Noise Trail Immersion
Curia


3.4
great

Review

by Robert Garland STAFF
December 5th, 2021 | 73 replies


Release Date: 11/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Curia this.

Bells toll and we listen. Whether it’s the early call to church on a weekend or the slow march that leads a man to the gallows; the noise and pomp of a chime is a captivating juxtaposition to what we would naturally detest. In many ways the more extreme climes of metal music have the same appeal and Curia’s stoic, yet gentle beginnings have similar effect to the bells that call us to action. If I can stretch these vague analogies further, Noise Trail Immersion’s first ‘ringing of the bells’ came in the form of their sophomore album, Symbology Of Shelter, which transformed an amalgamation of core, post, black, math metal leanings and some manner of avant garde tomfoolery. This collection of influences really dissected the planes between each element and reformed into a molten, motley collection of enjoyably ferocious riff driven music. In summary: Symbology of Shelter is something else, in a scene crying out for it.

Even as we move forwards to more current times, it would be fair to say that Curia had some hype to live up to. While I admit some expectations may have skewed my perceptions towards new music this late in the year, Noise Trail Immersion’s third studio effort offers growth, introspective and mature—especially in regards to the act’s overall atmospheres. But this begs the question: how does a band credited to being the unholy lovechild of Blut Aus Nord, Deathspell Omega and something...core develop past their own tendency to avant garde? Curia is comparatively more contemplative as the band’s more storied black metal climes are transformed into less caustic atmospheric approaches. The toll of a bell signals a new era for Noise Trail Immersion; harsh melody wraps acoustic pandering—”Riesistere I” spends its time seeking out a trail of discordant notes and just like Hansel and Gretel, listeners follow the crumb trail to where it leads. “Demiurgo del non ritorno” by contrast is the familiar furor of old, filled to the brim with the molten elasticity that once drove the likes of Symbology of Shelter. A wash of jarring chord progressions parade over some seriously impressive drum chops and the blasts and cymbal work seamlessly meld into vocalist Fabio Rapetti’s use of shrieks, growls, snarls and all manner of caustic throat noises.

Even as “Dimorare nella carne” continues in feel of the track that came before it; it’s as much a counterpart to the jagged dichotomy and frenzied aesthetic Noise Trail Immersion are known for and yet there’s a restrained, almost pin-point accuracy to the warbling dissonant notes that bleed out of the meticulous chord progressions. Thankfully, Curia is self aware enough (or rather the musicians behind the project) to provide ample breathing room for the listener who needs a self-aware break from the chaos and outward displays of dissonance. Like its counterpart (and album opener), “Riesistere II” provides lush, spaced out acoustic moods (largely of melancholy and tension) to spread out the anti-harmony and distinct abrasion found within the track’s more “traditional” settings. This allows for deeper cuts like “Eclissi unanime” and the title track to take a more poignant, if not similar approach to that found in the record’s earlier sections. The core values remain the same, if not manipulated by the band’s leanings towards atmosphere and introspection.

Some changing features become glaringly obvious; like those acoustically led breaks between ‘heaviness’, while other elements may take repeated visits before they make themselves self-aware. With this in mind I feel as though Curia is as much for the band behind the project as it is for the fans. Self-reflection, growth and maturity all bleed from Noise Trail Immersion’s new music, but it’s less the outward display of change than it is a slow epiphany from within. Noise Trail Immersion may be on the cusp of something. The music is still amazing, but even as this Italian blackened-whatever-the-fuck-mathcore act works out the finer details, Curia still feels like it’s not [quite] all there. We can see what’s coming and it’s beautiful. Thankfully, Noise Trail Immersion have both the potential and years to reach the heights (or depths) to which they aim.




Recent reviews by this author
Slytherin Tales of Hogsmeade VillagePensees Nocturnes Douce Fange
Mizmor Wit's EndOAR The Blood You Crave
Hadal Maw Oblique OrderPhrenelith Chimaera
user ratings (36)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

You can listen to their Bandcamp here: https://i-voidhangerrecords.bandcamp.com/album/curia



The year is almost over folks. Probably not too many more reviews coming out of this pot for the rest of the year.

Digging: Krallice - Crystalline Exhaustion

Pikazilla
December 5th 2021


20745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How was the year for you, nocte?

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Thick amd buttery, but not without a little salt.

Pon
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2021


5404 Comments


Symbology was pretty gnarly. Will czech dis.

Sniff
December 5th 2021


7266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This needs more chaos

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

It is considerably dialled back

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2021


12982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3.4 from this review seems oddly low? Not sure if I get the sense that the argument is there for it not being too too good outside of it potentially not being mature enough.



I think this is the album they were bound to make. After Symbology, they wanted to try something that departed from their core sound in a more atmospheric manner. I like the different feel this provides.

trilo
December 6th 2021


4447 Comments


still need to jam this. Symbology was a mega slapper

Digging: Aequorea - Dim

botb
December 6th 2021


15069 Comments


This did not stick with me nearly as much as symbology

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2021


12982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I reckon it isn't as good as Symbology, but it definitely requires further listening. They went nearly full blackened post-metal on this one.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

--3.4 from this review seems oddly low? Not sure if I get the sense that the argument is there for it not being too too good outside of it potentially not being mature enough.--



A bit late to the response times here, but I had Symbology... a 4 rating while contrib (probably a 3.8 in the old decimal) and while I do like this, I don't think it's quite as whole as the sophomore. As far as ratings go I like this .4 less than Symbology of Shelter and don't think they've quite realized their potential channeling this 'matured' style. I guess the tl;dr here is "I like where they're going/they're not there just yet".

Pikazilla
December 6th 2021


20745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This def isn't good as their other two

Demon of the Fall
December 6th 2021


22647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was hyped for this after Symbology, absolute cracker of an album and maybe marginally under-appreciated.



I haven't actually heard this yet because it wasn't easily accessible to me. I'll read the review, hopefully this is better than the score suggests.

Digging: Aurora - The Gods We Can Touch

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I must be a part of the minority who doesn't believe 3-plus scores are negative albums. I mean 3 = good right?

Demon of the Fall
December 6th 2021


22647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well that's why I read the review, to double-check. 3.4 isn't and shouldn't be viewed as negative, but for a review on Sputnik? Probably. I mean a Dewi or Sow 4.0 review is negative in my eyes, they love EVERYTHING!



...but yes, you said some nice things. Good review. Thanks.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

A Dewi 4/5 is an aoty candidate. A Sowing 4/5 means it's ranked somewhere in his top 150-300 records of the year.



Maybe?

Pikazilla
December 6th 2021


20745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A nocte 3.4 could mean anything

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

--A nocte 3.4 could mean anything--



Yeah. Fuck that guy.

Demon of the Fall
December 6th 2021


22647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

'A Dewi 4/5 is an aoty candidate.' - really? He gives them out like wildfire, well okay maybe I only see the good scores or something, 3.8 then? Regardless he's generous and admits as much himself.



Unfortunately I had forgotten to log your scoring tendencies, but will now update my spreadsheet to avoid future confusion.



These are merely observations, not criticisms.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

--Regardless he's generous and admits as much himself.--



Agreed. Dewi is an all-around good fellow.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy