Cynic
Ascension Codes


4.0
excellent

Review

by Abb USER (1 Reviews)
November 28th, 2021 | 37 replies


Release Date: 11/26/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The architects are building my mind? Epoodoo Sinaroo! Won't you bless mine too?

Cynics’ album Traced In Air surprised fans everywhere with its alien and original sound combining both impressive riffage with soft robotic vocal passages. Cynic have always been an atmospheric and spiritual band, providing more than just noodling, their albums had atmosphere. If Traced In Air was to epitomize cold and the spirit of ice – then Ascension Codes is to epitomize the element of wind. Starting out boldly with over 7 minutes of instrumental, Ascension Code spares no time in setting the mood with groovy bass and bombastic guitars that weave together to form an impressive collaboration that feels wondrous and exploratory.

Vocals are very sparse on this album but when they do appear they are used effectively more so to compliment the instrumentation over anything else. Mystical Serpents is the first of the songs to truly feature vocals and the harmony is absolutely gorgeous. What little there are in terms of vocals does go on to explain the meaning behind the album, while Cynic have always been a spiritual band, this is their most spiritual yet. The story of this album features the progressive story of a single spirit uniting with some sort of deities to experience the wondrous miracle that is life. Moreso than mere vocals, the instrumental does the talking letting the listener experience what the spirit is feeling, in the utter awe of it all.

From beginning to end this album is more atmospheric and ethereal than Cynic's past work. Although there is no direct death metal on this album it is hard to deny the history of this band and its importance on the death metal scene, as the sound is still there and influence is still very apparent in the riffs. Each song has repetitive sections allowing them to sink in giving a progressive feel. Tiny interludes throughout the album help to hold it together and make it feel as if one big cohesive piece.

The bass on this album is excellent, it stays low to the ground and sets a framework that the guitars are free to explore and weave throughout, the whole package together leads to a very curious album that leads you to beg for more. Ascension Codes triumphs because it takes the listener on a journey one that is equally perplexing to itself as it is to its listener.


user ratings (231)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Xenophanes EMERITUS (3.5)
For the first time, Cynic sounds human....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Funeralopolis
November 28th 2021


14586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review. Album is so good, been listening to it non stop.

botb
November 28th 2021


15069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This feels like a retreading of traced in air a lot to me but it’s so good that I don’t care

Sabrutin
November 28th 2021


8196 Comments


It's like new age Cynic and I'm actually loving it

Source
November 28th 2021


19373 Comments


not feelin it

Willie
Moderator
November 28th 2021


19039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I'm glad they brought back some of the energy that was totally lacking on the last album. This feels way more complete.

Digging: Underoath - Voyeurist

Casavir
November 28th 2021


4805 Comments


Still haven't gotten to this.

ChaoticVortex
November 28th 2021


1259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, the album is damn fine. A serious grower and much better than their last one. Feels like a funeral sermon for Reinert and Malone but in the Cynic way: Etheral atmosphere, fine progmetal riffs, great production even the intros flow well into the larger songs. Good stuff, hope Masvidal stays with us for a long time.

CottonSalad
November 28th 2021


1504 Comments


album lacks detail, but the scope is a special experience

rockarollacola
November 28th 2021


1243 Comments


These guys aren't my cup of tea, but their artwork is always amazing to look at.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Great album. I wish it was released a bit sooner in the year so people could really take the time to absorb it. The interlude tracks really help with the pacing.

Digging: Krallice - Crystalline Exhaustion

Funeralopolis
November 28th 2021


14586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I theorize the ridiculous amount of short interludes was made so they get more plays on Spotify

arf
November 28th 2021


148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's it when I'm recording an album every song section will be its own track

Digging: Pensees Nocturnes - Douce Fange

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2021


26865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Good review! The album is Traced in Air enhanced version and I am more than cool with that.

Digging: Tomb of Annihilation - End of Time

alamo
November 29th 2021


4516 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

quick grower

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2021


46089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

great album, absolutely atrocious mix. hopefully they remix it in 12 years or so lmao

Digging: Broken Social Scene - Old Dead Young (B-Sides & Rarities)

Tw1ster
November 29th 2021


206 Comments


Liking this so far. Aurora is awesome

WatchItExplode
November 29th 2021


9493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm about to bump this already... I like it more than traced as a complete album although there are many parallels

DavidYowi
November 29th 2021


2118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bouncing back between 4 and 4.5. Gonna be honest I was gonna like regardless of what it is, it just had to exist. I don't get the production complaints, it's fine

Digging: Skee Mask - Pool

beefshoes
November 29th 2021


8250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Traced in Air will always be my favorite of theirs, but this is definitely on the same level when it comes to craftmanship. The new members shook things up for the better, the musicianship is immaculate, and it's packed with emotion given everything that occured in the last year. The production sounds great, and I absolutely love the synths.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2021


46089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

I am curious where y'all getting this album and then cos I bought on bandcamp and listened on good headphones and it sounds amateurish as hell. legit burst out laughing when that synth came in at the end of Elements, thought it was a joke



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy