Femme Generation
Brothers and Sisters, Alone We Explode


5.0
classic

Review

by SandwichBubble USER (64 Reviews)
September 11th, 2021 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hit that reset button.

I listen to a lot of bands that sound a hell of a lot like Femme Generation. I’m sure I’ve already put some recommendations on the right side there for you to peruse and not listen to. You’d think by this point, this brand of 2000s post-punk would start getting stale to my ears, but it hasn’t happened yet. If/when it does, I will be sure to keep you posted. A candlelight vigil will be held in the park; a strict dress code will be enforced.

Jokes aside, it would be a shame if I ever stopped liking Myspace indie punk bands. Especially ones as great as Femme Generation. I actually discovered this band relatively recently, during one of my great internet music excavations (aka e-crate digging). I’d hate to throw the whole “of its time” line around so early into a review, but Brothers and Sisters, Alone We Explode is a perfect time capsule of its era, preserved in flawless amber. Without even looking, you can tell this was released in the mid-2000s. It just has that feel, you know? Not exactly lo-fi, but not too polished. Amateur vocals that sound like someone you were close to was fronting the band. Sporting a genuine dance-punk attitude. Faint political rumblings mixed in properly with humor and drowned out by the wall of noise. The first half of the album being slightly better than the second (don’t tell anyone I said that in my glowing 5.0 review for this album). It’s all there.

So the question is, does an album like this still hold up for people nowadays? I mean, I know it does for me. I’m not the one that needs convincing here. It’s the people that haven’t heard the album yet. Or, even better, the people that have no goddamn idea what I’m even talking about. Well, worry not: this next part of the review is for you. Yes, it absolutely does hold up. This has the potential to be your new obsession. “The Nation’s Birthday” will feel all to familiar to the raised-online crowd with its snappy, charged lyrics, while the mellower among us I could see awkwardly bobbing their heads to tunes like “Automaton Love Song” and “Hearts in Stitches.”

Like I said earlier, I’ve heard a lot of bands that sound like this one. But none that do it so convincingly. If you’re in the market for a trip back to the days when “post-punk revival” was actually a viable and trendy thing that was being made/marketed, then I cannot think of a better candidate than this. And you know what? I’m in such a good mood after listening to this album, forget about the dress code for my candlelight vigil. Come dressed in your best pair of roughed-up jeans and a beanie.



Recent reviews by this author
FACS Present TenseFlower Travellin Band Satori
Iceage Seek ShelterMy Dad Is Dead The Taller You Are, the Shorter You Get
The Ronettes ...Presenting the Fabulous Ronettes Featuring VeronicaBeat Happening Black Candy
user ratings (3)
4.8
classic

Comments:Add a Comment 
SandwichBubble
September 11th 2021


13102 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

bgillesp said I should write one for this, so I did.

Subscribe for more blog posts.

SlothcoreSam
September 11th 2021


3374 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I still listen to this on the regular since you rec'd it, and won, my punk comp!

Digging: Shitty Neighbors - People I Know

GhandhiLion
September 11th 2021


13319 Comments


nice pos.

Digging: Leila Adu - Dig a Hole

SandwichBubble
September 11th 2021


13102 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@SlothcoreSam I was shocked I won with this, honestly. Glad it's still getting plays from you

@GhandhiLion thanks



On second thought, nobody else should listen to this to maintain the insane, but cool 4.8 average.

GhandhiLion
September 11th 2021


13319 Comments


I like the zany rym 4.42

GhandhiLion
September 11th 2021


13319 Comments


ooh some of this sounds like crazy rhythms. Good find.

SandwichBubble
September 11th 2021


13102 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's zany, cause 2/3 of those ratings on rym are me.

And yeah, it's a gud une. Please remember to respect the sanctity of the 4.8 before rating, if you do.

WeepingBanana
September 11th 2021


11000 Comments


I’m always wary of this sort of music but also so much of it is great. Sometimes shit like this hits me like “listens to pink flag once” and sometimes it’s a total revelation. Anyways good reviews, will check it out soon

bgillesp
September 12th 2021


7860 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes yes yes yes yes!!!!!

Digging: Spectral Wound - A Diabolic Thirst

parksungjoon
September 12th 2021


35441 Comments


>It's zany, cause 2/3 of those ratings on rym are me.

reported

why the fuck are both of them weighed

Digging: Controlled Bleeding - Distress Signals

parksungjoon
September 12th 2021


35441 Comments


>I’m sure I’ve already put some recommendations on the right side there for you to peruse and not listen to.

one of the most insta-pos lines in any review on this website

bgillesp
September 12th 2021


7860 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very fun review for a very fun album

parksungjoon
September 12th 2021


35441 Comments


you're very fun

GhandhiLion
September 12th 2021


13319 Comments


"reported

why the fuck are both of them weighed"

They aren't

bgillesp
September 12th 2021


7860 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Now I want to go check Park Attack but I’m afraid of disrespecting its 4.8 rating.

parksungjoon
September 12th 2021


35441 Comments


did u check hexenhaus yet

SandwichBubble
September 12th 2021


13102 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks all.



@bgillesp Heads up, the vocalist from Park Attack might make you hate them. I love em though.



"They aren't [weighted]"

They ARE. I'll delete one of them when they approve my tracklist edit 3 years from now. But as proof, if I lower one of them to a 1.0, the average tanks.

parksungjoon
September 12th 2021


35441 Comments


so the other rater is deweighed because 10 years inactive

somehow with two 5s it gave a 4.4something avg

with 1 + 5 it gives 2.88

Havey
September 12th 2021


10770 Comments


they are weighted but also not. rating different issues doesn't affect the charts, only the number displayed on the album/artist page

nice cosmetic 4.42 tho

SandwichBubble
September 12th 2021


13102 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why even bother having it be weighted on the album page then?

Everything's gotta be difficult with that site.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy