The Night Flight Orchestra
Aeromantic II


3.9
excellent

Review

by manosg STAFF
December 12th, 2021 | 14 replies


Release Date: 09/03/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aeromantic: Back with a vengeance!

To claim that The Night Flight Orchestra is arguably the best AOR act today is almost like stating the obvious. Their body of work is such that easily places them among modern greats such as H.E.A.T., Dynazty, Eclipse - seriously, what do they put in the water in Sweden? - and Beast in Black. However, with Aeromantic II, they seem to have created something that can look the classic pop rock albums in the eye and not even flinch; you know, kinda like Kobe Bryant didn't even move an eyelash when Matt Barnes faked throwing the ball at his face. As you may have already figured out, there is a lot of swagger in Aeromantic II, this is GTA: Vice City/Miami Vice rock. These guys have an amazing sense of melody, they have memorized the Toto/Boston/Journey/Abba textbook and sprinkled their sound with '80s Genesis and Crazy Nights-KISS garnish. Therefore, this means memorable melodies and big, huge choruses that stick to your mind like pink bubble gum. Compared to its predecessor, The Night Flight Orchestra's latest affair is more keyboard-driven; so if "Divinyls" and "Transmissions" are your favorite Aeromantic tunes, you're in for a treat. What is more, all this is wrapped in excellent production which gives the necessary breathing space to each instrument, and great vocals. In a nutshell, Aeromantic II feels like the Swedes' best LP yet, which makes me wonder where do they go from here. Do they add more female vocals? Do they use more violin? Regardless, this seems to be one for the ages, and of the primary candidates when I'm in the mood for some melodic pop rock.




Recent reviews by this author
1914 Where Fear and Weapons MeetHeavy Feather Mountain of Sugar
Black Label Society Doom Crew Inc.Gelure The Candlelight Tomes
Fragment Soul Axiom Of ChoiceBlazon Stone Damnation
user ratings (28)
3.7
great
related reviews

Aeromantic


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


12378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

An extended soundoff for an album you don't want to miss.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


16250 Comments


Reminding the userbase of the year's first quarter? I'm on board for that.

Digging: Krallice - Crystalline Exhaustion

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


12378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Yup, hopefully some folks will give it a shot and maybe include it in their lists.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


16250 Comments


I'm yet to rate. I'll give her a spin for completions sake.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


12378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Gonna be interesting, because I don't know how much it's your style.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


16250 Comments


--because I don't know how much it's your style.--

I have a weird [?] taste for AOR. I mean from Ghost to the acts that bring the King Diamond aesthetic (i know not really in the same AOR realm). tl;dr - it's a hit or miss thing for me. I either will throw the album on once, never to be heard again

or

it will have continuous play for the next few months until my review dibs fall behind. It's a curse, really.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


12378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

lol, a gift and a curse. Hope you enjoy this one though.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2021


16250 Comments


I'll report back once I've cleared my review obligations.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2021


26865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Nice shorty manosg, can't say this one made me crazy, it's a fun time for sure, but after many years AOR and cheesy hard rock seems to finally be growing off me.

Digging: Tomb of Annihilation - End of Time

Project
December 13th 2021


5295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

band is always good for a few bangers per album

prnzokoshiro
December 13th 2021


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a friend I've had for 29 yrs n I have always sung the praises of Bjorn 'Speed' Strid's longest-running/primary band Soilwork - even after Gothenburg-esque melodeath was gettin a bit too old n formulaic in many a case (Finland's decidely depressive/epigoth-ish brand of melodeath, luckily, hasn't seemed to go stale for the most part... even their Swedish Antigod-father Dark Tranquillity is considered by some to be in a rut [I more think that, among the most well-known melodeath bands - Arch Enemy is legit in that rut, even with the multi-talented Alyssa White-Gluz & modern-virtuoso Jeff Loomis onboard... c'mon, Mike, stop asphyxiating the others' creative process n sounding as if you're phoning it in]



anyway, that shit hasn't much to do with AOR, just started to babble-ramble - my apologies... so I found that The Night Flight Orchestra was, finally, a non-melodeath/metalcore affair for Strid; already having 2 albums out... despite the 2 albums coming off a little basic/generic/maybe even a modicum of naviete n inexperience? - I tried showing my friend n he laughed at how corny it was (yet, he consistently praised the Kimagure Orange Road's anime sdtrk - which is even more shamelessly cheesy AOR - in other words, brilliant haha)...



a new album dropped in 2017, Amber Galactic... where some important evolution/stepping-it-up was evident... my friend gave it a chance, admitting it was 'alright'... well, by around that time the following year, what would become what is still my favorite TNFO album was released, n my friend was finally onboard... and he wasn't alone, as TNFO's existence was finally manifesting as a 'blip' on a lot of (mostly metulz scene) people's olfactory radars... I soon noticed Battle Beast/Beast in Black headin in the adult-oriented rock direction as well...



anyway, I thought maybe I would develop a moral or irony or funny observation by now - n since I haven't really done that yet despite all this txt-yammering - so I'll just say that I luvs the crossover influence of prog into Soilwork (who I have been predicting will be a prog melodeath band at some point before they call it a day)... I don't dig Aeromantic I or II as I much as I verbally prostrate n physically gesticulate over Sometimes the World Ain't Enough - but I may rank them above Amber Galactic n the 2 previous



btw, hi I'm prnzo - n yes, most of my posts are probably incessant in length while also having only superfluous regard for stayin on or being relevant to topic... n so I'll stop this one *here* - guess I'm just sayin "hey sup bruh dude bruhhhh... BRO(ken record)" on a whim.

EvoHavok
December 13th 2021


7921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been jamming songs off this one quite often lately. Aeromantic III or whatever they'll call it will surely be fun too.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2021


12378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Absolutely, Evo! Really interesting in seeing how/if these guys develop their sound.



Cool story, prnzo! Sometimes The World Ain't Enough is actually the album that made me notice The Night Flight Orchestra and my favorite tracks were "Paralyzed" and "Pretty Thing Closing In", which is probably the reason I enjoy the two Aeromantics so much.

Beardog
December 14th 2021


4163 Comments


hypa hypa??



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy