Gelure
The Candlelight Tomes


3.8
excellent

Review

by manosg STAFF
November 27th, 2021 | 18 replies


Release Date: 10/02/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the strongest neoclassical dungeon synth releases of the year.

Among my favorite activities as a teenager, was treasure hunting at the record store; i.e. taking the bus, visiting various record stores, staying there for a significant amount of time, and, eventually, buying an album because of its cover. Nowadays, this has been replaced by browsing on YouTube, which, admittedly, is much cheaper and more convenient, but far less exciting. Nevertheless, said activity can lead to finding some booty every now and then, and, all things considered, The Candlelight Tomes fits the bill. In fact, if dungeon synth releases were actual records stored in a huge library, Gelure's sophomore effort would be one of those findings that contained at least some amount of magic.

Right from the bat, the album reveals its most important merit, which is putting you in a contemplative mood. I can't say if it's a matter of frequency, but The Candlelight Tomes has the same effect as those meditation videos, which makes it a perfect companion for reading or relaxing. Additionally, it would make a perfect soundtrack for a medieval RPG, as it easily transports the listener to another dimension; every track feels like visiting a different place. The mood is constantly melancholic and somber, but it never becomes gloomy or too dark. Some may feel that some variation is needed, but part of the charm on here is its consistent atmosphere.

Overall, The Candlelight Tomes is easily one of the strongest neoclassical dungeon synth releases of the year; a rare case where the album art matches the quality of the music, and a majestic offering that can make your mind wander.




Recent reviews by this author
Stone Axe Stay of ExecutionSakis Tolis Among the Fires of Hell
Saxon Carpe Diem1914 Where Fear and Weapons Meet
Heavy Feather Mountain of SugarThe Night Flight Orchestra Aeromantic II
user ratings (13)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2021


12501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Wanted to bring this one to your attention. If you're into dungeon synth even remotely, you don't want to miss this album.

Digging: Thelonious Monk - At The Blackhawk

arf
November 27th 2021


376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh hey I'm not the only one who listened to this

Digging: Gnome (BEL) - King

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2021


17113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Props for throwing the word “booty” into your review. It’s a small thing but it’s made my morning brighter.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2021


12501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Now that I know that, I'll make sure to use it in more reviews lol.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2021


17113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Summaries please : ]

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2021


12501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Challenge accepted!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2021


28015 Comments


garas, merry christmas

Digging: Besvarjelsen - Atlas

garas
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2021


7178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

My curiosity: peaked.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2021


11432 Comments


dungeon synth + booty mention = happy me

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2021


12501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

lol, I'll make sure to include booty more often in my reviews.



Hope you check and enjoy, garas.

Pikazilla
November 29th 2021


22992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad this was finally added to the database. My favourite dungeon synth this year.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2021


12501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Definitely up there for me as well.

garas
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2021


7178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This was a fine album, I liked the first song the most - it has a kinda Hammock-ish vibe, but that could be just me.



> My favourite dungeon synth this year.

Mine is Oublieth's À l'Ombre du Royaume en Cendres. That album is truly magical! (I have the tape too!)

EvoHavok
November 30th 2021


7972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet read, manos. YouTube was already the main source for music in my teens, but at least I remember how my middle school years basically aligned with the platform's infancy years and quick growth to success.

Digging: Evergrey - A Heartless Portrait (The Orphan Testament)

Pikazilla
November 30th 2021


22992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Mine is Oublieth's À l'Ombre du Royaume en Cendres. That album is truly magical! (I have the tape too!)"



Will check!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 3rd 2021


12501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Appreciate it Evo and glad you enjoyed the album!

Onyx
December 5th 2021


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this was an unexpectedly pleasant discovery

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2021


12501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Glad you enjoyed it, man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy