinger escape plan

Demon of the Fall
January 11th 2022


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

under / over the amount of times you've heard one likened to Converge? Guessing under... although it might actually be close by this point.

Mort.
January 11th 2022


16900 Comments


yeh its probably pretty close tbh




DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2022


17329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Core isn’t really my comfort zone, so I can only comment on what I hear and what I feel. And to me, this has the hardcore sound of glassjaw, the energy of ETID, and Dillinger’s chaotic nature.

dememecracy
January 14th 2022


3 Comments


I agree with you Gonzo. I think the mixing is what makes this sound a little softer than it really could but I'm sure these guys would rip me a new one live, Alex Pearson doesn't fuck around.

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2022


8778 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

These guys are deaf alright

Digging: Ferrara Ensemble and Crawford Young - Figures Of Harmony: Songs Of Codex Chantilly c1390



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy