Delta Sleep
Spring Island


4.0
excellent

Review

by LunaticSoul USER (5 Reviews)
November 24th, 2021 | 16 replies


Release Date: 09/10/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I have been dreaming, about leaving. . .

Wrote on a late British summer, yet referencing spring in its title; planned to be released at the beginning of autumn, yet actually coming out on the brink of winter (I know my southern hemisphere readers won’t relate with this, but alas) - there is something that feels off when listening to Spring Island, and it is not just due to its seasonality quirks. Far from the dystopian-yet-airy concept of 2018’s Ghost City, the third effort of the British quartet holds a thematical fil rouge that feels dissonant with the emotions we usually attach to the awakening themes of spring; the sensations we feel while reflecting, pondering on what is next while being aware of the stasis the world currently seems to rest at.

The disc exudes the malaise of inaction, yet not in an unwelcomed way. It allegorically achieves this in the way it sounds, a more cohesive continuation of the fantastically delicate yet powerful emo/math-rock the band has been known for in their previous efforts. Old fans might not find anything new sonically in Spring Island, but it might not matter when the disc is chock-full of high-quality melodies, with the band excelling in what they do best: pumping up creative riffing over crafty odd beats, smart lyricism and emotional crescendos that bring to a satisfying payoff. Each track provides a different viewpoint to a very coherent aesthetic in tune with the themes touched on the LP, resulting however in a less varied result compared to its predecessor. Truth be told - if you like one of these songs, there is a high chance you will like most if not all of them. And vice versa.

This perception of motionlessness is also thoroughly addressed in the lyrics; “The world is overheating – sat on the floor repeating – I don´t do well – knowing the days are a number; all of the time in the world – still I can´t make it” sings Devin Yüceil in arguably his best performance as lyricist and vocalist. “Dreaming about leaving this house, calculating how the world has overspun” – yet it is just what it is. It depicts simply what living in 2021 feels like, in a world that is opened yet closed, wrapped in present uncertainty and future bleakness, still with a melancholic outlook at enjoying what we however presently hold in our hands.

That is why, maybe, the disc is after-all aptly titled, and time-placed: echoes nostalgy-tinged golden autumn tapestries, yet aims for that long-gone spring and for the consequential simplicity of summers to come, of those simple things to be found in a world of ever-increasing complexity.


user ratings (37)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
LunaticSoul
November 24th 2021


1976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really did not want to work today, and I kinda love this disc. 3.8 if I were not a lousy user, Ghost City still best. but yeah, jamming Hotel 24 for the 24th time in 24 hours lol.



Any correction welcome, my friends were lazy and I did not have some proofreading, and gotta bounce for a couple hours.

Prancer
November 24th 2021


1317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has some fun tunes but their weakest effort unfortunately. Nice review. Pos.

LunaticSoul
November 24th 2021


1976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers. Corrected some pieces after some feedback from my proofreaders eheh.



I think the cohesivity of the tracks was made on purpose and it is pretty much my thesis. It might not be their most varied effort, but I can´t take it off my ears right now ;)

Sabrutin
November 24th 2021


8092 Comments


Pos'd, didn't realize this was already out. Don't remember much about Ghost City (think my favs were Sultans of Ping and Single File? And I think El Pastor had groovy ghost notes or something) other than I liked it enough to be subtly hyped for a follow-up.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 25th 2021


3045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very nice review. Album is quite pleasant but didn't blow me away

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2021


1638 Comments


Great review. Forgot album came out, must check

lechium3
November 25th 2021


101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I just wish it was more mathy and technical. Seems like they’re just heading more towards indie emo

Sabrutin
November 25th 2021


8092 Comments


Who negged, smh

LunaticSoul
November 25th 2021


1976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

snitches get stitches

bloc
November 25th 2021


67076 Comments


Couples songs in and I'm thinking this is just a Minus The Bear clone or what

Digging: PinkPantheress - To Hell With It

lechium3
November 25th 2021


101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I don’t see the minus the bear relation

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
November 25th 2021


8552 Comments


NEW DELTA SLEEP WTF WHY DIDNT ANYONE TELL ME

Digging: Yosvany Terry - Today's Opinion

LunaticSoul
November 26th 2021


1976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No bears, only good delta waves



Yeah surprised this has been slept on by everyone considering how talked Ghost City was lol. I feel like this is their post-Animals TTNG disc as in everyone loved Animals, but nobody listened to the follow-up (and the follow-up was still good, but not Animals)

xlev
November 26th 2021


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

best minus the bear album since Planet of Ice

Digging: Cynic - Ascension Codes

bloc
November 26th 2021


67076 Comments


I actually liked Omni and Infinity Overhead

LunaticSoul
November 27th 2021


1976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really think the only thing they might have in common with Minus the Bear is similar gusto on the choruses I think, but they come from similar roots, but have very different playing styles. I also don't know Minus the Bear very well however aside from some bits and pieces from their discog and Planet of Ice I am just relistening now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy