Between You and Me
Armageddon


3.5
great

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (94 Reviews)
November 22nd, 2021 | 29 replies


Release Date: 11/19/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: hooks for days, promotion for shit

There’s a small chance you’re a pop punk fan. There’s an even smaller chance your preferred flavour of pop punk is mid-2010s State Champs/Neck Deep/Knuckle Puck-core. There’s an even smallerer chance you [are either/both of these things and] know about the existence of Armageddon. And that’s a shame.

The brand new album by Between You & Me is a concise collection of razor-sharp hooks and big choruses, culminating in one of the most unapologetically fun pop punk projects of the year. It’s not exactly reinventing the wheel or bound to blow listeners’ minds with its intricate lyricism, but the brevity of each track affords little time to worry about such issues. Cruising from memorable moment to memorable moment, Armageddon thrives off its sheer likeability; ‘Deadbeat’ and ‘Pleased to Meet You’ burst with energy while ‘Real World’ adds some quirky touches without losing sight of the record’s carefree, summery vibes. While single ‘Butterflies’ ups the cheese factor to the max, it winds up being an alluring highlight due to its incredibly infectious chorus. Throughout the album, the Aussies appear to be teaching a masterclass in indulging in genre tropes without evoking a bland or pandering feeling; somehow, even the mildly unnecessary ‘woah-oah’s in ‘Change’ actually add a pleasantly warm touch to the song.

Yet, not everyone likes this exact type of fun, and that’s okay. Well, you know, unless you’re the band’s record label: unsurprisingly, Hopeless has done a piss poor job of promoting Armageddon. It’s a shame, because, as back-handed of a compliment as it may be, Between You & Me have crafted a mostly enjoyable record in a mostly unenjoyable genre of music, and that’s something to be celebrated. Give it a spin, bask in its many catchy numbers, get some pizza with extra cheese, you get the idea. Just don’t be like Hopeless.



Recent reviews by this author
Blankenberge EverythingWebbed Wing What's So Fucking Funny?
Manchester Orchestra Christmas Songs Vol. 1Emily Scott Robinson American Siren
Slow Crush HushKnocked Loose A Tear in the Fabric of Life
user ratings (12)
3.1
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2021


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just some fun pop punk yeehaw

https://byam.bandcamp.com/

SlothcoreSam
November 22nd 2021


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I tried Jesper, and it wasn't for me.

Digging: Anthrax (UK) - Serfs Out

Odal
November 22nd 2021


652 Comments


misread this as Between the Buried and Me and was confused for a minute lol

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2021


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha no worries slothy! not expecting many ppl here to enjoy this tbh

(although this sure do be better than btbam lmao)

iChuckles
November 22nd 2021


396 Comments


Album is incredibly solid. Swell review.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2021


15681 Comments


Did not know this was coming. Summary doesn’t lie so far

Digging: Obscura - A Valediction

Pho3nix
November 22nd 2021


1201 Comments


"misread this as Between the Buried and Me and was confused for a minute lol"

Same xD

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gonna have to check this out for sure, solid read!

Digging: Silent Planet - Iridescent

Dedes
November 23rd 2021


8028 Comments


"misread this as Between the Buried and Me and was confused for a minute lol"
Brother that makes three of us thus far
Ngl this sounds like something I'd be really into? I'll add it to the list for sure

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


12395 Comments


^ and now four of us so far, lol

outliers
November 23rd 2021


2989 Comments


five

Drifter
November 23rd 2021


18305 Comments


lmao six

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

guess I’ll say seven

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


9536 Comments


CAN I GET AN EIGHT

ain't my school of pop punk so dunno if I'll try this one

Digging: Angele - Nonante-Cinq

SpiritCrusher2
November 23rd 2021


6292 Comments


nine lol

JayEnder
November 23rd 2021


11805 Comments


[10]

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ffs lmao

ty i was thinking of rec'ing you this one so i reckon you'll vibe w it!

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


15681 Comments


Jesper I think you broke the usuals users of sput.

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mark my words, six years from now when the review for btbam's colours XI hits the front page everyone will be like 'haha misread this as the much better band 'between you and me''

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2021


12395 Comments


"ffs lmao"

Hey, if the Booba thread has taught me anything, it's that these comments only bring more publicity to the review no matter how ridiculous they are. Godspeed, br0ther :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy