Vildhjarta
Måsstaden Under Vatten


4.0
excellent

Review

by ConcubinaryCode USER (17 Reviews)
October 21st, 2021 | 258 replies


Release Date: 10/15/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's under water this time.

Ten years after a debut album is quite the wait that I wouldn't blame anyone to start speculating if the band was even writing any music. Lo and behold we have proof that between the years Vildhjarta (pronouced vealed-jar-tah) was actually doing something worthwhile during that time. Did it really need a whole decade? Probably not, but as far as progressive tech metal with ambient interludes and clean instrumentals backing intense riffage goes, they have a better track record at the moment than most of their acclaimed peers who share the throne in the genre. You can't keep poking Amia Venera Landscape's corpse for long before people move on, preferably to bands that put out something actually worthwhile for the hiatus in between albums.

Vildhjarta's brand of poly-rhythms interlaced with odd time signature downtuned guitars picks up right where their debut leaves off, sharing most of its DNA with its' older sibling. Masstaden under vatten is a technical feat comprised of a bunch of showmanship of the band's adeptitude in their music theory craft, unapologetically so. The kind of stuff that you either get or question if it even has a point at all. If you're the type of person that rolls their eyes at the idea of a band cramming a bunch of ideas and sounds into an 80 minute album with little to no reason, I highly doubt this will bring you into the genre. For the people that live in this type of music, you are in for a treat.

Masstaden under vatten is a beautifully made album with an abundance of entrancing ambient sound, abrupt starting guitar tones slamming down with the impressive growled and shrieked vocals. It's not entirely original, but it doesn't have to be when the music just sounds this good. The production is crisp without sacrificing the occult edge swaying throughout the tracks. Every unique sound comes together in a cavalcade that meshes into this satisfying ebb and flow of heaviness and wandering noise coming from behind. The song structures loosely play around with each other to create these memorable moments that just wouldn't be able to carry the music without them. Interludes serve as a small respite along the albums trek, not overstaying their welcome before embracing the thrashing once more. An all too familiar song and dance, but a welcome one nonetheless.

Masstaden part 2 simply put is an incredibly well made album with an undeniable amount of effort and love put into it. I expect this to stick with people in ways other tech metal just can't. This is the upper echelon for its kind, leaving an impact of rhythmic sounds reverberating in your skull well past the albums finale. Expect repeat listens well into the colder months, here's your send-off for the year.



Recent reviews by this author
Giles Corey DeconstructionistAtreyu Fractures in the Facade of your Porcelain Beauty
Ringworm Death Becomes My VoiceThe Sawtooth Grin The Jabberwocky Demo
Greeley Estates Far From The LiesGreeley Estates Caveat Emptor
user ratings (203)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
ConcubinaryCode
October 21st 2021


5988 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Time for this album to have its own thread. I don't feel I did it justice completely but yeah it's really good sharing equal footing with the first album.



That is thall.

JayEnder
October 21st 2021


11852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thall.

Digging: Static Dress - Prologue...

trilo
October 21st 2021


4207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thall

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Rien ne suffit

SteakByrnes
October 21st 2021


25554 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thall

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2021


2758 Comments


thall

Digging: Silent Planet - Iridescent

Ashtiel
October 21st 2021


1289 Comments


menthall

JeetJeet
October 21st 2021


10183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thall so hard mawfuckas wanna fine me

Digging: Amaarae - The Angel You Don?t Know

DaveTesseract
October 21st 2021


283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thrall

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Rien ne suffit

Purpl3Spartan
October 21st 2021


1948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thall

Digging: Satyr - Locus

Meridiu5
October 21st 2021


3722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

suck it, uneven structure

Digging: Kalafina - Winter Acoustic "Kalafina With Strings"

JayEnder
October 21st 2021


11852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, now that Meridiu SOILED the thall streak... very nice review Con. Thall I have to say.

LunaticSoul
October 21st 2021


1993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am feeling this sometimes



I wish I could thall with y´all

osmark86
October 21st 2021


10985 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this is goooooooooood

LunaticSoul
October 21st 2021


1993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"You can't keep poking Amia Venera Landscape's corpse for long before people move on"



shots fired

LunaticSoul
October 21st 2021


1993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I have to be honest. . . I don't really feel these guys type of ambienty stuff anymore. to me it feels like the disc has no direction/meaning, it is 80 minutes of the same same same samey odd songwriting, drops/beats.



I listened to this 3/4 times by now and there are just a few spots I can recall. The disc is dispersive to a fault, and sorry but 80 mins is fucking dilution. it is what it is. I guess I can't thall much. maybe will rise from the 3.0 I currently have in my mind with very harsh winters.



Also the mix is. . . ok? everything is very flat. . . just me?



https://www.reddit.com/r/Djent/comments/q8xnwn/m%C3%A5sstaden_under_vatten_translated/



here anyway there are lyrics translations.

Get Low
October 21st 2021


11435 Comments


Album's too long. This could have been so good had they exercised some quantity/quality control.

LunaticSoul
October 21st 2021


1993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah hard agree. I feel like after the first wave of thall sput will complain about this one



The stretch from den anlige handen to the masstaden theme song (which is pretty much nostalgia riffs from Masstaden, hence why the coolest track on disc) is very nice



someone has the booklet etc.? One thing also they did not do at all this time is actually expanding on the very cool artwork. like the videos for Masstaden were the tits. I still rewatch them from time to time lol





LunaticSoul
October 21st 2021


1993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

holy shit this album has so many ratings. lol. I guess the vildhjarta hype train is still very real.

Sniff
October 21st 2021


7241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has no business going as hard as it does

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2021


15782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Glad this got a review.

Digging: Obscura - A Valediction



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy