Old Tower
The Old King of Witches


0.5

Review

by Grump CONTRIBUTOR (48 Reviews)
December 5th, 2021 | 21 replies


Release Date: 10/31/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Uneventful utter failure.

It shouldn’t be a problem to see an artist’s style change and evolve in time. Although, if it happens at the expense of quality, that should raise questions, at least. The artist known as ‘The Specter’ earned notable attention and respect from the dungeoneers’ community for the creation of The Rise of the Specter, which is considered as a modern classic for conjuring of a truly grim and mystical atmosphere with ease. However, in recent years a massive downfall can be observed in the quality of Old Tower’s releases, and in The Old King of Witches this trend reached a critical point.

“Shaving down to the bone and trimming the fat of the carcass to incant without rest and without resolution, oId tower resurrects the dying breed of dark ambient with '90s deep electronics to conceive of a new form of DARK MUSIC.” - says the description of The Old King of Witches on Bandcamp, and this sentence alone perfectly illustrates the problems with this release. First of all: the dark ambient genre never really died, and nothing supports the need of any effort to resurrect it, since it’s still active and didn’t change drastically in time. Secondly: it’s really shocking to see the amateurish feel of this album, where nothing really happens which could be seen not just as revolutionary, but as any good. The album offers a horribly dry experience, lacks flow and interesting moments, the only notable thing is the decent use of textures, but that without coherence or concept worths technically nothing. The Old King of Witches is probably the most disappointing album in the whole year, and nothing justifies the existence of this nonsense other than The Specter’s self-esteem. Avoid this at all costs.



Recent reviews by this author
Aequorea DimKrampusnacht Krampusferatu
Various Artists Back in Black (Redux)Archgoat Worship the Eternal Darkness
Conan Live at Freak ValleyMonolord Your Time to Shine
user ratings (2)
1.9
poor


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2021


6958 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5 | Sound Off

No links this time.

Archelirion
December 5th 2021


6464 Comments


But how will I find this album? You expect me to search for it?!?!?!
Sounds spectacularly redundant. I get the impression there ain't much to write about here, though the 0.5 is a frustration vote. Still, will likely not czech.

TheMonster
December 5th 2021


161 Comments


Wordy. Suggested edit for para. 1:

"Artists evolve. But evolution may compromise quality. While the artist known as "The Specter" earned attention from the dungeoneers’ community for his third record, "The Rise of the Specter," released in 2017, his recent output marks a steep downfall. With "The Old King of Witches", he's hit the bottom - or so I can hope."

naughtcturnal
December 5th 2021


2056 Comments


Oof

Lopan
December 6th 2021


34 Comments


Terrible review. Not sure what you thought you were reviewing but this is a good dark ambient album from one of the "big names" of this genre. I'm not a fan but by no means this is a 0.5, it is what it is and it is good for the genre.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


16250 Comments


A difference of opinion doesn't equate to a terrible review. You're more than welcome to write your own and articulate why "this is a good dark ambient album from one of the "big names" of this genre" and why "it is good for the genre" -- fan or no.

Frankly I think this site benefits from [a few] 'gloves off' ratings/reviews - especially considering we're not exactly solicited in reviewing certain albums. The big mags/publications can keep guilt 5-ing everything that lands in their inboxes and Sput will keep on keeping on.

Digging: Krallice - Crystalline Exhaustion

garas
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2021


6958 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5 | Sound Off

> I get the impression there ain't much to write about here, though the 0.5 is a frustration vote.

True and true.



> Terrible review. Not sure what you thought ... "big names" of this genre

So? [2] what Gnocchi said. It's a terrible output by dark ambient standards...

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


11806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Good to see you still reviewing this stuff garas. Might check this out of morbid curiosity more than anything.



Edit: oh no I like it

garas
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2021


6958 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5 | Sound Off

And I'm glad to see you lurking here Scuro!

> Edit: oh no I like it

https://i.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/original/000/026/638/cat.jpg

Ebola
December 6th 2021


4251 Comments


Review isn't nearly long or detailed enough to justify the score.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


16250 Comments


Woah a Ryan sighting just before Christmas

naughtcturnal
December 7th 2021


2056 Comments


mental pos

Bedex
December 8th 2021


2822 Comments


i thought this was Old Sorcery and was surprised they could put out something really this bad, but now that I clicked it's not them this makes more sense

Brabiz
December 9th 2021


1651 Comments


AOTY

Digging: Anubi - Kai pilnaties akis uzmerks Mirtis

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2021


11806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

> Woah a Ryan sighting just before Christmas



Hello Noct, long time no see (:



Also garas I must apologise, not for liking this (because you’re wrong) but for accidentally yeeting your comment responding to Ebola. Sorry!

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2021


16250 Comments


Those buttons are all rather close together.

Pikazilla
December 9th 2021


20745 Comments


oops reported nocte by accident

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2021


16250 Comments


Jom will love that.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2021


10286 Comments


woah garas you were pissed

garas
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2021


6958 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5 | Sound Off

> because you’re wrong

Totally possible. However my disappointment is still unmeasurable. (And no probs, haha!)



> i thought this was Old Sorcery

Oh no, Old Sorcery is wonderful as always!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy