Joana Serrat
Hardcore from the Heart


3.5
great

Review

by Trifolium USER (24 Reviews)
October 4th, 2021 | 81 replies


Release Date: 06/11/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hardcore? No. From the Heart? Yes.

Joana Serrat has made a wonderful album full of soaring melodies, incidental wall-of-sound guitar washes and warm vocals. While very radio-friendly, this record can be surprisingly deep and there is enough room for sections to evolve and grow without being cut off by the next block of commercials. This time round, Serrat is supported instrumentally by American indie folk band Midlake, which is clearly audible in this record’s americana influences. They are everywhere: from the mournfully stately slide guitar during the opening notes of album highlight How To Make You Love Me to the ending of Summer Never Ends.

Every so often the guitar arrangements recall Souvlaki-era Slowdive, for instance on Easy and You’re With Me Everywhere I Go, whereas Take Me Back Where I Belong features a nice long War On Drugs-segment. Just like the Loveless inspired album art suggests, this record is very dreamy in its approach. But these certainly are fuzzy, warm dreams, not even the slightest hint of a nightmare is to be found here. Let’s put it this way: Serrat might very well be the happy, optimistic Spanish twin of Emma Ruth Rundle.

While Hardcore from the Heart is more poppy than the previous comparisons might make you expect, this focus on accessibility hardly ever takes away from the record’s quality. Serrat’s vocals are a main reason for how accessible this record can be. Her melodies are familiar sounding ear-worm material, and they will make you hum along in no time. Her voice is warm, pleasantly husky, calm, and without pretence or misplaced acrobatics. Her vocals almost make this record feel like she’s singing by the campfire, guitar in hand, a beer next to her, the warm, Catalan summer night air blanketing you.

Hardcore from the Heart is nothing ground breaking, yet it is a comforting helping of americana-flavoured poppy folk that could be enjoyed by a very broad audience.



Recent reviews by this author
Nneka Love SupremeGoncalo Almeida and Dirk Serries Live at OZO LAND
Clara Malaterre Points CardinauxMeat Beat Manifesto 99%
Monolake Hong KongMaria BC Devil's Rain
user ratings (11)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
October 4th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Liked this, so decided to review. Don't miss out if you're looking for 45 mins of nicely accessible, dreamy americana stuff!

pollastrerostit
October 4th 2021


434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kinda liked her previous album, will check the new one out after this review, thanks!

parksungjoon
October 4th 2021


43169 Comments


woah

parksungjoon
October 4th 2021


43169 Comments


tfw its not this

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2021


11432 Comments


nice lil comfy rev Triffy!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2021


28015 Comments


Hell yes Trifo, nicely done.

"This time round, Serrat is supported instrumentally by American indie folk band Midlake,"

Ok this went from soonish to asap right there.

Digging: Besvarjelsen - Atlas

Trifolium
October 4th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yippeee happiness! Really enjoying this one!



"nice lil comfy rev Triffy!"

Was exactly what I was going for 💖

NorthernSkylark
October 4th 2021


12112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Softcore from the gut? Will check too!

Digging: Hinako Omori - a journey...

Aberf
October 4th 2021


3969 Comments


nice and short review. I may check this in the future.

Trifolium
October 4th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice nice! Thanks yous!



Nothing wrong with a nice 3.5, it's a lovely rating. Undervalued!

pollastrerostit
October 4th 2021


434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Certainly some slowdive vibes on the first song, it was a pleasant listen at work

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2021


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

This sounds really nice, great review Trif!

Trifolium
October 4th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hihihi thank you lovelies! Just wanted this to have some attention because it's a cute little record with wide appeal. Hope you like it!



And good to hear that you hear Slowdive as well poll! It's both quite obvious and not obvious at all if you understand what I mean.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2021


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

On my second listen to this now, absolutely lovely stuff! Thanks for the heads up on this one, Trif. My only regret is that I didn't know about this all summer.

Trifolium
October 5th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice! And agreed, didn't know it during summer either, would have been a perfect match. Oh well, it can bring us some warmth now that the days get shorter.

Trifolium
October 5th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spin number 6 in two days! This clicked big time.

pollastrerostit
October 5th 2021


434 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's that ethereal droning stuff in the back. Bit like loveless MBV too



Easy is easily the best song too



Trifolium
October 5th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Easy is super nice. Some great tracks on this one. Agreed about the ethereal drone as well.

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2021


5611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

OMG it's a trifolium drum solo I mean review!!!!!!

Digging: The Ninth Wave - Heavy Like a Headache

Trifolium
October 5th 2021


31999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes it is!!!



Padum tsssssshhh tack tack tack!!!!!!!



(That is what a drum solo sounds like right?)



On How To Make You Love Me again. Again!!! That track is all I need now. So dreamy and cosy and nice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy