Ice Nine Kills
The Silver Scream 2: Welcome to Horrorwood


4.5
superb

Review

by readyformoore USER (1 Reviews)
October 15th, 2021 | 87 replies


Release Date: 10/15/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A cut above the rest.

The first time I heard Ice Nine Kills was in 2014 when “The Greatest Story Ever Told” came up on my Spotify shuffle. I was hooked to say the least. Shortly after, the group released “Me, Myself, and Hyde” through Outerloop Records. This is the single that INK fans have to thank for The Silver Scream, as it is the first time the band created a track based on a pre-existing work. Diehard INK fans predicted the well-deserved success that would shortly follow with "Every Trick In The Book," "The Silver Scream," and "The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood."

Unlike The Silver Scream, Horrorwood has an opening track, “Opening Night.” The opener references the story of Spencer as a serial killer which is based off the narrative in the album’s music videos. Next up we have title track “Welcome to Horrorwood,” the only song on the album not based off a horror movie. The track starts off slow and then explodes with one of the best hooks on the album. “A Rash Decision” is based off "Cabin Fever" and is the track that most closely resembles early-2010s INK. “Assault & Batteries” was the second single and takes its inspiration from "Child’s Play." I for one love the song (the “Hey Andy” intro caught me off guard) but some fans might find the cheekiness in the song to be overwhelming. I need not mention which film “The Shower Scene” is based off. Spencer shows off his vocal range on the chorus of this track. “Funeral Derangements” was the final pre-released track and is my personal favorite from the album. It is the second-heaviest song from Horrorwood. “Rainy Day” was the third single, taking its inspiration from the "Resident Evil" series. This track was probably my least favorite out of the singles, as it presents a more basic metalcore sound.

The second half of the album starts off with the first glimpse of the album fans received back in July, “Hip To Be Scared.” The track features Jacoby Shaddix from Papa Roach. This track is much more enjoyable if you have seen the source material, "American Psycho." "Hip" is one of the top tracks on the record. The next track, “Take Your Pick” featuring Corpsegrinder takes its inspiration from "My Bloody Valentine." I will give you one hint: it is the heaviest track INK have ever put to tape. “The Box” follows and it features Brandon Saller of Atreyu and Ryan Kirby of Fit For A King. This is probably the least memorable song for me personally, but it is still a solid track. The features both sound good. “F.L.Y.” with Buddy Nielsen based on "The Fly" has some good production value with the symphonic singing in the background of the track. “Wurst Vacation” sounds like it could have a home on Every Trick In The Book. “Ex-Mørtis” is grandiose in its delivery but not one of the most memorable on the album. “Farewell II Flesh” is the closer based off Candyman. It is not as bonkers as "IT Is The End" was at the end of TSS, so some fans may be a bit let down. Nevertheless, I think it is a great closer.

When it comes to flaws, there are not many. I will admit, I do miss some of what Justin DeBlieck brought to the table on INK’s past records. Ricky Armellino does a good job of filling in his shoes, though. Dan Sugarman deserves a shoutout as well for the killer guitar work on every track. Another thing I would have liked to hear is a ballad. You either love 'em or you hate 'em, but I thoroughly enjoyed "Love Bites" and "Tess-Timony" off INK’s last two records. I would probably say the original Silver Scream tops this one, however it has had over three years to sit with me at this point.

This is sure to go down as one of the best albums of the year for me personally. Unleash the evidence, or Spencer will kill you too!

Favorite Tracks:
“Funeral Derangements”
“Hip To Be Scared”
“Welcome To Horrorwood”
“Assault & Batteries”
“Take Your Pick”
“Farewell II Flesh”

Least Favorites:
“The Box”
“Ex-Mørtis”

Rating: 9.2/10

--

Edit: Clarity


user ratings (160)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
DreamAgain
October 15th 2021


1966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is badass, goes hard as hell. An improvement on the previous in every way.

Tundra
October 15th 2021


6693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fun ol jolly time

TwoBoxesOfJoe
October 15th 2021


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't have my hopes up. But this was, for the most part, incredible. Great review - you nailed the fact that I wouldn't enjoy the cheekiness of "Assault & Batteries."

Durrzo
October 15th 2021


2518 Comments


Musically great, but they pushed the silliness so hard on this one that it actively hurts a lot of the tracks for me. There are several songs here that I should love but damn near hate because of their lack of restraint with the cheese.

BigP
October 15th 2021


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad that they released 2 of the worst songs on here as singles. This album slaps SO hard! Top 2 are easily Farewell II Flesh and Take Your Pick. That breakdown in Take Your Pick is fucking brutal. And they captured the essence of Candyman in Farewell II Flesh perfectly. Whole album blew me away though lol

SteakByrnes
October 15th 2021


25552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Funeral Derangements is rad

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

Tundra
October 15th 2021


6693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

there are a couple of movies the songs are based on that I haven't seen, might have to check them out. That's a cool bonus to a band like this.

JayEnder
October 15th 2021


11852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Take Your Pick is the one. Who would have expected these guys and Corpsegrinder to cross paths?



Crazy how a band so cheesy on paper is actually really good and true to their passion for horror movies.

Digging: Static Dress - Prologue...

Toondude10
October 15th 2021


14727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not sure if this is as good as the first album, right now it's not but it might grow on me



the t/t and A Rash Decision are great openers

Digging: Silent Planet - Iridescent

DreamAgain
October 15th 2021


1966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ya Pet Sematary song the best. Final track is fantastic too



I'm such a sucker for when they incorporate the movies theme song in the tracks. Tickles my fanboy in all the right ways

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2021


2758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can see this growing on me, but I’m not really feeling it right now

Digging: Silent Planet - Iridescent

Secant
October 15th 2021


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I went in blind, when the second song exploded from a ballad into metalcore I had the dumbest grin on my face.



Three years wait was well worth it.

xlev
October 15th 2021


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think overall this album is stronger, but the best songs off the last one pop more than these ones

Digging: Cynic - Ascension Codes

Toondude10
October 15th 2021


14727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sadly this album doesn't have any songs like "Thank God It's Friday" or "Stabbing in the Dark"



still some great hooks on here

ExhaleTheLight
October 16th 2021


1186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not sure how I feel about this one just yet. Band are taking themselves a little too seriously ( just listen to Opening night), first album had way better hooks. Also Rainy Day sucks ass

SteakByrnes
October 16th 2021


25552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea Rainy Day is horrible

JayEnder
October 16th 2021


11852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rainy Day and Assault & Batteries are the stinkers here for sure

MoshGod
October 16th 2021


5 Comments


Well I've tried and I've tried, but it's safe to say I FINALLY get INK this shit fucks, I'll have to go back and check the last TSS album

peartnoy
October 16th 2021


1667 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How the hell is Assault and Batteries a stinker?? It's insane in all the right ways and super well written. Personally it's one of my highlights. I do agree with Rainy Day like most people. Also The Shower Scene and Ex-Mortis I thought were unremarkable.



Personally my highlights are probably A Rash Decision, The Box, the closing track and Assault and Batteries. But most tracks hit really well. Might bump to a 4

Slex
October 16th 2021


12640 Comments


The first Silver Scream was ridiculously fun, looking forward to listening to this

Digging: The World Is a Beautiful Place... - Harmlessness



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy