Biffy Clyro
The Myth of the Happily Ever After


4.5
superb

Review

by Sowing STAFF
October 25th, 2021 | 110 replies


Release Date: 10/22/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is how you flip the script

Biffy Clyro is a band that has always felt like they’re a few missing puzzle pieces away from creating a masterpiece. While there are diehard followers who will most assuredly disagree with that sentiment, it’s still tough to crown anything they’ve done as truly one-of-a-kind. Their brand, for better or worse, has always been comprised of anthemic/bombastic pop-rock, with some post-hardcore and other alternative rock influences sprinkled throughout for good measure. At their best they’ve recalled Mean Everything to Nothing era Manchester Orchestra, and at their worst they’ve sounded like The Resistance era Muse. It’s not the genre in which they reside that has clipped their wings so much as it is their indecisiveness, however; albums – especially recent ones – have bounced carelessly between cheesy synth-pop and laughable attempts at a return to heavier aesthetics. It’s rarely outright awful, but it’s also instilled very little confidence in this particular reviewer that they could ever sound as raw as they did on 2003’s The Vertigo of Bliss again, or as earnest and heartfelt as they did during specific cuts from 2009’s Only Revolutions. As with many of their peers, Biffy Clyro’s post-2010 output has just been sort of…there.

For all these reasons, The Myth of the Happily Ever After is an exceedingly pleasant surprise. Not only does Biffy Clyro sound more inspired than ever – both lyrically and musically – but there is also a noticeable return to so many of the things that made this band so likeable from its onset. The songwriting, for starters, is much tighter than the meandering electronic-pop ballads we’ve come to expect as of late. We get ‘A Hunger In Your Haunt’, which is biting and deliciously bitter, with Simon Neil barking out verses that wouldn’t have sounded so compelling sung with any less urgency: “It's been dark a while so where's the fucking dawn? / Wisdom no morе, eloquence no morе / All I loved has broken down and gone to seed.” They really double down on the aggressively bleak lyrics throughout The Myth of the Happily Ever After, sporting lines like “In this universe we're trolls / Happy just to torch shit / Born to scorch your homes” and “Life couldn't be better / I will ignore all of the bodies piled up at my door / All my convictions, they soften the blow / Softened for no one but me / This is how we fuck it from the start.” For a band that has developed something of a softer reputation over the last several years, this is how you flip the script and immediately re-engage your audience.

All this boiling anger is still laced with satisfying doses of melody, though. ‘Denier’ – which is angsty and punkish but also super romantic – features a simple but highly effective choral hook amid its barrage of percussion: “Say that you care for me, you make me feel like anything is possible / I need somebody to love, I need somebody to care for and it's you.” Elsewhere, the band threads its pop inclinations through some unexpectedly mighty crescendos, like the triumphant chorus that sprawls across the back half of ‘Errors In The History of God’, all amid a storm of winding riffs: “There's a mystery at large, and the story should be beautiful / I'm ready to explode…We're errors in the history of God.” It’s as if Biffy Clyro have finally accessed that happy medium between heavy rock/post-hardcore/punk and overall accessibility; whereas in the past they have traditionally erred too far on the side of radio-friendliness, The Myth of the Happily Ever After sees the band’s instrumentation and songwriting vision finally keeping up with its pop ambition. The results are beautifully intense.

As Biffy Clyro hammer us with this intoxicating blend of tune-sense and refreshing raucousness, it seems that they’ve located the missing pieces to their puzzle. The Myth of the Happily Ever After still isn’t flawless – songs like ‘Separate Missions’ and ‘Existed’ are still far too tidy and groomed-for-radio – but they’re rapidly closing in on their own version of alt-rock perfection. Whether or not they’ll eventually put the whole picture together is anyone’s guess, but in the meantime, The Myth of the Happily Ever After serves as an excellent and shockingly ambitious outing from a band that seemed to be trending in all the wrong directions not long ago. With this album, they’ve reclaimed control of their story.



s
Recent reviews by this author
D Project The Sagarmatha DilemmaEsoctrilihum Urionhsol (Seven Demons)
Gregory Alan Isakov This Empty Northern HemisphereThe Antlers Losing Light
Silk Sonic An Evening with Silk SonicTaylor Swift Red (Taylor’s Version)
user ratings (77)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
October 25th 2021


36598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

“Biffy Clyro is a band that has always felt like they’re a few missing puzzle pieces away from creating a masterpiece.”



Bro wtf they have like 4 5 star albums.



“While there are diehard followers who will most assuredly disagree with that sentiment”



Oh okay better thanks.



“it’s still tough to crown anything they’ve done as truly one-of-a-kind“



Omfg 🙀 Sowing are you gonna yo yo me this whole review!?!

Storm In A Teacup
October 25th 2021


36598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Talk about flipping the script. 🧐🧐🧐

Storm In A Teacup
October 25th 2021


36598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

“At their worst they’ve sounded like The Resistance era Muse“



You *&*$)#’ I could never listen to a band that bad. You’re only doing this to poor Biffy cuz they’re across the pond like Muse and I refuse to participate in this Biffy bashing.

inkwisitive
October 25th 2021


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ooft, both Biffy and Muse have their highlights and lowlights. Honestly, the point where they got the most orchestrated and over-the-top (Opposites) might be my favourite record from these guys - a 20-song album should not be as consistent as that one is. That said, I found Vertigo of Bliss a little too raw for my liking, so might not be coming from the exact same place as Sowing here.



I've given Myth a fair few listens over the weekend and it sounds decent at first. Though I don't get the Witch's Cup slander - the chorus alone makes it one of the best songs on the record! First impressions are that there's more songs I like than on Celebration of Endings - if stylistically similar - although there's some strange mixing/dynamic choices that take me out of some songs (I think they self-produced this one?).

Digging: Walk the Moon - Heights

alexslavco
October 25th 2021


81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is one hell of an album. Witch’s Cup is great song and is definitely not "too tidy and groomed-for-radio". My personal favourite is Holy Water, that last 2 minutes are insane. And closer hits hard too. Btw thanks for review Sowing

Sowing
Moderator
October 25th 2021


39726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well I feel dumb now because my track titles are messed up for some reason. I meant Existed not Witch's Cup, for whatever that's worth. I love Witch's Cup and I fixed it in the review.

Glad to see so much support for this, it's def one of my favorite Biffy LPs.

Digging: Cynic - Ascension Codes

Flugmorph
October 25th 2021


25215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hurra for a sowing review

Flugmorph
October 25th 2021


25215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Honestly, the point where they got the most orchestrated and over-the-top (Opposites) might be my favourite record from these guys - a 20-song album should not be as consistent as that one is."



Based?!? Opposites is not my favorite, their first four records are still more consistently engaging and interesting, but I do love opposites for what it does well and it also was my intro to the band through which I became a massive fan.

StickFeit
October 25th 2021


1945 Comments


Never really been a fan of these guys, will this change that?

Storm In A Teacup
October 25th 2021


36598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think Opposites is my favorite

Flugmorph
October 25th 2021


25215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Never really been a fan of these guys, will this change that?"



no.

gschwen
October 25th 2021


673 Comments


Separate Missons through Holy Water drags and Slurpy Slurpy is supremely cringe. Denier is a fun song, as is Hunger and Unknown Male 01. But this sure has some filler on it.

Celebration wasn't particularly good, but this one isn't a whole lot better (though it is better). The disparity in scores between this record and Celebration is curious. Songs like North of No South and Tiny Indoor Fireworks are as good as anything on this album.

For someone to believe this is top three Biffy is wild. They have such a front loaded catalog I can't imagine someone clearing a space for this on their Biffy Mount Rushmore.

Groundking
October 25th 2021


1726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Need to listen to this but Puzzle is best Biffy.

Sowing
Moderator
October 25th 2021


39726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is way more consistent than anything they've done recently and the lows aren't nearly as low as they've been

Not sure it matches their very best old school stuff either but it's the best of their latter era for certain and possibly the start of a heavier resurgence

Gyromania
October 25th 2021


33297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Bro wtf they have like 4 5 star albums."



Rofl

Sowing
Moderator
October 25th 2021


39726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah even for me that's too optimistic

StickFeit
October 25th 2021


1945 Comments


"no."

Well I still I tried it and I actually liked this. Might need to revisit the older stuff, I didn't really hated it, but didn't get the hype either.

Pikazilla
October 25th 2021


19855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Check Vertigo, it's their best

bananatossing
October 25th 2021


1858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm glad this got a review. Might be my favorite Biffy album.

Storm In A Teacup
October 25th 2021


36598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can finally access this thread again yay. Really think this will grown on me a lot and become a solid 4 or 4.5.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy