Mol
Diorama


4.5
superb

Review

by Sunnyvale CONTRIBUTOR (59 Reviews)
November 11th, 2021 | 59 replies


Release Date: 11/05/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Scandinavia's answer to Deafheaven deliver with a sophomore album which renders their great debut almost obsolete

How many times have you read a review for a blackgaze album and not seen at least one mention of Deafheaven somewhere in the text? Probably not a lot, as at this point mentioning Deafheaven in your blackgaze review is like commenting that the genre is mostly dying in your post-rock review: a famous cliche, but everyone does it anyway.

In the case of the band Mol, this reference is basically obligatory. Their 2018 debut album Jord was widely acclaimed, but even more so than most blackgaze acts, these Danes saw the Deafheaven comparison thrown around with abandon. That isn't likely to change now, but with their wildly successful second LP, Mol have gone from worthy imitators to direct competitors at the forefront of the blackgaze scene.

When compared to Jord , Diorama basically ups the ante in nearly every respect. Still engaging in a relatively accessible brand of blackgaze, the eight songs presented on the sophomore record remain fairly concise (totaling around forty-six minutes) but nonetheless are sonically fluid and masterfully executed. If anything, this album leans more melodic than its predecessor (even if it lacks an overtly pretty post-rock track like "Lambda"), but there's no shortage of crushing moments, including from notable metalcore and post-metal tinges. Mol aim for and hit the bullseye on the eternal appeal of blackgaze, the successful fusion of opposites, a duality of light and dark, beauty and brutality, peanut butter and chocolate (oh wait, not that last one). The end results are immensely satisfying. Not only is the dreamy shimmer and the blackened roar locked together in a way that works, but more varied elements like the almost power metal-esque sections of "Photophobic" and the gorgeous female vocals on the beginning of the grandiose title track add diversity while still fitting into the album's broader vision.

The biggest compliment I can give Diorama is that its release means I'll likely not be returning to the band's debut much anymore. While Jord was a great slab of blackgaze, its follow-up feels fuller, richer, and more complete, the sound of an already talented group leveling up. Even if doesn't reinvent the wheel, Diorama is a near-masterpiece, incorporating a wide slate of tasteful influences into a rollicking blend of heaviness and accessibility.



Recent reviews by this author
Stormkeep Tales of OthertimeCasper Skulls Knows No Kindness
Penelope Isles Which Way To HappyStrawberry Guy Sun Outside My Window
My Morning Jacket My Morning JacketNoltem Illusions In The Wake
user ratings (126)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2021


3045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To use the technical term, album slaps, will probably make my top ten for the year

TheSpirit
November 11th 2021


28745 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Nice review but given the length I think you spend too much time focusing on that deafheaven bit (even though I think the comparison, in this case, is warranted).



This record is fantastic. I think it could be the starting point of a new branch of blackgaze.

Digging: Addaura - A) siren city (Z

SlothcoreSam
November 11th 2021


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review sunny! Checking this now, and yup it is definitely the feeling of an open faced palm striking my upper thigh repetitively

Digging: Anthrax (UK) - Serfs Out

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2021


3045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers guys! @TheSpirit, looking back, that's a fair critique, appreciate the feedback.

PortalofPerfection
November 11th 2021


2547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fantastic album, such a satisfying listen. Wish they would get mean with the riffs more often, it's so good when they do it.

Digging: Mol - Diorama

MyColdShoulder
November 11th 2021


133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review!



This album might be my AOTY, gonna spin it more and let it sit for awhile





Slex
November 11th 2021


12616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thank u for reviewing this

Digging: Mol - Diorama

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2021


3045 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks folks! This definitely needed a review

Senetrix666
November 11th 2021


681 Comments


so happy this got a review! great album. the new glassing album needs a review too, might hop on that if no one else will

garas
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2021


6707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sounds promising, will check.

Digging: Sunn O))) - Metta, Benevolence BBC 6Music...

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2021


12395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review! Currently listening to the album, and I like what I'm hearing so far; that drumming in Fraktur is pretty cool with how off-kilter it is

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2021


12395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just finished it... great stuff all around. Very Sunbather-y, but that's not a bad thing imo

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2021


26428 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Nice to see this reviewed! I'm not particularly fond of Sunbather-y blackgaze, but I like the little details on this thing outside of that. It won't make my list but it was a good listen.

Digging: Converge - Bloodmoon I

PistolPete
November 12th 2021


5268 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I found this pretty indistinguishable from most blackgaze and definitely derivative compared to Jord. That album slapped. Oh well

Ashtiel
November 12th 2021


1288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i haven't been able to sit with this one as much as i'd like yet, but they've more than surpassed my expectations. the bigger emphasis on the melodic aspects combined with what i'm gonna call a pop accessibility at points have carved out this unique sound that at best reminded me of Ordinary Corrupt Human Love at points, mostly on the opener "Fraktur" with the glittering guitars.

Kim's harsh vox definitely still remind me of George at points but that's not a detractor for me so much as a similarity. nonetheless an enthralling listen from beginning to end for me. there's a lot of cool little complexities to these songs that make me feel like these guys could go in a lot of different directions in future.

zaruyache
November 12th 2021


24695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album b slapps

Digging: Sadness (USA) - _____

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2021


15681 Comments


First spin in and this is borderline blowing me away. Who knew that they had this in them?

Digging: Obscura - A Valediction

WatchItExplode
November 12th 2021


9389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet... Dug the last one

TBH717
November 12th 2021


60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not to harp on the Deafheaven bits any more than needed, but does this remind anyone of their stylistic shift from Sunbather / New Bermuda to Ordinary Corrupt Human Love? the broader blackgaze palette and proggy, shredding guitar leads really strike that same chord. particularly a track like Tvesind - the leads sound like they could have been lifted straight from You Without End. not a complaint per se, just look at my 5's ;)

mechamagica
November 12th 2021


223 Comments


trying this on a whim and immediately noticed how dynamic the master is! love to hear it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy