Mortiferum
Preserved in Torment


4.0
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
November 9th, 2021 | 131 replies


Release Date: 11/05/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tormented soundscapes

When it comes to death-doom it's all about the band's ability to carry the listener into whatever dimension they're in at the moment, be it of a cavernous, spacey, or metaphysical nature. With a formula that mostly employs US and Finnish old-school death metal, Mortiferum belongs to a narrow niche of those who can effectively infuse atmosphere into their music without relying exclusively on it. This is due not only to the quartet's technical ability but also to their predisposition to build songs that orbit interesting riffs and intricate rhythm sections. Alex Mody's drumming was actually what impressed me the most on their 2019’s debut album, Disgorged from Psychotic Depths, at least at first listening. His organic signature (which despite its intricacy never delves into overly technical territory) lends an extra dynamic to a style that usually prefers more static foundations. I would even say that despite the multiple doom soundscapes, the band always finds interesting ways to cross its borders without ever losing stylistic coherence. These round trips are probably the feature I enjoy most in Mortiferum’s formula, something that thankfully still endures in Preserved in Torment.

Revolving around death, apocalypse, and divine punishment, Preserved in Torment mirrors the band's view on the state of the world today, namely its perpetual state of agony, using the same ingredients as its predecessor. Doom segments mingle with fast tempos in a meticulously balanced layout that continues to showcase the band's aforementioned influences. While 'Caudex of Flesh' harks back to Mortiferum's American muddy roots, the imposing closing track, 'Mephitis of Disease', proudly boasts the Finnish spirit, notably through its epic Adramelech-ish riff, which ranks among the album's highlights. Alex Mody's engaging drumming, with its distinctive ride cymbal bell sound, keeps providing the dynamic foundation upon which memorable riffs orbit uninterruptedly. Not only does the band sound more inspired than ever, but also presents greater ambiance given the airy production that grants space between the protagonists. The overwhelming opener, 'Eternal Procession', and the subsequent 'Incubus of Bloodstained Visions' are both prime examples of the band's aesthetically enhanced state. The interplay between slow-paced sections and blast beats acts as a single organism, effortlessly moving through its comfort zone.

Preserved in Torment sees the band at the top of their game, and quite frankly, I wouldn't expect anything less. At this point, only a few can do it quite like these guys. Mortiferum's ability to craft tormented soundscapes through a dynamic yet harmonious palette is something to behold. And while it doesn't present any innovative new tones, its decadent scent will linger for years to come.




Recent reviews by this author
Blut Aus Nord Disharmonium - Undreamable AbyssesHaunter (USA-TX) Discarnate Ails
Cosmic Putrefaction Crepuscular Dirge for the Blessed OnesAu-Dessus Mend
Dischordia TriptychUndeath It's Time...To Rise From the Grave
user ratings (87)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2021


17578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some brief thoughts on the album.

Great stuff. One of my favorite bands within the genre.



The album is available on all streaming platforms.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Disharmonium - Undreamable Abysses

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2021


27364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the imposing closing track, 'Mephitis of Disease', proudly boasts the Finnish spirit, notably through its epic Adramelech-ish riff"



SOLD. had no idea this was even coming out. nice, concise review!

Digging: Be Well - Hello Sun

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2021


17578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks ;)

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2021


17113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

You do this so well Fern. Albums like this make the metal community moist.



Edit: ratings chart looks like it’s giving the finger.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2021


17578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Chef ;)



It's a great release, indeed.

Azog
November 9th 2021


796 Comments


Spectral Voice. Worm. Mortiferum. The holy trinity of contemporary death doom.

This album has been on heavy rotation since it arrived at my home, 3 days ago.

God, I love this shit.

necropig
November 9th 2021


6511 Comments


oh damn, didn't know they had a new one out

tectactoe
November 9th 2021


5606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

At the moment I think I prefer DISGORGED by a hair (4.0), but I could see this growing on me more with repeat listens. Either way, great DM album.

Digging: Coconuts - 2

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2021


17578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Spectral Voice. Worm. Mortiferum. The holy trinity of contemporary death doom."

Amen





brainmelter
November 9th 2021


7847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

beefy

Digging: Dave Bixby - Ode To Quetzalcoatl

Em1994
November 9th 2021


886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Damn near a 5 for me. Great stuff. Even better than the first album imo. They advanced their sound a bit here. More transitions etc. Everything that was great about disgorged is turned up a notch here. Top 3 album this year for me. enjoy guys.

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
November 10th 2021


21951 Comments


gonna check asap, bands earlier stuff is pretty decent. great review as always.

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2021


28005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Great album, had it on rotation this week, it doesn't top other albums of the same ilk this year for me but good jam for sure.

Digging: Nina Hagen - NunSexMonkRock

bloc
November 10th 2021


68475 Comments


This is rock solid. One of the better death doom albums this year I'd say

evilford
November 11th 2021


55399 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice rev, this rules

Em1994
November 11th 2021


886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Not a weak track here. One of those albums where theres not a ton of tracks and its hard to pick a few favs cause all the tracks are quality.

ShadowRemains
November 11th 2021


26797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

need this asap

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2021


17578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed, bloc. This one and Worm's Foreverglade are the best death-doom I've heard so far this year. As Em1994 said above, there's no filler here.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2021


17113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

I can't remember, but is the bleakest, greyest artwork to hit that features section this year? I'd like to think so.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2021


17578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's up there, yeah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy