Volumes
Happier?


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (60 Reviews)
November 19th, 2021 | 256 replies


Release Date: 11/19/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: They're back and I couldn't be Happier?

After the mass acclaim from fans of Via, Volumes have been trying to reach that same level of power as their debut. After the departure of Michael Barr, the band continued with Gus Farias and the addition of Myke Terry, but it just wasn’t the same. After 5 years, Michael Barr returned, replacing Farias, and bringing a refined sound to Volumes yet again. In a way, Happier? is a return to form for the group, and one that excels above the rest.

Throughout the record, Volumes effortlessly mixes their relentless djent style with a new sense of melodic approachability. From the intro of “FBX,” the band’s signature heavy sound paves the way for their return to form. With “Malevolent” and “Man on Fire,” Happier? hits with intense aggression, producing bouncy riffs and grooves. On the other hand, “Bend” and “Lets Me Down” prioritize the melodic aspect, crafting catchy choruses and memorable melodies. Myke Terry and Michael Barr soar over the instrumentation, creating a beautiful duet of melodies throughout the mellower moments of the record. The two styles are also married throughout Happier?, creating a fantastic juxtaposition of melody and aggression within the tracks. “Weighted” and “Get Enough” seamlessly combine the clean sections with the heavier instrumentation and provide listeners with a great blend of style.

With the closer, Volumes really shows off their return to form in grand fashion. “Happier?” was initially a ditched track from the classic ‘Via,’ and the composition truly proves that. Mixing melodic guitar riffing with catchy drum grooves with a great blend of screaming and singing, the title track brings together all the strengths of each member and molds it into one cohesive form. The combination of Terry and Barr with the supreme integration of lead guitar work, catchy grooves, and memorable songwriting amplifies the whole of Happier? to a grander level. Yes, the rest of the record is fantastic, but the closer really showcases the band’s original style and displays the immense proficiency of the group’s talent.

With Happier?, Volumes returns to their original form with just as much power and emotion as before. With Barr’s return and chemistry with Terry, their most recent effort brings back the beauty of the dual-threat vocals mixed with the intriguing progressive metalcore style of their older style. Volumes is back, and we couldn’t be Happier.



Recent reviews by this author
Silent Planet IridescentEvery Time I Die Radical
Sentinels (US) Collapse by DesignStarset HORIZONS
Invent Animate The Sun Sleeps, As If It Never WasEarth Groans The Body
user ratings (78)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bit of a short review, but wanted to get some discussion going for this thing

absolutely digging this record and it's growing on me... that closer is absolutely phenomenal

Digging: Silent Planet - Iridescent

twlight
November 19th 2021


5718 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh sweet this out! really dug the singles

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell!

onionbubs
November 19th 2021


14444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yea bro dope review. glad to finally get a thread going for this righteous return



been jamming this so much cannot get enough (aha) of it. agreed w everyone that the title track is the high point here and a goddamn spectacular closer. was super hyped for it the minute they announced it was a via outtake and it did not disappoint

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

JayEnder
November 19th 2021


11805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review ty :]



Title track is so good it actually got me to tear up a lil bit when I first heard it. Nothing here even comes close to how special that song is, but its still an incredible album regardless. Shits all over Different Animals and that forgettable EP.

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

onionbubs
November 19th 2021


14444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im just so glad i got to experience a new song that takes me back to that via sound. vias an all time fav album of mine so it really is such a gift that they included it

JayEnder
November 19th 2021


11805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude same here. As soon as I heard it was a Via rework I knew it was gonna rule. Didn't think it would actually be Edge of the Earth levels of good though haha.

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that melodic guitar work in it is just tooooooo good

SteakByrnes
November 19th 2021


25473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hey I wonder what that last line in the review is from ;]



Good review brother, love this album lol it's a much needed return to form

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

onionbubs
November 19th 2021


14444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@jay i wouldnt say its quite edge of the earth levels of good but veeerrrrry few things are. hell the only song id take of theirs over it is the via title track. its still phenomenal in its own right tho and one of my favorite songs of the year

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

couldn't be you Steak

JayEnder
November 19th 2021


11805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Blatant plagiarism smh... not a good look ty. Steak is calling his lawyers as we speak.



True onion honestly Edge of the Earth and Intake are peak Volumes

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*sigh*... it was gonna happen eventually

twlight
November 19th 2021


5718 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

getting some serious Koloss vibes on Malevolent

iChuckles
November 19th 2021


396 Comments


Excited to hear this! Singles have been really solid.

Purpl3Spartan
November 19th 2021


1886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome review ty like always

Digging: Satyr - Locus

JayEnder
November 19th 2021


11805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bend is so catchy it hurts

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2021


2741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

appreciate it purple!

SteakByrnes
November 19th 2021


25473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

t/t is such a gift for old fans

bigweinerdon
November 19th 2021


1825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still can't get over how hard Malevolent rips. So many good songs on this

JayEnder
November 19th 2021


11805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[2] Void is the only stinker.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy