Twice
Formula of Love: O+T=<3


3.8
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
November 14th, 2021 | 81 replies


Release Date: 11/12/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Grab yer dancing shoes...

Over the past seven years, TWICE have become the most popular Kpop girl group behind only Blackpink. However, the company behind them JYP, used the opposite strategies to make this happen. There has probably not passed a season without a single and/or EP the girls had to promote. They are being worked hard, performing constantly on both Korean and Japanese markets. With the release of ‘Fancy’ in 2019, the group’s image started the transition to a more mature phase. Same happened to the music, featuring more disco/funk-infused elements in the electronic pop sphere. While I have yet to properly digest some of the early releases, I must admit I fell for them after growing very fond of the Fancy You EP. A few hit-and-miss numbers aside, last year’s full length Eyes Wide Open was actually a strong effort overall. Kpop companies seldom go the extra mile to release an album and it’s extremely rare to throw some quality content on them front to back.

So, the group’s third Korean LP, Formula of Love arrived this year, taking full advantage of the disco funk sound that graced us since the ‘80s. Enlisting an army of producers, TWICE present us quite a cohesive record. I am glad that for the most part everyone resisted the trap/hip hop stylings that are a staple in Kpop, especially for anyone looking to break into foreign markets. They are not cut for that bad girl swag, thus opting for a sweet, at times sensual approach was the most suitable option. The two preceding singles, ‘The Feels’ & ‘Scientist’ offered a fine taste of what you can expect from this record. The catchy blend of groovy bass lines, warm synths and dancefloor-ready beats is nicely complemented by the members’ varied vocal timbres and dynamic switching from one to another. Traces of cheerleader-like sing alongs or shouts are still to be found, however, I’m glad they are kept to a minimum. They are just not suitable in this context. Meanwhile, ‘Cruel’, ‘Fall in Love Again’ and ‘Real You’ are true dancefloor bangers, reminiscing Jamiroquai during their A Funk Odyssey era. The structures sound familiar, but are strongly executed. Another highlight, ‘Moonlight’ fully channels ‘80s nostalgia, combining those tropical disco vibes, complete with cute percussion, claps and “marimba” leads. In between these tracks, ‘Icon’ pops up, sharing a laid back ‘Cry Me a River’ atmosphere and the most swag TWICE can offer. The results are decent, there’s a solid low end present here, but for me R’n’B-wise, ‘Espresso’ ended up more addictive than it should have been. I found myself listening to it multiple times just for the vocal hooks.

On the second half, Formula of Love slows down and suffers a slight drop in quality unfortunately. Ballads such as ‘Rewind’ and ‘Cactus’ are generic, but ultimately passable. Also, ‘Candy’ doesn’t bring anything new or interesting to the record. Luckily, the city pop inspired ‘Push & Pull’ brings back the energy, performed by Jihyo, Sana and Dahyun. The pale synths and bass work their magic, with the girls being their cute selves as usual. Each of the remaining sub unit tracks, ‘1, 3, 2’ (Jeongyeon, Mina, Tzuyu) and ‘Hello’ (Nayeon, Momo, Chaeyoung) follow different routes. The former boasts a nice Latino rhythm that fares better than the latter’s hip hop beats. They are good for diversity’s sake, yet the overall length is the main issue. Formula of Love could have been trimmed to 10 strong cuts and I am sure it would have been one of the tightest Kpop albums in recent years. It’s easy to dismiss it due to the genre it represents, but there was considerable effort put into most of these songs, so it’s worth some listens.



Recent reviews by this author
The Dear Hunter The Indigo ChildColdplay Music of the Spheres
Ministry Moral HygieneLLNN Unmaker
Carbon Based Lifeforms StochasticUlver Hexahedron
user ratings (65)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Somehow submitting this review created another entry for this album. Well, shit...



Anyway, it's one of those very few KPOP albums that are actually worth your time.



Stream here - http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/84081/TWICE-Formula-of-Love-OT%3Dlt%3B3/

Digging: TWICE - Formula of Love: O T=<3

bloc
November 14th 2021


67076 Comments


These women have great singles, but I've never really been fully invested into any of their longer releases.

Digging: PinkPantheress - To Hell With It

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eyes Wide Open had me hooked for a while, now I just return to some of the songs. This album is better though.

sempiturtle
November 14th 2021


1650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I went in expecting a solid collection, maybe a 3.5, and its ended up my AOTY so far wtf

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2021


42873 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow nice



forgot to check their alb last year maybe it and this are good

Digging: Lali Puna - Scary World Theory

Draco29
November 15th 2021


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of the best albums released this year

beastwice
November 15th 2021


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is, considerably, one of the best albums I've listened 'til now. A no skip album indeed. All the songs sound really awesome and slay in their own genre. Moreover, the group's sound has been improved so much and also their vibes are so great and diverse. To be honest, most of TWICE's songs are above average, I also appreciate the energy has been being given into their work since their first ever album - "The Story Begins". TWICE deserves more recognition from music lovers around the globe, I really mean it!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


26428 Comments


Damn Raul, I was 99% sure this was gonna be a Johnny review lol

Digging: Converge - Bloodmoon I

HYPURGESZ
November 15th 2021


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

at first the title track is not really my cup of tea but im glad that it slowly grew on me the more i listen to it, the bsides are amazing, but for me EWO is still better overall

TEMPO11
November 15th 2021


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This might be the Twice album I can safely say that is a no skip one. What I like about Twice is they have diversity in their album. They always offer new genre and it amazes me how they dont sound awkward while challenging their first times. I give this 4.5 just because Im anticipating if their next album surppasses the excellence of this one.

sempiturtle
November 15th 2021


1650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

wtf so many bots

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


42873 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

kpop stanbots have been a sput thing since this year mainly i think



insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Damn Raul, I was 99% sure this was gonna be a Johnny review lol"



Me too haha. I wanted to write about different stuff lately tho.



Oh wow, the review has almost 8 000 views already. Kpop stanning

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


42873 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

a worthy candidate for the top rated lp of 2021 no doubt

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tough battle between Kayo Dot and Twice.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


42873 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gonna do my bit for the time being, gotta stay on the right side of history

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2021


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

most fun album of the year probably maybe?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually yeah

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


42873 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

k-pop entryists, if you're reading this please make more accounts xo

am in love with how awful the rap on ICON is. what a great tune.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2021


31857 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what is up with these ratings fellas



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy