Dream Theater
A View from the Top of the World


4.0
excellent

Review

by Stormy Smiley Face USER (114 Reviews)
October 24th, 2021 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: They might be having fun and progressing toward something better.

At this point there are multiple running jokes about Dream Theater throughout their career, fun jokes, like the singers vocals, or some sad jokes, such as rivalries among prominent members (when one of them was arguing that the singers vocals belong in the sad joke department). Wholesomely as my handle allows me, I only bring this up because of a thematic highlight of the new Dream Theater album.

James LaBrie's usual attempt to hide on a majority of a song then come in and make a solid impact actually worked this time. A guitar, piano, and production trifecta does the best job in over a decade to meld Dream Theater's instrumentation and LaBrie's voice with cohesiveness. A lot of what A View From The Top Of The World is successful at is just creating a vibe. Many times the virtuosos of progressive metal have failed at crafting a fun journey just to really not arrive anywhere awesome either. This time the journey is enjoyed just a little bit more, making the album title a proper one. This album feels like Dream Theater taking a deep breath and relaxing. Even Petrucci manages to make solos that fit the atmosphere and feel adventurous again. It's a nice view.

Not that the faults and fractures plaguing Dream Theater haven't gone away, but there is hope in the future. Piano player Jordan Rudess is now learning to play the guitar. We may only be so lucky to have him write a Dream Theater song on guitar and get something entirely new next album cycle. That's what A View From The Top Of The World does best, giving hope for something better and simultaneously learning to enjoy the journey.

3.75



Recent reviews by this author
Circa Survive A Dream About LoveSvalbard When I Die, Will I Get Better?
Madina Lake The Beginning of New EndingsBig Sean Detroit 2
Tyson Motsenbocker Someday I’ll Make it All Up to YouHopesfall The Frailty of Words
user ratings (312)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Brendan Schroer STAFF (4)
A View from the Top of the World is an incredibly solid album that brings out the best qualities in ...

JamesW (5)
...

PsychicChris (3)
Yep, this sure is a Dream Theater record, all right...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
October 24th 2021


45818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bam

oltnabrick
October 24th 2021


40685 Comments


amazing album art

dante1991
October 24th 2021


764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a really great album, but very much a grower. Takes a fair few listens for the songs and vocal melodies to "unlock". It is a lot less straightforward/immediate than DOT, TA, s/t...

manosg
Emeritus
October 24th 2021


12709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Just one listen, and liking it. Some of the melodies on Invisible Monster sound as if they're taken from Metropolis Pt. 2. Also enjoying the audible bass.

Tundra
October 24th 2021


9756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

best album since Dramatic Turn

Pikazilla
October 24th 2021


29837 Comments


agreed

Sowing
Moderator
October 24th 2021


43965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't listened to these guys since Black Clouds when I was still in college way back in 2009. I wonder what they sound like nowadays; might skim this just out of curiosity.

Titan
October 24th 2021


24932 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Storm dude what the hell kind of review is this

Storm In A Teacup
October 24th 2021


45818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

uh. a review? what? one day i will be staff so i write staff reviews now.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2021


60608 Comments


that final para made me feel things hnng yh

Storm In A Teacup
October 24th 2021


45818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i took 10 edibles last night and wrote this a couple hours in but i just read it and i'm not worried about anything. the neg voter on this and the other review just haters.

Pikazilla
October 24th 2021


29837 Comments


pos'd to offset the neg

Storm In A Teacup
October 24th 2021


45818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very sweet of you pika frienda

Storm In A Teacup
October 24th 2021


45818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Peartnoy came out and said the drummer who replaced him is starting to finally sound good on this album but has a way to go lololol

peartnoy
October 24th 2021


2199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Wait you talking about me or was that a typo and you meant the actual Portnoy. Cause I definitely didn't say that lol

Storm In A Teacup
October 24th 2021


45818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh my. Porntoy yeah.

Gyromania
October 24th 2021


37147 Comments


"At this point there are multiple running jokes about Dream Theater throughout their career, fun jokes, like the singers vocals, or some sad jokes, such as rivalries among prominent members (when one of them was arguing that the singers vocals belong in the sad joke department)."

Lol wtf is that intro paragraph

Storm In A Teacup
October 24th 2021


45818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Portnoy told LaBrie that he sucked at singing and ruins the bands songs.

Shemson
October 24th 2021


4156 Comments


Tbf to Portnoy, La Brie absolutely ruined any time DT tried to be heavy. Train of Thought could’ve been killer with a better suited vocalist for example, but La Brie killed it on Scenes From A Memory and any of that style they’ve done.

Haven’t listened to Dream Theater for years but the review makes me think I might give this a go once I’ve fully digested Cradle of Filth, Every Time I Die, Biffy Clyro and James Blake… what a week for releases!!

Sinternet
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2021


26599 Comments


awful band m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy