Sentinels (US)
Collapse by Design


4.5
superb

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (62 Reviews)
October 22nd, 2021 | 103 replies


Release Date: 10/22/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Chaos in its most intense form

Chaos is really the only word that comes to mind when listening to this album. But it’s a controlled chaos, one that never feels like it doesn’t have a purpose. Collapse by Design shows Sentinels taking influence from metalcore, progressive metalcore, and mathcore and crafting a unique sound for metalcore in 2021, one that goes beyond the simple tropes of the genre. This is chaos, but a good kind of chaos.

With a sound similar to groups like The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza, Collapse by Design is full to the brim with extreme riffs that contrast heavily with heavy, low tuned guitars and high-pitched dissonance. Often differing from the general tropes of rhythm, the guitar work is chaotic and wild, erupting into riffs and grooves that begin as soon as another ends. Impressively following such chaos is the drumming that matches the intense jumping of riffs seamlessly. With constant stop-start rhythms, the drum work continuously shifts from blast beats to choked cymbal chops to pummeling hardcore grooves all while maintaining the flow of the record. This constant variation in the riffs and grooves results in a consistently engaging flow that excites the listener from track to track without ever feeling predictable or monotonous.

Perhaps the most impressive aspect of musicianship throughout Collapse by Design is Sentinels’ ability to craft a captivating soundscape that fills each and every moment of space. The dispersed ambience throughout truly elevates the atmosphere of the record as a whole, creating momentary breaks that allow the music to breathe and embrace the listener in a warm sound that encapsulates the whole track. From the ambient breakdown in “Inertia” to the interlude track “Solitude,” Sentinels displays their craftmanship of maintaining heaviness while integrating openness and melody into their songs. This mixture of ambience and dissonant brutality creates a beautiful contrast of heaviness and melody that amplifies the power of Collapse by Design.

This contrast is further accentuated by the abrasiveness of Sentinels’ frontman. Across every track, the vocals remain intense, never giving into any melody but maintain a harsh brutality that soars throughout the record. Although his tone is rather monotonous, the delivery remains fresh in each song. With unique phrasing across breakdowns and resting to amplify the power of the musical composition, the screams and harshes scattered throughout manage to be engaging and impactful without feeling too similar. With this chemistry between the music and the vocals, Collapse by Design feels like a fluid composition that flows seamlessly from track to track without ever losing momentum.

Clocking in at just over 48 minutes, Collapse by Design is a brutal journey that is relentless from start to finish. With very few moments of breathing and plenty of time spent crushing listeners, Sentinels’ most recent full length proves to be a record worthy of being a front-runner in the metalcore genre. In a genre ridden with structure and formulation, the chaos and unpredictability of Collapse by Design is a welcome freshness that has been absent in metalcore for too long.



Recent reviews by this author
Impending Doom HellbentPridelands Light Bends
Volumes Happier?Silent Planet Iridescent
Every Time I Die RadicalStarset HORIZONS
user ratings (61)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I may be pushing the one review a day limit... but it is technically a new day and I really wanted to get this review out there for this release

this thing is brutal, no other way to put it... riffs are insane, breakdowns are groovy, and the whole album just flows so well

Digging: The Amazing Devil - Ruin

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2021


16179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Yeah this is a good time. A couple dragging moments, but otherwise a steady release.

onionbubs
October 22nd 2021


14729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review my guy love to see it. this isnt quite my jam as much as its gonna be everyone elses i feel but i get why everyones going so apeshit for these guys

Purpl3Spartan
October 22nd 2021


2273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Heck yeeeeeeeees



Excited to spin this. Very nice review Mr. rule bender

Digging: Geese - Projector

SteakByrnes
October 22nd 2021


25947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet review dude, I'm hype to check this later

Digging: Kaizo Slumber - The Kaizo Manifesto

jmh886
October 22nd 2021


2641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my old band opened for these guys a few years ago and they blew me away. stoked they finally got an LP out.

bigweinerdon
October 22nd 2021


1899 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds great so far

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2021


2802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, this really is just a fun time, whole thing rips

SaveBandit
October 22nd 2021


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Whole thing rips for sure dude. Good review too, thanks for getting this out man. I've been hyped for so long for this so it's rad to have a proper place to chat about it haha.







First couple listens and this is a 4.5, but definitely has the potential to grow to a 5. Absolutely smacks the whole way through the run time and it doesn't feel like it overstays it's welcome. My only minor complaint is that it is a liiiittle samey, but the sound is so fucking strong it's hard to fault them for not making big adjustments song to song.

SaveBandit
October 22nd 2021


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Classic double post

JeetJeet
October 22nd 2021


10403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty solid

Digging: Trenches - Reckoner

dangerousdarrin
October 22nd 2021


825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great album! This band has a bit of a Currents feel. I love this style of metal.

nash1311
October 22nd 2021


3676 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This underwhelmed me unfortunately. Its still a good time, but the best tracks were already singles and the new ones didn't wow me.

Purpl3Spartan
October 22nd 2021


2273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album smacks booty.



Ember and Coalescence are awesome

SaveBandit
October 22nd 2021


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah dude it smacks hard. It's getting overshadowed by the new ETID right now but I'll return to this tomorrow probably haha.

SteakByrnes
October 22nd 2021


25947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album slaps ass

SaveBandit
October 22nd 2021


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I've tied this band and Dark Souls together in my brain now and it's all I see lol. Album art looks like Gael fight from DS3, they have a song called Ember, some pretty dark themes that could be inspired by the DS series, etc. Idk maybe I'm just seeing what I wanna see but it feels like there's a connection there. Who knows.

SteakByrnes
October 22nd 2021


25947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It does have a ds3 feel to it with that cover lol

JayEnder
October 22nd 2021


12350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You might be onto something Bandit haha.



gotta peep this

Digging: Earl Sweatshirt - Sick!

SaveBandit
October 22nd 2021


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Imma need the band to come out and directly say yes or no, otherwise it'll just constantly be there in my head lmao.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy