Meet Me @ The Altar
Model Citizen


3.6
great

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
August 16th, 2021 | 43 replies


Release Date: 08/13/2021 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'M NOT SAD ANYMORE I'M JUST TIRED OF THIS PLACE

Maybe you noticed, but pop-punk is having a moment right now. Is it back in something like the mainstream due to big artists like Olivia Rodrigo nodding towards it on Paramore-influenced pop songs like "good 4 u"? A wave of new rappers grabbing onto its tropes and signifiers thanks to the tireless efforts of one Travis Barker? Or y'know, just the general cycle of generational nostalgia amplified by all of the above and way too much time in lockdown? Whatever the reason, there's a new wave of the genre coming whether stuffy music critics are ready with their disapproving glares or not, and Meet Me @ The Altar are right at the crest of it.

This is not by any means a challenging or boundary-breaking release: from this new revival, KennyHoopla's Survivors Guilt is slightly bolder in terms of mixing different flavours of pop-punk into the recipe. The good news is that Meet Me @ The Altar have no use for big swings or justifications. I'm sure it's obvious why three women of colour with phenomenal chemistry jamming out truly infectious bangers is more than revolutionary enough for this long-stagnating genre, especially with instrumental and vocal chops that stand out like these. Guitarist and bassist Téa Campbell isn't afraid to truly riff, and even drop into an easycore breakdown here and there, with drummer Ada Juarez capably keeping pace with the twists and turns of the deceptively simple songs. But frontwoman Edith Johnson is the not-so-secret weapon here, between her incredible voice and enthusiastic (if simplistic) songwriting, which flirts with dark notes about mental health and societal malaise but always finds a way to come around to a well-earned sense of optimism.

Model Citizen is absolutely straightforward and all the better for it, even if its second half can't quite live up to the relentless good vibes of "Brighter Days (Are Before Us)" or heavier banger "Mapped Out". The band play their best card first with "Feel a Thing"; riding a deceptively dark lyrical conceit straight into the catchiest chorus this year, the song wraps up everything Meet Me @ The Altar do best in three minutes. There's no overwhelming darkness or intense emotional moments here: it's as likely to remind listeners of the simpler early days of Paramore or goofball enthusiasm of The Upsides than either band's later work. Don't get stuck on the surface level, though - jump on in with your best Wonder Years hoodie and moshing shoes, and you might just have some goddamn fun. Who's gonna argue with that?



Recent reviews by this author
Lil Ugly Mane Volcanic Bird Enemy...Little Simz Sometimes I Might Be Introvert
Indigo De Souza Any Shape You TakeBig Red Machine How Long Do You Think It's Gonna Last?
Isaiah Rashad The House Is BurningAdjy The Idyll Opus (I-VI)
user ratings (20)
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2021


45800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

this shit owns is basically the thesis folks



Feel a Thing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mZk2ythbWk



Brighter Days: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LShfYZWyOo0



bonus acoustic Feel a Thing with Soupy, this really fucking rules https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RjKBOnWknE8

Digging: Lil Ugly Mane - VOLCANIC BIRD ENEMY AND THE VOICED CONCERN

SteakByrnes
August 16th 2021


25092 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh hey it's that album you said was good, I gotta check it out but good review row :]

Digging: Bilmuri - 400LB BACK SQUAT

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2021


45800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

hell yeah brother I bet you'd dig this. riffs hard

cvlts
August 16th 2021


9737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TWY reference convinced me to give this a listen and ya this rules. Reminds me of that 09-10 poppunk resurgence wave. Awesome that this kinda stuff is still being made.

Digging: Little Simz - Sometimes I Might Be Introvert

Feather
August 16th 2021


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Woah ... so I listened to the soupy track a couple weeks back because it showed up on my release radar and just assumed the other vocalist was a dude (ala Kellin Quinn). Blown away that I couldn't tell it was actually a girl. The song owned and I added it to some playlists (although I did think Soupy's part sounded a bit out of place and over-the-top).



Excited to check this out. Thanks for reviewing and tricking me into reading the review with TWY reference being the summary!

henryChinaski
August 16th 2021


4463 Comments


Band name of the year

Digging: sam fender - Seventeen Going Under

Sowing
Moderator
August 16th 2021


39324 Comments


pop-punk, you say? *adjusts glasses* now that's a name I haven't heard in years

I gave up on the genre after YC bowed out but The Wonder Years and Spanish Love Songs have done enough to slightly rekindle my interest

Digging: S. Raekwon - Where I'm at Now

Feather
August 16th 2021


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Gave this a listen through and it is like the debut album from TWY mixed with a bit of ADTR easy-core with the high vocals of Kellin Quinn. It was fine for what it was, but nothing special. Regardless, nice review!



@Sowing despite you enjoying TWY newer releases, this is really just akin to their really old stuff and I would be surprised if you found this worth your time.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2021


26864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

checking this out just based on that summary and The Upsides comparison alone, haha ;)

Digging: Patterson Hood - Heat Lightning Rumbles in the Distance

nash1311
August 17th 2021


3141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This is good fun. I probably won’t revisit but it is great nonetheless

Digging: Frontierer - Oxidized

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2021


45800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

I'm glad this summary did something considering I added it literally last second cos I couldn't think of anything else lol



Sowing, this and KennyHoopla are both super solid, they might just draw you back in

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2021


3775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What I'm hearing is that I should finally listen to The Upsides. Fantastic review.

SymbolicInTime
August 17th 2021


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is fun as hell. Perfect length. Putting this on repeat at work today

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2021


45800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

I listen to this three times in a row every time I put it on lol. it's so easy to just loop



also: goddamn blush yes check The Upsides

SteakByrnes
August 17th 2021


25092 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea this is rad and fun as hell

BigTuna
August 17th 2021


5604 Comments


Just heard of this band because they're opening for Coheed on their next tour. Will definitely check this out before summer's over!

Digging: The World Is a Beautiful Place... - Illusory Walls

SymbolicInTime
August 17th 2021


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Opening for Coheed? That's interesting

Feather
August 17th 2021


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Very strange coheed opener…

jouroboros
August 17th 2021


156 Comments


This band is great. Hell yeah

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2021


26864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

went in expecting TWY and got an easycore EP, haha





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy