Blankenberge
Everything


4.5
superb

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (101 Reviews)
November 18th, 2021 | 28 replies


Release Date: 11/14/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: f l o a t i l y

Few things are more satisfying than a previously ‘decent’ band realising its full potential and finding a spot within the ‘very good’ category. In Blankenberge’s case, it didn’t take long for the Russian shoegazers to get there: the previously released Radiogaze and More were pleasant, if somewhat forgettable records. Now, Everything ups the post-factor and solidifies the band as one of the most floatily exciting projects of recent years.

True to its gorgeous album art, Everything feels entirely organic, gently pushing songs into full bloom while using indistinctly familiar elements. Throughout the record, Blankenberge lean heavily into their post rock tendencies, instantly noticeable on the magnificent ‘Time to Live’. The song opens the album on a full minute of Yana Guselnikova’s ethereal croons before erupting into several layers of distortion as the vocalist reprises her wistful melodies to fit the novel density. Similarly, ‘Forget’ departs from a few twinkles, quickly expanding into a bright tunnel of calm grace. All throughout, drums are buried in the mix, tastefully adding hints of structure to each ever-unfolding sparkle.

With most of Everything residing in delightful abstraction, the odd moments of contrasting clarity comprise a nice set of highlights. ‘So High’ occasionally clears its haze for stretches of echoing peace, allowing Guselnikova’s soothing words to assume a position in the rather dim spotlight. The record’s optimism appears to be rooted in nihilism, finding a unique sense of hope in the absence of possibilities. ‘No Sense’ ponders its way through the pointlessness of life (“If you still want to / Live this life / Don’t think too much / It doesn’t work”) while ‘Summer Morning’ summarises the beauty of summer in adorably clumsy fashion: “Summer morning / Don’t go away / You make me feel right / You heal my soul”. Drawn out over several minutes, each thought feels simultaneously weightless and essential to the serenity of the record.

As such, Everything is a wonderful piece of escapism. It’s an effective antidote to all antonyms of ‘pristine’ and ‘charming’, and most importantly, Blankenberge’s most complete album to date. The journey it takes you on is a reflection in and of itself, persistently expanding and embracing highly ephemeral textures to accomplish its excellence. ‘Fragile’ forms the perfect conclusion, ending the record on a three-minute psychedelic ringing, seemingly distilling everything that comprises Everything into its final form: a soft, delicate hum.



Recent reviews by this author
Underoath VoyeuristChastity Suffer Summer
Twin Atlantic TransparencyRuby Haunt Tiebreaker
Cold Collective WeathervaneOf Mice and Men Echo
user ratings (30)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2021


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

been a bit tired and sad but thanks to this record i am now tired and less sad

try it urself: https://blankenberge.bandcamp.com/album/everything

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2021


10249 Comments


thought it would be Belgian beach house given the title but hey gaze shit makes more sense ig! soft and delicate rev boi 🤗

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2021


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thx dadex < 3

also u are obligated to check this bc belgian name

Lender
November 18th 2021


165 Comments


A russian shoegaze band naming their album after a belgian coastal city. I wonder what the reasoning behind it was.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2021


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds legit... will be checking



Nice writeup Jesper!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2021


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thx sunny! should be up your alley i think :]

wondering the same thing lender haha

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2021


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Giving this a first spin, so far I think the more post-rock-ish stuff really excels and the more gazey stuff isn't as impressive (but still nice)

Purpl3Spartan
November 19th 2021


2273 Comments


Trying a new genre out Jesper?

Digging: Geese - Projector

sixdegrees
November 19th 2021


12563 Comments


post rock?

uh oh

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2021


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

better than pre rock

and yes purp! back again to mid 2000s hard rock after this tho

DePlazz
November 19th 2021


3370 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That band name lol. Legit. I wonder how they pronounce it themselves.

Sowing
Moderator
November 19th 2021


40031 Comments


Nice write-up. This reminds me of Astronoid so far.

Bedex
November 19th 2021


2819 Comments


thought it would be Belgian beach house given the title [2]

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2021


3236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm definitely digging this.



Sowing, that Astronoid comparison is a pretty good one that I hadn't thought of. Remove a lot of Astronoid's metal-ish aspects and this is quite comparable.

WatchItExplode
November 19th 2021


9485 Comments


Not bad. Not my usual genre but I love how the drums propel this.

Storm In A Teacup
November 19th 2021


36821 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Checking because summary and first few sentences

Storm In A Teacup
November 19th 2021


36821 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Um this sounds like shoegaze rolo tomassi love it already

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2021


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thx sowing!

rly happy to see ppl enjoying this :]

kevbogz
November 20th 2021


3902 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sry jeppy seems we've been a lil out of synch as of late, tho a solid review as to be expected from u at this point.



seems my gripes are becoming p samesie, but this really doesn't reinvent the wheel (no harm in that) and is a completely harmless, albeit slightly forgettable, release for me

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 20th 2021


3817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha no need to apologise boi, ty < 3

and that's fair yeah, i do tend to overrate most nugaze stuff but it's just so niceee



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy