Nightcrush
You Mark Me the Deepest


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jesper L. CONTRIBUTOR (88 Reviews)
September 14th, 2021 | 17 replies


Release Date: 09/03/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: elegant dehumanisation

You Mark Me The Deepest has a pulse unlike many records. It's as steady as it is unpredictable; it uninterruptedly marries light and dark through its willingness to guide Nightcrush’s music where it needs to go. The Italian duo focuses on deep, nigh-glacial rhythms cultivated by pounding drums, ominous synths and an unconditional appreciation for tasteful vocal alterations. Each song manages to craft a unique character for itself and escape monotony by implementing heavily distorted flourishes whenever the atmosphere requires further enhancing. ‘I Call You’ merges drowsy shoegaze with post-metal infused guitars on a luminous bed of post-punk; ‘Dirge’ transforms its sludgy nature into a dynamic display of tranquil confusion by means of Rafaelle Galasso’s elegantly dehumanised vocalisations.

Every such moment is dedicated to augmenting You Mark Mark Me The Deepest’s intriguing aesthetic framework. It’s an album that lives and dies by its stylistic choices, and thankfully so. While Nightcrush may not be phenomenal songwriters (yet), the band appear fully aware of this and incorporate an abundance of immersive moments to get lost in. Whether it's ‘Black Wings Hunt’s eerie melodies or ‘Nocturnal Violet’s gorgeous sonic tidal waves, You Mark Me The Deepest has a unique pulse propelled by enough heart to lift the record to remarkable heights.



Recent reviews by this author
Knocked Loose A Tear in the Fabric of LifeThe Body and Big|Brave Leaving None But Small Birds
A Ritual Sea A Ritual SeaPoppy Flux
Employed To Serve ConqueringGrayscale Umbra
user ratings (8)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2021


3440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kinda struggled w this one so here's two paras enjoy

listen https://nightcrush.bandcamp.com/

Digging: A Ritual Sea - A Ritual Sea

normaloctagon
September 14th 2021


6513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds cool jesp, will jam real soonlike

Digging: MF DOOM - Special Herbs 7,8

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2021


2904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gave this a first spin a few days ago and was kinda non-plussed, will give it another chance sometime soon. Solid little writeup, Jesper.

Scoot
September 15th 2021


20775 Comments


nightsomething

goblinilbog
September 15th 2021


838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty cool album and your review is spot on. Good balance and juggling of light/dark, comforting/chilling. Will definitely keep this in my rotation.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2021


25966 Comments


Hey this is no Nightwish.

"Iress Flaw
Chelsea Wolfe Abyss"

Ok sold.

Digging: Kaelan Mikla - Undir Kldum Norurljsum

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2021


9113 Comments


nice soundoff lmao
jk, real good writing for such a lil piece

Digging: Lil Ugly Mane - VOLCANIC BIRD ENEMY AND THE VOICED CONCERN

Cygnatti
September 15th 2021


35362 Comments


burious

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2021


3440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol thx bois!

dewi, this is like ~vaguely~ similar vibe-wise to those albums, it's a fair bit more 80s etc

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2021


25966 Comments


Then it's even better! Will check it tomorrow.

AaroN911
September 15th 2021


3244 Comments


will check soon as well, nice review

Digging: Lil Ugly Mane - VOLCANIC BIRD ENEMY AND THE VOICED CONCERN

normaloctagon
September 15th 2021


6513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first impression this sounds like momentary lapse of reason era pink floyd

normaloctagon
September 15th 2021


6513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ok maybe not but one of the first couple tracks reminded me of it a lot



this is cool i wont be writing home about it though

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2021


2904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Liked this a lot more on my second listen, tasty stuff!

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2021


3440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers aaron!

and oc that's a comparison i wouldn't have thought of haha, probably bc i haven't thought of that album since the one time i heard it in like.. 2011..

glad you both (kinda) vibe!!

davesthesay
September 15th 2021


68 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hyperdrive cover is nice.

Gmork89
September 21st 2021


8228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is excellent.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy