Employed To Serve
Conquering


3.5
great

Review

by While She Sleeps: [in the back] STAFF
September 26th, 2021 | 22 replies


Release Date: 09/17/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An ill-conceived defence of the moderately mundane (or: why riffs are fun)

When the musical flavour of the week can often feel like an iteration upon an iteration of a style/genre/trend that used to be in but is now unequivocally out - hurriedly strapped together in pursuit of something genuinely new, but invariably genuinely not - it's satisfying to stumble upon those releases that refuse to innovate solely for the sake of innovation, but instead nail the basics of the original impetus of their sound. Conquering does just that, and it’s pretty awesome.

Big fuck-off chunky-boi riffs cascade into one another with a pleasing degree of intent, as the UK quintet pull off yet another exercise in controlled demolition on their 4th LP. The thrashy-metalcore gooey centre of Employed to Serve's metal-as-fuck (yet distinctly -core) sound is solidified on Conquering with a newfound attention to rhythm and momentum, lending their latest outing a playful air of accessibility. Songs snap sharply between downtuned hardcore chugging (“We Don’t Need You”), heavy metal theatrics (“Stand Alone”) and good old metalcore malarkey (“Twist the Blade”) with an admirable toetapping thread running through each meticulously-constructed track. No longer is the earworm the missing arrow from Employed to Serve’s quiver, songs carving themselves into one’s noggin from the first listen, notwithstanding the multifaceted songwriting and riff-smithing on display.

Pepperings of industrial and nu-metal-revivalism join the pit on “World Ender” and “Sun Up To Sun Down”, Justine screaming as if in a shouting match with God as Sammy mashes out one clanging, kinetic riff after another. Other cuts look backwards, paying homage to metal’s more classic incarnations by embracing rather than eschewing the flamboyant technicality and relative rigidity of their roots: see the cheeky blast beats smattering “The Mistake” or the casual whammy bar solo on “Universal Chokehold”, executed with just a touch of hXc aggression and guided by modern metalcore's perchant for brevity. It all culminates in a blistering tour de force of everything that makes metal metal, which - whilst entirely un-innovative and, to an extent, uninteresting - is the most honest-to-God fun I’ve had with metalcore so far this year.

Because being boring is underrated. Conquering does nothing genuinely new, and that’s genuinely okay. The basics are the basics for a reason and, as Employed to Serve demonstrate, executing them with passion and precision is sometimes all that you need.



Recent reviews by this author
Every Time I Die RadicalFrontierer Oxidized
Royal Blood TyphoonsWhile She Sleeps Sleeps Society
Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO PromisesWorld Peace Come And See
user ratings (58)
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Employed To Serve go m(/)e(n)tal...



Comments:Add a Comment 
parksungjoon
September 26th 2021


38027 Comments


it is fun to have fun

Digging: Slint - Tweez

DDDeftoneDDD
September 26th 2021


18898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They lost me with their last one. Should I bother?

Digging: The World Is a Beautiful Place... - Illusory Walls

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2021


7170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's got nothing on The Warmth of the Dying Sun, but it's harmless fun. I enjoyed their last outing, so perhaps take my opinion with a pinch of salt.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2021


7170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also yes thanks parks. ive not done this in a while and proof reading has been exported from my brain as redundant (evidently)

DDDeftoneDDD
September 26th 2021


18898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I m a big fan of greyer's etid worship and warmth was pretty good also.

parksungjoon
September 26th 2021


38027 Comments


this sounds like not my thing tbh

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2021


7170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

universal cockhold



heh

parksungjoon
September 26th 2021


38027 Comments


i am the universal cuckold

DDDeftoneDDD
September 26th 2021


18898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"this sounds like not my thing tbh" does that mean you are listening to it?





And asleep if its fun its prob cooler than previous (I don t remember it being fun, comparing with the forementioned)



parksungjoon
September 26th 2021


38027 Comments


>does that mean you are listening to it?

nah, just based on descriptions, genre etc

DDDeftoneDDD
September 26th 2021


18898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Eheh figured, starting to get you beast

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2021


3457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

aslep! great read, i've missed your revs

and mostly agreed but goddamn album bangs band bangs

Digging: Slow Crush - Hush

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2021


7170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pleasure to share the stage with you on this one mate, apologies for the tardiness of the write up



Tis indeed a banger

quetzal
September 28th 2021


815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty decent stuff

Slex
September 28th 2021


12295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think we completely agree here

Digging: Circa Survive - A Dream About Love

ghostxmosh
September 28th 2021


30 Comments


This would be a great album if it was way shorter

Kinetic22
September 29th 2021


20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review definitely nails how I feel about this album. Congrats on the review!



Nothing mind-blowing going on here, but itś full of fun, well-executed bangers, and sometimes that's all I need.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2021


7170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers buckos hope you're all doing swell x

g40st
October 3rd 2021


556 Comments


Wish there was a way to mark albums on this site for "need to listen to" rather than just public lists that junk of the list feed when it's just for personal use

kevbogz
October 4th 2021


3527 Comments


? just bookmark albums if it's that much of a problem, or, do what i do and save it on spotify to come back to

Digging: Glean - Demo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy