Clara Malaterre
Points Cardinaux


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trifolium USER (22 Reviews)
December 15th, 2021 | 28 replies


Release Date: 09/17/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If there’s one more EP you’re checking in 2021, make sure it’s this one.

If there’s one more EP you’re checking in 2021, make sure it’s this one.

Reasons?

Her voice! A joy! So versatile and full of emotion and with a convincing sense of urgency. Check San Francisco for a vocal exercise that will most definitely leave you with an enormous grin and begging for more. Chansonnière and main mastermind behind this EP, Clara Malaterre is the owner of said voice, which is used to fantastic effect here: enormously melodic and very lively.

More reasons?

Amazing (and I mean: A-MA-ZING) guitar playing and sound! So lush and energetic. Check the aforementioned San Francisco or album closer Un dimanche * Cushendun for the (instrumental) proof. The way Clara plays the high notes at the album’s conclusion, in a happy tumble of cascades, interacting with the accompanying mandolin creates a true party.

Even more reasons?

Flutes! Violoncello! Clarinet and bass clarinet! Most of these are used on the album’s only darker moment, L'étang, which stands out even starker because of the surrounding moments of happiness. Those more upbeat tracks also use many different instruments, such as harmonica, and whistling. They are used sparingly yet effectively, and because they are incorporated so naturally you will probably not even realize how much is actually going on here. To top it all off, the bass has a lovely presence, and is mixed nicely upfront.

But the main reason has to be Kreuzbergstraße. This simply is one of my favourite sweet songs of 2021. It effortlessly conveys an I-must-have-heard-this-song-before feeling of nostalgia, just because it works so well.

Don’t skip this wonderful little EP. It is a party that fits in the palm of your hand!



Recent reviews by this author
Meat Beat Manifesto 99%Joana Serrat Hardcore from the Heart
Monolake Hong KongMaria BC Devil's Rain
Underworld Beaucoup FishGabriel Rios Flore
user ratings (7)
3.6
great
recommended by reviewer
Pitou Pitou


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
December 15th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh my this is a lovely little record. CHECK IT!

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2021


10249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh my Triffy! Am currently listening and it's super gorgeous wheeeee, and the rev's as cute as the record!



Couple thingies:

- Sput doesn't know "à" and am pissed

edit: fix'd!

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2021


10249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

the way she sings "Et je rêêêêêêêêêve" in Grandeur Nature is absolutely lovely

Trifolium
December 15th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks lovely dedex I've repaired the stuff and I HATE the broken "à" I've tried everything but I will leave it there this way because BLAH!!!



Also àààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààààà!



"the way she sings "Et je rêêêêêêêêêve" in Grandeur Nature is absolutely lovely"

Also THIS!!

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2021


10249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

didn't expect this to be so pristine and smooth and ever-changing musically it's a mega cute find!

Trifolium
December 15th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is isn't it!!! Was kind of blown away by how diverse and bright (clear? full of light?) it is.

Purpl3Spartan
December 15th 2021


2273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very nice review Trif. I love your whimsical tone throughout



Will check

Digging: Geese - Projector

Trifolium
December 15th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Spartan 💞



Hope you enjoy, it's a big super cutie.



Spot on Sound Off too dedex!

Egarran
December 15th 2021


26230 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just stumbled upon this nice review, kinda wanna check this out now.

fogza
December 15th 2021


4082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

super cute and written in a persuasive voice

Digging: Tusks - Dissolve

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2021


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Beautiful review Trif, gonna have to check this one!

Trifolium
December 15th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yippeeeeee hello everyone I hope you love this, it's super sweet and cute! Has been on repeat all day here in my little home office!

Divaman
December 15th 2021


13734 Comments


Lovely review, Tri. Thumbs up.

Digging: Solarus - A Dance With Tragedy

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2021


10249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

et je rêêêêêêêêêve

Trifolium
December 15th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YESSSS DEDEX!!!



Thanks Diva 💚

Trifolium
December 15th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't get these out of my head!

Purpl3Spartan
December 16th 2021


2273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Owns

Trifolium
December 16th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh nice! It indeed does, glad you thought so too!

Trifolium
December 16th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Each track brings something new here, truly lovely.

Trifolium
December 19th 2021


29139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmmm lovely album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy