Coldplay
Music of the Spheres


2.0
poor

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
October 15th, 2021 | 215 replies


Release Date: 10/15/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The most casual music for the most casual listeners...

What expectations do you have from Coldplay in 2021? Chris Martin & Co. have gradually shed all layers that made their music and lyrics interesting, thus becoming so generic and bland anyone could enjoy them. The quartet has done a great job turning themselves into the most harmless pop act. As a huge fan of their ‘00s output, I was really disappointed to witness this process. I want to believe they were trapped into the vicious circle where success fueled this sonic transition. Martin displayed signs from early on that he was destined to become Bono 2, however, they all dove head first into the whole mainstream game. It’s hard to resist creating anthems after you start selling out multiple nights on stadiums all over the globe. Such is the curse: you can’t go back once you reached that level and stagnation is accepted.

On a few occasions, Everyday Life showed us there are ways to infuse quality into MOR material. Unfortunately, Music of the Spheres fearlessly steps over what little foundation that album rebuilt. The tunes are once more as transparent as they can get, whereas the lyrical content ranges from nauseous hippie lectures to sigh-inducing cosmic traveling connections to love or overly optimistic ravings. Chris often seems so brainwashed into this joyous MDMA-ed universe that his message simply ends up superficial. Musically, the album relies on the band’s trademark breezy electronic pop with playful ‘80s synths on top. I find it as an even more accessible Mylo Xyloto with dumbed down lyrics and less overall meaning. First single ‘Higher Power’ is mostly ‘Hurts Like Heaven’ without the reverb drenched guitar washes. The pumping ‘Humankind’ follows with a slightly catchy melodic chorus, but everything else around it is painfully dull. Moreover, since Kpop superstars BTS have been slowly turning into Coldplay it was only natural to join forces on a cheesy soft pop tune, ‘My Universe’. It’s like they are challenging themselves who can be blander than the other with the delivery. Martin has repeatedly proven his knack for beautiful vocal leads, still not even these can salvage such tepid content.

Music of the Spheres’ middle part tries to reach out in different directions with unsuccessful results. ‘People of the Pride’ kicks in with glam rock ambitions, however, it doesn’t go anywhere. It sounds a bit out of place on the record too. Same goes with ‘Heart Sign’, an acapella gospel ditty featuring Jacob Collier and We Are King. It’s nice despite echoing ‘When I Need a Friend’ off of Everyday Life, still it feels thrown in there solely for diversity. Bouncing from one corner to another, the mostly instrumental ‘Infinity Sign’ starts as a pseudo techno track with a melodic synth gently fading in. Its presence doesn’t upset or enhance the listen though. Album closer, ‘Coloratura’ is the only song worth your time here. From the classical piano leads to the slide guitar solo and doubled vocals, this 10-minute epic channels Gilmour-led era Pink Floyd’s atmosphere. Again, it shows us that the group can add quality to their formula in unexpected ways. My only complaint about it is that Chris does a wonderful job here, while his band mates’ input is slightly disappointing. They stick to the main chords most of the time and the drumming is basic. Sadly, ‘Coloratura’ is not enough to save the LP from being a mess. In the end, you can’t even say you are disappointed anymore. This is who Coldplay are now, producing the most casual music for the most casual listeners possible. It’s sad especially when you revisit early works such as A Rush of Blood to the Head or even Viva La Vida.



Recent reviews by this author
Twice Formula of Love: O+T=<3The Dear Hunter The Indigo Child
Ministry Moral HygieneLLNN Unmaker
Carbon Based Lifeforms StochasticUlver Hexahedron
user ratings (149)
1.9
poor
other reviews of this album
ghostalgeist (2)
Coldplay is a band, and this is an album....



Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2021


5564 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The album sucks.



Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZYKKcof30Q&list=OLAK5uy_kPXSp9U1LO8uU9aFbxzIrSNYHded8K9gY

Digging: TWICE - Formula of Love: O T=<3

Storm In A Teacup
October 15th 2021


36602 Comments


I imagine those horrid people who don’t ever listen to music and then one day want to listen to music would try this.

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2021


12482 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Damn, so Coloratura was the only good one here? Nice way to sucker people in only to disappoint, lol



Really nice review though. The only thing I noticed: [redacted]

Purpl3Spartan
October 15th 2021


1976 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Review is probably right

Will check

Digging: Satyr - Locus

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2021


43008 Comments


lmao epic lmao there's a bts feature lmao coldplay

"I find it as an even more accessible Mylo Xyloto with dumbed down lyrics and less overall meaning"

sounds like its own circle of hell, good write

Digging: Lali Puna - Scary World Theory

Storm In A Teacup
October 15th 2021


36602 Comments


I actually watched that sunrise sunset concert they did somewhere in the Middle East on YouTube in the last year. It was okay. The songs themselves were mostly not good but the rest of the production seemed cool.

bigguytoo9
October 15th 2021


1172 Comments


I have seen these guys 5x since X&Y album and they always put on a great show. Cant say the new material is that great though.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2021


5564 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Brendan - Thanks for pointing it out, I edited the mistake.

I found nothing interesting here except for Coloratura. You can just go and listen to Mylo Xyloto if you want a better LP in the same vein IMO.



It's easy to hate them these days, but they are not helping the situation at all with these cheesy songs.

RadioNew03
October 15th 2021


89 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Coloratura is such an amazing song !! that ironically it makes the rest of the album feel fake and lifeless, the album as a whole is just underwhelming plastic garbage, I’ll admit Higher Power is definitely mainstream radio gold but Coldplay essentially lost there way..

Cimnele
October 15th 2021


1744 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ly4eX69nUWM

fave music of the spheres cut

Knott-
Emeritus
October 15th 2021


10254 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I am a big Coldplay fan in the general sense.



This record is really, really bad.

Habarug
October 15th 2021


30 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Wtf even is Biutyful

Sowing
Moderator
October 15th 2021


39749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The singles for this were huge red flags. Not very excited to hear this, but I will give it time anyway because I've always liked Coldplay.

Digging: Ethereal Shroud - Trisagion

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2021


12482 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"@Brendan - Thanks for pointing it out, I edited the mistake."



All good, I redacted the original comment :]



In any case, I'm so damn disappointed after having listened to it now. Coloratura was an incredibly promising song, especially after the more experimental nature of the previous album. But it seems like they've regressed into boring musical mush once again. What a fucking waste

SteakByrnes
October 15th 2021


25600 Comments


Emoji song titles

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

zakalwe
October 15th 2021


35059 Comments


It’s the future. Move with the times old man.

Pangea
October 15th 2021


7426 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

haven't heard any of the singles yet, but yeah this doesn't look good

Digging: Iosonouncane - IRA

anat
October 15th 2021


4441 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This album hasn’t got a fucking clue what it’s meant to be, one of the least cohesive things I’ve ever listened to, and I’ve been fairly lenient on them in the past

WatchItExplode
October 15th 2021


9406 Comments


I heard whatever that 10 minutes long is and thought it was pretty decent but I've never cared about this band anyway so...

ChivantriloInc
October 15th 2021


6 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

this album fuckin sucks it should be at 1.0



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy