Monument of Misanthropy
Unterweger


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
November 14th, 2021 | 25 replies


Release Date: 11/12/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Exceptionally sadistic

It was a huge week for death metal, so it’s understandable if you missed one of the slickest and most aggressive 40 minutes on the table. Monument of Misanthropy play brutal and apocalyptic theme-driven death metal better than the next guy. They’re over the top as expected, but to just the right level; at least they’re thoughtful enough to slow down for you to take in an occasional thick and crushing riff. Keep in mind the term slow down is relative here: we’re talking 90 miles an hour instead of 120. Much of the guitar shredding will dance past you faster than you can comprehend, but the band are surprisingly good at shifting gears and keeping things unpredictable in a genre that’s known for the complete opposite.

The tracklist of Unterweger is laid out like some sort of epic Hollywood tragedy. A deeper examination uncovers the very real and sinister inspiration for the album: Austrian serial killer, Jack Unterweger. This creep committed murder in nearly a handful of countries, including the United States, and two of the interludes are merely strangulations of some of his unlucky victims. In addition to their tormented cries, several brief spoken word sections also add a level of intrigue to the experience. Unterweger’s story feels designed for a metal album, but it rarely detracts from the album’s pummeling sound.

Monument of Misanthropy have a fresh lineup here – armed with two killer new guitarists and the drummer of Putridity - and they seem completely hellbent on pouring every ounce of energy they have into this sinister tale. Every single performance here will jolt you, from the lead vocalist George Misantrope Wilfinger’s commanding snarl to the hellish, but precise battering of Cédric Malebolgi’s kit. The guitar riffing is also tasteful and intense, with memorable melodies shining through the chugging assault; the swarming intro to “A Man with a Special Qualification” is particularly fire in this regard.

The founding member has struck gold with his menacing new formation, but he also manages to steal the show at times as he flaunts his ridiculous range. On one of the album’s most atmospheric and well-rounded cuts, “The Legacy of a Malignant Narcissist”, you can clearly make out some of his deep growls. Hey, it’s nice to be able to scream along sproradically! Other times he belts out a high-pitched scream that’s impossible to decipher as he mirrors the frantic surge of guitars. “Exceptionally Sadistic” is a fitting example of his less forgiving style, sounding about as intense but technically impressive as something you’d hear from Crytopsy.

Witnessing the rise and fall of the murderous Jack Unterweger through the non-stop but varied assault of Monument of Misanthropy’s approach is a treat. Brutal death metal can be a harder sell than the cavernous oldschool approach, but as the band have proven here without a doubt: it doesn’t have to be.



Recent reviews by this author
Tomb of Annihilation End of TimeRaphael Weinroth-Browne Worlds Within Live
Emily Scott Robinson American SirenMusk Ox Inheritance
Lucy Dacus Home VideoThe Raging Nathans Waste My Heart
user ratings (24)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Atari still on a death metal bender from two years ago it seems. Well done chap.

Digging: Krallice - Crystalline Exhaustion

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


27103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just figured I'd grab this one before you or Notrap beat me to it, haha. I'd say it's party a seasonal bender but also just an insane week for death metal! I'm guessing someone else will be covering the new Hyperdontia album but loving that one as well



hope some others dig this as much as I did! the concept was too cool not to mention imo but it's the musicianship here that's the real selling point

https://monumentofmisanthropydm.bandcamp.com/album/unterweger-brutal-death-metal





Digging: Mos Def - Black on Both Sides

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, between the pair of us we cover at least a share of the metal albums of the year. Add Simon, Dewi and an occasional Jac review to the mix and the coverage becomes pretty healthy. But as the old idiom goes, the more the merrier!



I’m currently orbiting around the new Can Bardd album at the moment. Or deciding whether I want to do something with a bit of nostalgia for my 400th review on the site. No rush either way.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


27103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh wow, happy 400th in advance! I know you’ve written for other sites too so that’s quite the accomplishment. I sometimes think it’s crazy I’ve written over 180 reviews until I remember others have more than double that, lol



Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Loving the coverage of metal albums this year. Going to throw this album on later in the week.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


26865 Comments


I didn't know how much i missed Atari reviewing DM until I read this review.

Digging: Tomb of Annihilation - End of Time

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Necrot/Faceless Burial one-two combo is also quite nice.

normaloctagon
November 15th 2021


8233 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sounds like it could have come out in 2009. next!



props for a review that went down easy and got me to jam though. going to be doing some dm catch-up this week

Digging: MF DOOM - Special Herbs 7,8

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


27103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair enough, haha. cheers for checking it out at least! maybe check the new Hyperdontia for something more cavernous



and thanks for the kind words Dewi and Chef Gnocchi :]

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

--sounds like it could have come out in 2009. next!--



In what context is this a complaint? Genuinely asking, because I have some pretty fond 09 musical memories.

normaloctagon
November 15th 2021


8233 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@atari will do, thank ya!



@gnocchi idk i guess hearing that same late '00s framework on an album in 2021 just gets me un-excited. i'm fairly naive about brutal generally though so i probably shouldnt be talkin too loud here

Laen
November 15th 2021


693 Comments


This hits similar to Aborted in a good way.

combustion07
November 16th 2021


9578 Comments


Great review! Will jam asap!

Digging: Discarnated - Deus Misereatur

TheGoonFiles
November 16th 2021


77 Comments


"apocalyptic theme-driven death metal"

sold

butt.
November 16th 2021


9316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The morbid angel cover almost made me bump this to a 4

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2021


27103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh shit.. Fall from Grace was one of my favorite tracks here but I had no idea it was a Morbid Angel cover, lol.



"This hits similar to Aborted in a good way."



looks like Sven De Calue of Aborted is featured on Miami Vice - Miami Gold so you may be onto something there ;)



also, cheers combustion and GoonFiles! glad this is getting some bites





Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rating in. Get on it lads and ladettes.

evilford
November 17th 2021


54342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is ok

Digging: Pillars of Cacophony - Parerga

evilford
November 17th 2021


54342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice rev tho :-)

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2021


16250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're okay









In my book.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy