Porches
All Day Gentle Hold


4.0
excellent

Review

by hobblepot USER (17 Reviews)
October 8th, 2021 | 25 replies


Release Date: 10/08/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All Day Great Album !

Porches albums tend to be scatterbrained messes of different ideas and aesthetics held together by Aaron Maines flamboyant lyrics and personality. The only LP to date that feels like a cohesive project from start to end is the 2016 effort Pool. From Underwater to Security, it feels like a journey. Each track uses the same synths and guitars, the same drum machines, some tracks even sound like alternate versions of the song preceding it. It remains to date the highest rated Porches LP, and appears to be their most popular release with fans. The House is less together but still stands up next to it’s predecessor and Ricky Music is so all over the place it may as well be a compilation of b-sides.

All Day Gentle Hold is somewhat a return to form for Aaron Maine. The albums themes and ideas meld together, the instrumentation and aesthetic carries through each track, and it feels like an album rather than some .mp3 files thrown into a tumble dryer. The music itself is “heavier” than anything Porches have previously done, it feels much more raw and aggressive than the warm summery synths of Pool and the indie pop sensibilities of The House. The production quality is harsher, it’s much less a polished pop record than it is a punk album. Aarons vocal inflections remain the same, which for many is the downside of Porches. His singing is at times so flat and half asleep, but this is a part of Porches appeal. His vocals and lyrics ooze personality, and his music truly feels like it was written and performed in his bedroom. Lines like “Tony / Tony Soprano / I’m making me heard / I eat my dinner / I eat my dessert” are so left field and bizarre and yet it fits so well with Aarons writing style.

Much of this album was written through the global pandemic, and the album reflects this. Many tracks contain references to isolation, and the loss of connection with family and friends, particularly the lead single I Miss That. This all adds to the homemade aesthetic of Porches music, which is the one single trait that has carried through their entire discography.

The standout track on All Day Gentle Hold is its closing song “Comedown Song (Gunk)”. It’s such a catchy track, and it’s a sound more reminiscent of Slowdance in the Cosmos, a sound Porches haven’t revisited since the albums release. The lyrics reference the character Julie, a name referenced many times in Aarons lyrics along with Ricky, which helps this album fit in with the rest of their work despite it’s sound being almost the polar opposite of everything that came before it.

All Day Gentle Hold is a truly wonderful effort from Aaron Maine (and co). It is a testament to his ability to write soft warm music that feels comfortable, despite how harsh and rough this LP is around the edges. People yearning for a return to the sound of Pool or The House will be disappointed, and likely will continue to be, but Aaron is forging his own musical path and it will be interesting to see where he takes it next.



Recent reviews by this author
Crim3s CRIM3SCrown the Empire Sudden Sky
Twenty One Pilots TrenchFalling in Reverse Coming Home
Death Spells Nothing Above, Nothing BelowDefeat The Low A Nervous Smile
user ratings (17)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
hobblepot
October 8th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven’t written a review in a while, thought I’d whip one up in 20 minutes

Digging: Porches - All Day Gentle Hold

Bedex
October 8th 2021


2770 Comments


urgh they have two new ones i have to check? i dont know that i'm excited


Good to see a rev for it though m/

hobblepot
October 8th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah he seems to be pumping these out more frequently than before. I give it a couple months before we get another single. Ricky Music is kind of a mess, but this one’s really good

Bedex
October 9th 2021


2770 Comments


i'll check it at some point when i'm a little less backlogged!

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2021


3780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really nice review! Loving this a lot. Jammed the singles quite a bit so was worried the album wouldn't live up to them, but the thing is pretty damn consistent. Will try to pay attention to the lyrics more (and his other albums) since you point out the Julie thing -- nice detail.

Anthracks
October 9th 2021


6995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

super underrated artist

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Existence Is Futile

hobblepot
October 9th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thankyou Blush! Yeah this is definitely one of Porches most consistent efforts, I know Aaron tends to throw ideas at a wall and sometimes that doesn’t work but this time it feels like he really tried to keep things together. The characters of Julie and Ricky are referenced on every album from Pool onwards, some people think this makes them concept albums but if they are I have no idea what the story is

hobblepot
October 9th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“super underrated artist”



100%. Aaron has been crapped on a lot by music publications, at one point he was accused of appropriating queer culture. Porches deserve better

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2021


21843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked Ricky music a lot but I had a sentimental relationship to the songs. This will prob b real good too

Digging: Moon Kissed - I?d Like to Tell You Something Important

hobblepot
October 9th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ricky Music is so far my least favourite album, it’s still great but it’s one I never find myself going back to. For me The House and Pool are his best, and I have a strong sentiment for those albums. I discovered Pool at an important time in my life, and The House came out shortly after I moved into my own flat. This album is really great though, I think it beats Ricky Music

Anthracks
October 9th 2021


6995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The house and pool are both very close to 5/5 albums tbh

hobblepot
October 9th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For me they’re both hard 5/5’s. Pool was an instant 5, The House took a couple spins for me to really love it but now I hold it ever so slightly above Pool

WatchItExplode
October 11th 2021


9346 Comments


On the list it goes

Digging: Floating Cloud Music - Love is a Burning Building That Will Suffocate Us

gryndstone
October 11th 2021


2146 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Kinda boring

gryndstone
October 11th 2021


2146 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

He sounds like a sloth but in a bad way

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2021


21843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can see why people don't like this guy but I don't quite see how so MANY people don't like him. The House has a fucking 2.77 on RYM!



Anyways, candy.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2021


21843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

man whos that "swimming big" vocalist

ConcubinaryCode
October 12th 2021


5919 Comments


The album art is fucking with my eyes

hobblepot
October 12th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“He sounds like a sloth but in a bad way”



Yeah Aarons vocals are one of those you either love it or hate it things



hobblepot
October 12th 2021


2537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“ man whos that "swimming big" vocalist”



I really wish I knew but there’s nothing online about her. I think she’s their new bass player but Porches has always been Aarons project



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy