The Antlers
Losing Light


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sowing STAFF
November 16th, 2021 | 32 replies


Release Date: 11/16/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sunlight through a prism: Green to Gold, Life to Death.

Losing Light is a refracted version of its parent LP, Green to Gold. Each of its four tracks adopts a melody from its 2021 full-length counterpart and twists it, making the ephemeral fifteen minute experience a markedly familiar one - but also with a dimension of drama and mystique. Opener 'Losing Light' takes 'Solstice' and plunges it into a dense haze of swirling feedback, while 'Volunteered' eschews the acoustic guitars and elegant graces of 'Volunteer' for bolder drumming and an ominous, spine-tingling baritone vocal passage. 'G2G' - an obvious play on the title track - is a condensed and more chaotic take on that song, retaining its memorable melody but singing it in a ghostly/operatic manner that vaguely feels like something out of a Charles Dickens classic. 'G2G' also packs some of The Antlers' heaviest (although intentionally faded) drumming in years, which is complemented by a gorgeous blend of shimmering pianos/synths that hearken back to In The Attic of the Universe's 'Shh'. 'Twas' is a reflection of 'It Is What It Is', chanting back that haunting chorus of "The fall should've been prevented / But it is what it was" almost like an encore doubling as an epilogue. It's a song that seems to cleverly toe the line between the current state of global affairs and utilizing autumn to symbolize the slow-demise of all things green and warm...or of life itself.

Losing Light comes to us as a surprise extended play, and while it isn't entirely essential, it presents Green to Gold in a beautiful, if slightly unsettling, alternative light. There's almost a fever dream atmosphere present, as if the gorgeous rays of golden sunlight that we witnessed on the artwork for Green to Gold have faded behind the trees, leaving us with a breathtaking purple/orange sunset, but also rapidly approaching darkness and uncertainty. It functions very well as a Side B, acting as the sunset to Green to Gold's sunrise, as cold to its all-encompassing warmth...doubt to its pristine clarity. It's seasons (Spring to Autumn), colors (green to gold), and life (youth to "golden years", or death) all traveling through a prism. Fans should dive right into Losing Light knowing that they can always count on The Antlers to deliver an on-point theme.



s
Recent reviews by this author
Gregory Alan Isakov This Empty Northern HemisphereSilk Sonic An Evening with Silk Sonic
Taylor Swift Red (Taylor’s Version)Braison Cyrus Javelina
Charles Wesley Godwin How the Mighty FallMarissa Nadler The Path of the Clouds
user ratings (14)
3
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sowing
Moderator
November 16th 2021


39682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't see this being for everyone, but I love the way it takes Green to Gold and warps it into something different but equally beautiful.

Digging: Converge - Bloodmoon: I

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2021


1638 Comments


oooohhh didn't know this was happening, noice
>baritone vocal passage
whhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaa—

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2021


3045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fantastic writeup, Sowing. Gave this a spin earlier, Green To Gold is one of my favorites from this year and this is definitely an interesting spin off some of those songs.

theBoneyKing
November 16th 2021


20972 Comments


Saw this in my Spotify feed, gonna have to give it a go.

Digging: The War On Drugs - I Don't Live Here Anymore

Slex
November 16th 2021


12616 Comments


so excited to listen to this, big props for the lightning fast review!

Digging: Mol - Diorama

Sowing
Moderator
November 16th 2021


39682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Milo, it's either a lower register or very distorted/altered, I'm not exactly sure.

Thanks Sunnyvale. I wrote this up on a whim because it's just an EP. I'm glad you're enjoying the EP as well; I can already imagine some people will be disappointed with this because they're reimaginings, but...they just don't get it, man.

Thanks Slex! Hopefully it wasn't "too fast" that I didn't do the thing justice, but I was pretty excited. It also helps that at 15 minutes, I listened to this thing 3 times before I even got home from work, haha.

TheSpirit
November 16th 2021


28745 Comments


how are you able to write so much don't u ever get writer's block

Digging: Addaura - A) siren city (Z

Sowing
Moderator
November 16th 2021


39682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I probably do, those are just the reviews that suck.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2021


15679 Comments


Saw the art, immediately assumed it was a Sowing review - - not sure why one = the other but hey, here we are.

--how are you able to write so much don't u ever get writer's block--

This, and I know I'm no slouch when it comes to stacking numbers but these last 4-8 weeks have been less than. That's a tough pace to measure to.


Digging: Obscura - A Valediction

Sowing
Moderator
November 16th 2021


39682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, as not to dissuade anyone who wanted to write about this and actually take their time, if ya'll want the flag/feature I'll leave it up for grabs. I certainly don't need any more of my stuff exposed. In fact, I'm thinking about starting a 10 review countdown to 600 of classics and other releases near and dear to my heart. The hard part will be deciding if and when to finally hang it up. I keep trying but I always end up writing again. 666 reviews would be an epic number to go out on, maybe that'll be it and I'll just stick to moderating after that! Either way, I'm apparently a sputniker4life which means that - knowing my inability to shut up on the writing front - I'll probably someday be testing the site's code for a 4-digit review count.

theBoneyKing
November 16th 2021


20972 Comments


Just tried this - what a nice little listen! “Volunteered” and “G2G” are both quite lovely.

Sowing
Moderator
November 16th 2021


39682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Those are my 2 favorites as well!

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2021


15679 Comments


--666 reviews would be an epic number to go out on,--

We've heard a similar story before haven't we? Also you'd want to make sure that review would be super cvlty/metal for the masses et al haha.

--I'll probably someday be testing the site's code for a 4-digit review count.--

Should we start a site pool for how long the servers will be down for? I think an each way for that Fear Inoculum crash would probably cover it.

EoinCofa
November 17th 2021


643 Comments


Wish Peter would have belted out a bit. He really has a great voice; pretty subdued here (though, I’m sure he achieved the vibe he was going for).

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2021


45892 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

nice EP, wish they did every song on the album honestly. Volunteered the easy highlight

Storm In A Teacup
November 17th 2021


36570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

G2G is beautiful in the I wanna cry now kind of way.

Storm In A Teacup
November 17th 2021


36570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review is one of my favorites of the year just by way of enjoying the colorful comparisons between this and the LP.

Sowing
Moderator
November 17th 2021


39682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, means a lot. This is a beautiful EP and Green to Gold has been one of the biggest growers of 2021 for me.

Purpl3Spartan
November 17th 2021


1886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bout to check

Digging: Satyr - Locus

letsgofishing
November 17th 2021


1623 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Honestly, probably the first release by this band I'm not absolutely taken in by, outside of those Burst Apart remixes. There's just not a lot of ideas here beside taking the best melodies and moments from the last record and making them more muddled.



And granted, it's no bad thing to use an EP for quaint experiments like this, I wouldn't call it a misstep, but I don't think anything here actually improves upon Green to Gold.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy