Every Time I Die
Radical


5.0
classic

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (62 Reviews)
October 24th, 2021 | 49 replies


Release Date: 10/22/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is Rad(ical)

After over two decades and eight albums into their careers, most bands usually start to feel the effects of redundancy and uninspired rating and begin to fall off the peak of their former years. However, Every Time I Die defies that trend and continue to push and progress their sound with their ninth record, Radical. Although continuing the same musical composition of their last several records, Every Time I Die manages to craft yet another fresh and entertaining album that matches the intensity of their previous years.

Following the style of their recent outputs, Every Time I Die continues to masterfully craft tracks of brutality and aggression contrasted by melody and groove. With no shortage of riffage, the guitar work throughout Radical has a southern metal technicality with punchy breakdowns and impressive melodic chord progressions. From the blistering speed of “Planet ***” to the harmonies of “Things With Feathers” to the hardcore riffs of “We Go Together,” Every Time I Die integrates a multitude of guitar styles into Radical to create a diverse experience throughout. Alongside the guitar work, capturing the groove in all its glory, is the fantastic drumming dispersed within the record. Combining quick drum fills and two-step grooves, Radical flows seamlessly from track to track with varying styles and rhythms that complement each other.

Radical’ shows Every Time I Die at both their heaviest and most melodic in their discography. The intensity behind “Distress Rehearsal” and “The Whip” prove to be some of their most ferocious tracks with tremolo picked riffs, non-stop drumming, and abrasive harsh vocals throughout. However, on the contrary, “White Void” and “Things With Feathers” integrate catchy hooks and soaring melodies that paint a portrait of beauty amidst the aggression of the rest of the record. This contrast of melody and heaviness provides the perfect balance of sound throughout the record, resulting in some of the best pacing in Every Time I Die’s career.

With the world in unrest and upheaval, much of the record focuses on themes of human decency, self-worth, and spirituality. The line “You got an atheist praying for judgement day” in “Desperate Pleasures” summarizes the entirety of Radical lyrically. The lack of humanity and abundance of evil in the world leads even those who aren’t religious to pray for days of religious judgement to attend to the world’s evils. However, the power and emotion behind such lyrics lies in the performance of Keith Buckley. Swiftly moving from abrasive shouts and screams to beautifully sung harmonies, Buckley shows off his impressive range throughout the band’s ninth album. Alongside this, features from Andy Hull of Manchester Orchestra and Josh Scogin of '68 provide additional depth to “Things With Feathers” and “All This And War” respectively, accentuating those tracks with their own flair.

I could go on and on about this record. From the devastating lyrics, to the amazing features (Josh Scogin feature of the year??), to the incredibly balanced musicianship, Radical doesn’t miss a step. It may be a slight exaggeration, or it could be the release hype clouding judgement, but this record shows Every Time I Die in their prime, crafting not only their best record, but also potentially the best record of the year.



Recent reviews by this author
Impending Doom HellbentPridelands Light Bends
Volumes Happier?Silent Planet Iridescent
Sentinels (US) Collapse by DesignStarset HORIZONS
user ratings (743)
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Asleep STAFF (4.2)
Once more unto the breach...

TrantaLocked (5)
It's time fam....



Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thought I'd give this record a 5/5 review for fun

I'm absolutely in love with this album, the current highlights are All This and War, Distress Rehearsal, People Verses and the closer

Digging: The Amazing Devil - Ruin

normaloctagon
October 24th 2021


8039 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet rev sweet album still gotta finish and rate this bad boy

Digging: MF DOOM - Special Herbs 7,8

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

appreciate it!! hope to see a high rating from you norma

SaveBandit
October 24th 2021


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I literally can't bring myself to turn it off hahaha. Think I've gone through the whole thing front to back like 5 or 6 times already today?

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's just too good man, I had to force myself to turn it off so I wouldn't burn myself out haha

Veldin
October 24th 2021


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just like how you mentioned what band Andy is from, you should cite Scogins band(s) for anyone unaware

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks for pointing that out, fixed!

onionbubs
October 24th 2021


14729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rad review brother love how much everybody loves this thing lol. 2nd favorite of the year and best etid for me. all this and war might outright be my favorite song theyve done

Pikazilla
October 24th 2021


20630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what's your aoty, onion



This is definitely top 2 ETID, not sure if I like it more than my fave

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what's your fave from them Pika??

Pikazilla
October 24th 2021


20630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

FPU, third is Ex Lives

Tunaboy45
October 24th 2021


17745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

to the surprise of no one, they've done it again

Digging: Richard Dawson - 2020

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

love those choices Pika, FPU has definitely grown on me consistently

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


15252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review great album love the ETID hype

onionbubs
October 24th 2021


14729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"what's your aoty, onion"



mine personally is erra but i certainly do not expect most to agree w that take lol. legitimately one of my favorite records ive ever heard tho has everything i could possibly want and more. just straight up ear candy to me all the way through lol

onionbubs
October 24th 2021


14729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also yea until this record fpu was their best. love seein ex lives get love too feel like the consensus has sorta shifted to that being the "worst" of their last 5 but it was my favorite etid for years

Pikazilla
October 24th 2021


20630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The worst of the last five is Low Teens for me



Also, NJA was huge when it came out

onionbubs
October 24th 2021


14729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

looks like our etid tastes are in sync brother low teens is like 7th fav etid



new junk is another huge fav of mine. so many incredible songs on that one and i can only imagine how mindblowing itd have been on release. def in my top tier of etid (which also includes this, ex lives, fpu and hot damn)

Pikazilla
October 24th 2021


20630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, might as well post my ranking:



FPU>Radical>Ex Lives>Hot Damn>NJA>Gutter>Last Night>Low Teens>Big Dirty

Pikazilla
October 24th 2021


20630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Although I have a feeling Radical will become my fave and I'll 5 it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy